We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La dolce vita”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roof Barocco Suite B&B
Ranked #2 of 326 Lecce B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our stay at Elisabetta's was perfect. Her generosity of spirit, space and cooking made our week long stay in Lecce just magical. Anyone traveling to Puglia should stay here but please, stay for at least a week...any less time and you will regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollykeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 374 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Elisabetta couldn't have been more organised and friendly from the moment we made contact to the moment we left. All emails were promptly answered and she took no payment up front relying purely on trust.
We arrived at the very beginning of July following her excellent driving directions - with pictures! She welcomed us into her beautifully elegant apartment and then took us up to the roof apartment that was to be ours for two nights.
We were in the smaller of the two but it has THREE places to relax outside. My favourite was the main patio area with the swing seat.
The apartment is wonderfully clean with all mod cons. She had a huge tart as a welcome treat; there was a basket of goodies including tea, coffee, biscuits of verying sorts - so much for just the two of us for two nights. In the fridge was milk, prepared melon, fruit juice, water. It was truly a delight.
Each morning breakfast would arrive to be placed by E on a chair outside our door - she never disturbed us- and we would peer in there to find delights such as warm croissants; more prepared fruit; bread; fabulous homemade yogurt - truly delicious - all sorts.
We really had a relaxing time at Roof Barocco. We even ate in the apartment one evening enjoying the views of the church roof tops.
It was probably the best place we stayed on our two week tour of Puglia and we didn't rough it in the other hotels.
Would I recommend staying here - I most definitely would.
(p.S> Go out of the apartment and turn right - the restaurant down there on the right - NOnna something was very good and reasonable too)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia0763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

What a place! We are still in awe thinking back about our stay at this unbelievable B&B! Having traveled to many countries around the world, we would probably rate Roof Barocco as our top choice in terms of atmosphere and just feeling at home. In other words, we would have to rescale all our prior reviews, since Tripadvisor does not offer a "6" rating.

The unusual experience began when making the reservation. Elisabetta promptly answered all our questions and confirmed our booking via email. No deposit or credit card was required, and everything was based on trust. Very rare nowadays.

Her detailed driving instructions (with pictures) safely led us to the B&B, with the roads and alleys getting more angled and narrower as we approached it. Parking was reserved outside the B&B. We met Elisabetta and immediately sensed the pride and dedication she has toward her little treasure which she manages as a hobby while working as a consultant for the city.

Our loft room was both very functional and charming. Everything just made sense, from the furniture arrangements to the color scheme to the features offered to us. The attention to detail was just amazing, as it seemed that Elisabetta had anticipated all our needs.

The three (!) roof terraces were incredible. The top one offered stunning views in all directions over the roofs of Lecce, with its jungle of chimneys, tv antennas, and church towers and domes. Another one had two lounge chairs to bask in the sun. And the main terrace was like a Garden of Eden, with all kinds of flowers surrounding a seating area, a table, and a garden swing. So many ways to relax!

Breakfast was sumptuous and healthy, with many homemade products, fruits, yoghurts.

Apart from sightseeing in Lecce, we also considered the city a good basis for exploring the region (e.g., Otranto) and enjoying the beaches (e.g., the fine sandy beaches at Baia dei Turchi).

We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid-June and regretted that we hadn't stayed the entire 3 weeks we were traveling. We had booked Roof Barocco in January based on TA reviews, photos, and the awesome reviews of Elisabetta's hospitality. After reserving our stay we were excited to learn that Roof Barocco had been awarded the Travelers' Choice 2013 Winner, and upon staying here, it was obvious why. Elisabetta always promptly responded to our emails, and impressed us when she emailed detailed driving directions (including maps and photos) in a PDF file. The suites are located in the historical center and Elisabetta provides free parking, although it's ideally located for walking to many of the sites. We booked the Suite Loft, but were upgraded to the 2 bedroom; either one would have been perfect. As others have written, the accommodations are immaculately clean, elegantly decorated, and very much an island of tranquility, (with air conditioning). The terraces are decorated with gorgeous flowers, which Elisabetta cares for as tenderly as she does her guests. And yes, everything you read about how generous and hospitable Elisabetta is turns out to be true. You will never feel like she is intrusive, but you will be amazed at how she anticipates what to leave for her guests to make them feel welcome: homemade tarts, fresh cut fruit, homemade jams, homemade yogurt, milk, coffee, teas, croissants, and each morning a new delivery will quietly appear on your doorstep...you absolutely will not go hungry. There are so many other little things that add up to make this place so amazing: nice travel guidebooks on Lecce available to use, beach towels in the closet, bathroom toiletries, and seemingly anything else you might need. We definitely will stay here again, but it will be for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank len_leen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for two nights as we had a wedding to attend to in Lecce. From the second we arrived we were impressed; the building is beautiful and Elisabetta is so friendly and welcoming. We had free parking right outside and were guided up the stairs to a stunning private roof terrace. It was a hot day and the air conditioned apartment was so welcoming. Beautiful furniture and a fully equipped kitchen with lovely home made pie, fresh fruit and drinks in the fridge. Honestly you can't fault this place. And it's in prime location for exploring the beautiful city of Lecce.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefinnintheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Roof barocco gets top marks in everything, from its ideal location for exploring the city centre to the cleanliness of its rooms and the nice leafy verandas from which you can enjoy a wonderful view of Lecce's roof tops. But it is the hospitality of its owners that will leave you lost for words. They will go out of their way to make you feel at home, and every morning you will get an incredible breakfast made of scrumptious home-made products. The house gives onto a nice little piazza, very quiet indeed, so you may enjoy your sleep too. Very hard not to fall in love with this place and its owners.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miriam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

What a wonderful place...dear friends recommended the Roof Barocco B&B, and are we glad that we took their advice ! The suites are lovely, the hospitality top notch, and we found ourselves in the heart of Lecce, which is a must see ! We'll be back...

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank heidib17665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lecce hotels
1.1 mi away
8piuhotel
8piuhotel
#1 of 21 in Lecce
1,239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Patria Palace Hotel
Patria Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Lecce
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantatelure
Mantatelure
#1 of 326 in Lecce
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dimora San Giuseppe
Dimora San Giuseppe
#7 of 326 in Lecce
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centro Storico
Centro Storico
#3 of 326 in Lecce
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Marta Suite & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof Barocco Suite B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof Barocco Suite B&B

Address: Piazzetta Dell'Arte della Stampa 13 | Centro Storico, 73100, Lecce, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Lecce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Lecce
Price Range: $96 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bright and amazing B&B in the heart of the historical city center of Lecce. Two indipendent and panoramic Suites, both of them with an enchanting rooftop terrace for exclusive use, air conditioning h24 and a fully equipped kitchen. Our guests are free to return at any time of the night and they will have to force themselves to leave this slice of heaven soaked among flowers to explore the beautiful Lecce.. Below them. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing