We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay -- would come back anytime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Michelangelo Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 312 Lecce B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect stay -- would come back anytime”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The B&B Michelangelo is a very well equipped and furnitured B&B in the old Jewish area in Lecce. We stayed for 2 nights and took the larger apartment which has included a kitchen and a small court yard. The place was clean and very spacey. Just a few steps and you are at St. Croce Basilica from where you can start your trip through the old town. Michelangelo, the host, knows quasi every corner of Lecce and may provide with all the info you need. He also took us on an impromptu tour to visit an old fountain from the Roman times underneath an old apartment building close to his souvenir shop which was really impressive. If you come to Lecce by car, you wil get a parking pass from Michelangelo which allows you to park anywhere inside the zona traffica limitata (old town).
Summing up, we would recommend the B&B Michelangelo without any hesitation and come back any time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
86
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed one night in Lecce at Michelangelo Bed & Breakfast. We found the B&B to be clean, comfortable and very conveniently located in Lecce's historic district. It is an ideal location for touring this beautiful Baroque city. The owner, Michelangelo Mazzotta is a very sweet and helpful host. He provided us with a map and advice about the sights in Lecce, audio guides to the Duomo, a special tour of the city's underground river and even walked us to the restaurant he recommended for our dinner, which was delicious. We would gladly stay at Michelangelo B&B if we were fortunate enough to return to Lecce.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

First of all the place, it's a really homely B&B. Instead of being just being a room with a bathroom tacked on it is a full apartment with kitchen, bathroom, outside area, main bedroom, and even a second bedroom with bunk beds for kids. You can really settle in as if it was your own home there.

Secondly, the host himself. He does everything he can to make your stay as good as possible. Michelangelo went out of his way to introduce us to people he knew at the university and at local tourist attractions. The instance at the university was a perfect example, my gf, an archaeologist was introduced to the person conducting a dig at a site in town where we got a behind the scenes tour of what the dig was all about. No other tourist in Lecce would have got to see this. It was a lovely touch.

I wholeheartedly recommend this place, and indeed have signed up to the site specifically to give this review.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xDavex55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed for six nights from 11 -17 September. Our room was reasonably spacious and had air conditioning that worked efficiently. There was a fridge stocked with fruit and water when we arrived. Tea and (proper) coffee making facilities were provided. The bathroom was of a good standard. The b&b is very well located in the centre of Lecce but also in a quiet alley behind Santa Croce. An excellent breakfast was provided in Caffe Persone two minutes away. Michelangelo is an excellent host. We had a warm welcome, were given lots of information and he was accessible for advice all through our stay. On a couple occasions gifts of his wife's excellent cooking were left. In all a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Check out if thery provide tea and coffee making faciliies and a corkscrew. (not all do!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Michelangelo is so kind and generous, the perfect host for your visit to the charming town of Lecce. The B&B is nestled on a very quiet back street just minutes from Santa Croce. It is safe, spacious, and comfortable, and ideally situated. Wonderful restaurants abound in this charming old town, and local shops just beyond the city wall make self-catering easy and affordable. Breakfast is served in a nearby cafe in a beautiful old building. But the reason you should stay here is Michelangelo and his family, for their warmth and kindness is one of my favorite memories of our time in Italy.

Room Tip: My two grown sons (19 and 21) and myself stayed in "Francesca". It felt very spacious for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXRunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Weary after driving around those little alleys, we happened upon Michelangelo's gift shop and what a host he is. He took over the driving down a teeny tiny alley to take us to a lovely room, ground floor, great big windows, comfie and with all kinds of treats.For our enjoyment were a little fridge, tea making facilities and fruit. Michelangelo is goes above and beyond his host duties, in order for us to find the right direction out of town (and these towns are challenging to drive around!) he led us the correct direction by leading the way on his moped! You can also use the internet in his gift shop. Also the B& B is in a central location to sightsee and hit some of the lively bar action. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovingit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is an excellent B and B, right in the centre of Lecce and 2 seconds from Santa Croce. The rooms are excellent quality with amazing vaulted ceilings, very romantic. Michelangelo is an awesome host who is always more than happy to chat about Lecce and Puglia in general and help out with any questions you may have. There are the facilities to make your own breakfast but why bother when its provided at a great little cafe across the street. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lecce hotels
0.1 mi away
Patria Palace Hotel
Patria Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Lecce
649 reviews
0.9 mi away
8piuhotel
8piuhotel
#1 of 21 in Lecce
1,129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lecce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dimora San Giuseppe
Dimora San Giuseppe
#4 of 312 in Lecce
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azzurretta Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Mantatelure
Mantatelure
#1 of 312 in Lecce
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Bed And Breakfast

Property: Michelangelo Bed And Breakfast
Address: Via della Sinagoga 12, 73100, Lecce, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Lecce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Lecce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Lecce, immersed in the marvellous Historical centre of the Baroque city, in the heart of Salento, 30 metres from Santa Croce and 100 metres from Sant'Oronzo square, we find the Michelangelo Bed and Breakfast with two independent apartments. The captivating ambience, dating back to ‘600 with ribbed vaults, offers guests a UNIQUE stay, for a special vacation in contact with the tastes and scents of Apulia: perfect both for an enjoyable relaxing vacation as well as a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Michelangelo Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing