We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roof Barocco Suite B&B
Ranked #2 of 307 Lecce B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New Year stay”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a delightful place – for two principal reasons. First, the accommodation is spacious, imaginatively furnished and spotlessly clean. Everything guests could reasonably need is provided and it's within minutes of Lecce's centre, yet very quiet. Second, the owners are very welcoming and Elisabetta's breakfast basket is rightly celebrated. As if that wasn't enough, her husband willingly helped us sort out a puncture that our hire car suffered.
Their website describes this as: "A little slice of heaven"? Not having (yet) been to heaven, it's difficult to know. But the hyperbole is assuredly not misplaced…

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
220
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, Hampshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Wow, we stayed in the Loft Suite for a week and we didn't wish to leave when the week came to an end.

We were super keen to experience Lecce and our rooftop hideaway, because we had to cancel our plans a year ago. It was important for us to come in June, to experience the flowers, foliage, delightful, but not too intense temperatures and Elisabetta's recommendation was 'spot on'.

Our lovely picnic basket was delivered promptly each morning and we lingered over warm croissants, homemade jam, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee. Our suite had 3 decks; our main lounge/dining area, a sun terrace where we sunbathed early each morning before it was too hot and a rooftop terrace above the suite where we experienced the longest day of 2013 (21st June), sunsets and a full moon ~ fantastic!

We loved using our small, but beautifully appointed kitchen to prepare freshly made dishes with ingredients purchased from the small market outside the city walls. (If you visit in June, a vegetable similar to spinach is available and absolutely delish). We visited a local wine cellar/shop steps away from Barocco Suite and we were never disappointed with our local Salento wine choices, thanks to a knowledgeable and helpful lady.

We had the pleasure of meeting a delightful couple staying in the larger suite, sharing 2 evenings of great conversation, laughter and fabulous wine. They were slightly envious of our week long stay, they were only staying for 3 nights.

Lecce is a beautiful city to experience and so much can be seen from your suite which is mesmerizing at night or during the day. We also visited Santa Maria de Leuca and Castros enjoying amazing fresh seafood/fish lunches, swimming/snorkelling all day in the sea and driving a stunning coastline, not overtaken with tourists.

This is a gorgeous place we will return one day and much thanks goes to Elisabetta for creating such a stunning place for her guests to enjoy such a beautiful place in this world! Steph & Ian

Room Tip: Loft Suite is simply stunning, private and loads of outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceanangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Elisabetta does everything to make your stay a pleasure. Just the room with the roof and the view are worth the stay. Actually we would like to keep this placeas our secret but we share it already with many other guests. We will be back. Paolo and Sofia

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaoloT325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The best b and b we have ever stayed in in Italy! Great views over a Magical city, beautifully furnished, and The nicest hosts you can imagine. Highest recommendation for a great stay. Assolutamente il meglio!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed here last week for two nights and was thoroughly impressed. I must admit I had my doubts about staying in a B&B as I was more used to high end corporate hotels but my wife was enthusiastic after reviewing and planning the trip for our family. I am a complete convert! After navigating the skinny streets to the centre of town, which believe me in our car was a roller coaster in itself, we parked right downtown in the tiny piazza reserved for locals. In Italy don't panic, just keep driving confidently and with aggressive curtesy and it all appears to work.

I was especially delighted at the small touches of finesse in the apartment that you can not find in even the best hotels I have stayed in all over the world. Some of the things I enjoyed most were the warm heated floors, the beautiful finish and design of the apartment With its beautiful doors, gorgeous wardrobes, antiques, light fixtures, high end furniture.....which left you feeling more like you were in a luxury home than a hotel. The fast free wireless wax also great (this was important for me as I still needed to check into work from time to time) and some places we have been....even in the larger hotels in Florence have not been reliable. The location of the suite was amazing, a short walk to everywhere. The food prepared for us was first notch. The only problem I have now is that my wife wants to go back next year for much longer. Hehe. I thoroughly recommend this place to anyone who values high end luxury and unique experiences

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My family and I recently stayed 2 nights at this sensational boutique B and B in Lecce. We chose this place purely because of the outstanding reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. This place and its owner Elizabetta are both amazing! More like a 5 star boutique hotel then a traditional B&B, you want for nothing and you experience the pure joy of staying in a gorgeous home rather than a formal hotel.
This year we traveled just before Christmas and were lucky to secure the suite for the two nights. Everything about this place is crafted to perfection. Elizabetta greats you on arrival and can speak perfect English. She is warm and welcoming but also leaves you to your own privacy, which I appreciate also.
At times we felt like we had our own little castle top in the sky all to ourselves. Elizabetta's eye for detail is amazing. The wonderful home made basket of goodies such as cakes, cookies, fresh fruits, jams and juices was stocked in the fridge on our arrival and each morning Elizabetta would come to our suite quietly at the time we had prearranged and she would drop off at the door an amazing hamper of freshly baked goodies for us. The girls would love to run to the door each morning and would squeal with delight when they would open the hamper to see what heaven would await them.

It is very easy to see that this B& B is a passion for Elizabetta as she has put her love and attention into everything. The suite is furnished as if it was her own home although it is very private and set away from her home, with high quality antique furniture, a full functional kitchen and exquisite linens.

The balcony is fabulous and we would often enjoy sitting out in the warm sun and reading , surrounded by wonderful gardens and flowers. We loved this place so much we have booked for a whole week next year! I can thoroughly recommend this to anyone and I know you will not regret staying here.....it is easy to see why the Roof Barocco Suite B & B was rated #1 in Italy last year and in the top 24 in the world!!!! As for me, having traveled to many countries and having had the good fortune of staying in some of the best locations available, I would easily say it could be #1 anywhere . Book early but not before me!

Room Tip: There are two suites with their own balconies. I had the suite and there is also a loft. Both are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherelleFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I travel to Lecce 3-4 times a year to visit my Mom. I had book the Roof Barocco before this last trip, but this was the first time I was successful. My suggestion would be to book with Elisabetta as soon as you know your travel dates.
I stayed in what Elisabetta calls the "loft suite" from 11/22/13 to 11/29/13 and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. The private suite felt warm and comfortable with lots of natural light, 3 private patios amazing, high speed internet and a refrigerator stocked with juice, water and fruit. Elisabetta left a basket full of fruit, just squeezed orange juice and homemade pastries in front of my door every morning. It was like waking up to a present!
On my departure Elisabetta offered to take me to the train station, when I asked her about a taxi, which saved me about 30 Euros.
Roof Barocco is truly a must stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lecce hotels
0.3 mi away
Patria Palace Hotel
Patria Palace Hotel
#4 of 20 in Lecce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.1 mi away
8piuhotel
8piuhotel
#1 of 20 in Lecce
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torre del Parco - Dimora Storica 1419
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantatelure
Mantatelure
#1 of 307 in Lecce
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centro Storico
Centro Storico
#3 of 307 in Lecce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dimora San Giuseppe
Dimora San Giuseppe
#4 of 307 in Lecce
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof Barocco Suite B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof Barocco Suite B&B

Property: Roof Barocco Suite B&B
Address: Piazzetta Dell'Arte della Stampa 13 | Centro Storico, 73100, Lecce, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Lecce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Lecce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bright and amazing B&B in the heart of the historical city center of Lecce. Two indipendent and panoramic Suites, both of them with an enchanting rooftop terrace for exclusive use, air conditioning h24 and a fully equipped kitchen. Our guests are free to return at any time of the night and they will have to force themselves to leave this slice of heaven soaked among flowers to explore the beautiful Lecce.. Below them. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing