We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed for dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amici Miei - CLOSED

Amici Miei
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Niagara on the Lake
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stayed for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having just completed a walking tour of the city, our group of six stopped in for a pre dinner glass of wine, having decided to eat elsewhere. However, we ended up staying for dinner and moving from inside the restaurant to the outdoor patio. We were not sorry that we did. We found the food to be very good. One of our party is a native Italian and knew the best items to order. We started by having aum aum. This dish is a medley of deep fried cheese, vegetables and meat. It was so good that we ended up ordering a second platter. For the main course, I ordered gnocchi with tuna which was fantastic. Our waiter was polite, friendly and patient, since one of our party was undecided as to what to order and asked for recommendations.

We would not hesitate to eat there again if we had more time in Lecce.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grahamandaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    21
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston. MA
Level Contributor
288 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice resturnat for a soccer night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We dropped by for a late dinner, once over the European cup and this time over World Cup qualifiers. The restaurant has ample seating but to watch TV one needs to reserve a table (limited viewing angle). Service was cordial and a few of the waiters spoke English. The food was good, but not amazing - it was simple and had a basic cooking and presentation. More like home style than a restaurant style. The wine (Salice Salentino) was very good.

The TV was on but on mute which was nice. We could talk or watch soccer (Italy won 3:1 over Denmark).

We paid around 60 Euro for 3 (with the wine)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EarlDGrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I only say it is a good place for lunch as we didn't try it for supper. Lunch was lovely and simple and the food very good, service fine too and although a rather strange decor - 1960s bad art and button-backed velour benches, I would well recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucyaspinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Worth Seeking Out - not too difficult to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We ate here twice on our short stay in Lecce even though we had other options. The eating area in the courtyard at the rear of the restaurant is pleasant. Share their "Antipasto Amici" - it is sufficient for two. The wine "Capello D' Prete" was excellent. My wife and I had different ways of preparing Tuna (tonno) both of which were delicious. The service was attentive without being intrusive.
It was well patronised by Italians, which is always a good sign. Lots of Italians were indulging in Pizzas so I presume they are good too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cambridgeblue65to67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“terrible, avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had experienced worst meal in Italy! Food tasted so bad ,we left half of it on the plate. Only thing edible was kids pizza, but I guess its hard to spoil Margarita.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ISnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici Miei also viewed

Lecce, Province of Lecce
Lecce, Province of Lecce
 
Lecce, Province of Lecce
Lecce, Province of Lecce
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing