We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Cooking Experience Lezioni di Cucina Salentina
Ranked #1 of 10 Food & Drink in Lecce
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
“A must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I took four classes with Gianna with classmates while we were all learning Italian. She is an absolute gem! Despite any language barrier, she is patient, warm, and enthusiastic about teaching. I still use some of the cooking basics I learned from her, and I don't think my time in Lecce would have been the same without her cooking school. Even if you only have time for one class, it is absolutely worth it if you're anywhere near Lecce.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    6
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than a cooking class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

As the name suggests, Gianna's classes are about much more than cooking. I took four classes as part of a language course, so our classes were conducted in Italian, so we were learning language at the same time as cooking. As well, I learnt a lot about Italian food, and cooking and eating habits, and also about wine and how to appreciate it. At the end of each class, the food we had cooked was served in the beautiful courtyard, and eaten with a lovely glass or two of wine.

Gianna's bright bubbly personality makes the lessons fun, and all is organised carefully so that a complete meal can be prepared in the time without any problem. The cooking experience was a wonderful part of my time in beautiful Lecce.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I didn't think we could make our own pasta so easily!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

With energetic and enthusiastic guidance from Gianna and her team, a bunch of foreigners made some delicious pasta dishes, had many laughs and learnt how much simpler it was to make pasta and gnocchi and yummy desserts than they ever imagined. Washing it down with local red wines and good conversation in Gianna's lovely courtyard makes this a highlight of a trip to Lecce.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ViaggiatoreOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip to Lecce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I attended Cooking Experience Lezioni di Cucina Salentina as part of a an Italian language course that included four cooking lessons with the wonderful Gianna Greco. Her love and enthusiasm for the food of the heel of Italy is infectious. She is a wonderful teacher and chef. You get to eat the food you cook and wash it down with excellent local wine. Highly recommended but be warned...don't have lunch before you go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raffaele2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtleford, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More than just a cooking experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Learning how to prepare a full Italian dinner can be straight forward but what makes Gianna's school so special is the rounded experience you come out with. Not only do you come to understand the importance of simplicity in preparing a meal but also the beauty of choosing ingredients from the local market, the dialogue with the stall owners or generosity of the grocer who hands out cheese or salami to taste. All with a smile and walking through the baroque streets of Lecce to the school is just a backdrop to the experience to follow.
It is more than just a cooking lesson, it is a complete Salento experience participating in the class as though you have been invited to dinner sipping wine and laughing while learning small but important tips in preparing food. Buon Appetito!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosetta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooking Experience Lezioni di Cucina Salentina also viewed

 

Been to Cooking Experience Lezioni di Cucina Salentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing