We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in old city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Patria Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Lecce
Certificate of Excellence
dumfries
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent location in old city centre”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Patria Palace is very conveniently located for exploring the old city, which is beautiful. It is approximately a 20 minute walk from the bus station and train station - about half way between. We had booked a double room, the only one I could get when I went online, and were given a pleasant double room with a lovely large bathroom. Unfortunately, it looked out on to a flat roof and walls so we asked to change, which they agreed to only reluctantly, I felt. We had to pay 20 euros a night extra for a slightly bigger room with a very narrow bathroom, which only had a shower. It did, however, have a view of the church and piazza, which was a great improvement. It also had a small balcony. The marble in the bathroom was impressive though the shower was never hot and temperature was inconsistent. The reception staff were not particularly friendly and gave us no information about anything, including when and where breakfast and dinner were. We had to ask and if I hadn't seen on the Internet site that there was a roof terrace then we may never have found it. It was a pleasant enough area but did not have a particularly good view of the city. The information in the room was also poor. Both breakfast and dinner were very good. There was a good choice at breakfast, including fresh orange juice and coffee plus the biggest selection of teas I have seen in a hotel. Dinner was well presented and nicely cooked - and portions generous. The waiters were more friendly and helpful than reception, though the porter was welcoming. Overall, it was a very comfortable hotel, well located in the centre but I wasn't impressed by the attitude at reception.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonetDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    237
    40
    9
    5
See reviews for
68
315
52
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had three nights here and had an excellent room with enormous balcony and a view.Well worth trying to get one of these third floor rooms.The staff were efficient and friendly.Your car was parked and the hotel well signposted.Breakfasts were outstanding.Neither could it be better positioned.Not cheap but sometimes the extra is worthwhile

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattaro
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed with Patria Palace Hotel for almost ten days and were very happy with our choice. Beautiful building in the very heart of Lecce, spacious and beautiful rooms, superior breakfast and fancy dinner. But all of it was small next to the quality of service we got. Whatever we asked was done fast and efficient. Great work!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of put honeymoon. Our room was v comfortable and the location is great. The parking facilities were also very good. The service let the hotel down though, definately not 5 star service. No information was given to us upon check in about the area or general hotel information and there was no information provided in the room. One afternoon we sat by the bar in reception for some time waiting to be served and had to ask someone to serve us after about 15 minutes even though we were in full view of the reception staff. Not really what we expected from a 5 star hotel. Would probably try somewhere else on our next visit to Lecce.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPJcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Lecce is a lovely city and this is a great hotel right at the heart of it. The room was wonderful. We chose a room with a private terrace with a view of the city's roof tops, which was lovely and provided a nice back drop as the sun set at the end of the day. The rooms were clean and the bathroom spacious and well presented with a good range of complimentary toiletries. The breakfast was varied and good with an excellent range of teas, fruit, bread etc. On the, small, downside I thought the bar area was unappealing and the staff were formal and polite, rather than friendly and welcoming. On the whole I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2wheeltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central california
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Right in the heart of Lecce lies this top notch hotel. A very nice bar is facing you, just past the reception desk, as you enter and a welcoming drink, gratis, was provided. A nice touch as we checked in. The city is a delight to walk through but you can also use one of the free bicycles that are available at the main plaza; and since this hotel is only 3 or 4 minutes from the plaza, the bike becomes a very convenient way to tour. The rooms are clean and the wi-fi user friendly. The only concern we had was that my wife left her sunglasses on the table by the reception desk as we checked in and when we missed them, about 10 minutes later, they were gone. That's not the main problem: We didn't sense any real concern by the staff other than the fact that no one had turned them in. Not a real negative, because things happen, but a little blip on the radar. That said, my wife left her wallet in the safe and when they discovered it they called ahead to our next hotel, confirmed we were staying there, and sent it to us. That is great service!!

Room Tip: The elevator is quick and the staircase is WIDE and beautiful so whichever floor you get will work j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tojo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed two weekend nights in early April, perfect cool sunny weather for wandering around the city but the hotel may not have been quite up to speed.

The hotel is in th old town centre and driving to it can be disconcerting because one drives through pedestrianised areas. The road in is on the right, just as you come to the end of the castle on your left, from then on, watch for signs, the final jink is to go through a barrier between parked cars. The hotel will park your car for 10 euros a day, well worth while.

We had a third floor room (302) with a balcony, which was large with good furniture. There was a view of the top part of Basilica Sta Croce, which is about 100 m away but partly obscured by other buildings. The room was fairly standard, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast buffet was good with friendly staff. Eating in the hotel at 8:30 pm on a Saturday evening was a disappointment; there were no staff and when they appeared we did not receive the best service, the "local soup" was good but the fish was average and served on cold plates. A reasonable wine was recommended but I would have liked to see the wine list. One other group of 4 arrived for a meal and it may be that we had a poor experience because we were there out of season and the restaurant was so quiet, it was closed on Sunday but we would not go back again.

Check out was a particular disappointment - we only had 20 euros to pay for parking, I handed over a 50 euro note and was given just 10 euros change - rapidly remedied when I pointed out the error. We have been travelling to Italy for 40 years and have experienced this type of behaviour before but it was not what I expected in a hotel of this standard - that "error" and the poor restaurant service spoilt the overall experience.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms at the front have balconies and a partial view of the basilica, there is no traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haemtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lecce hotels
0.9 mi away
8piuhotel
8piuhotel
#1 of 21 in Lecce
1,178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lecce
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Leone di Messapia Hotel & Conference
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arthotel & Park Lecce
Arthotel & Park Lecce
#11 of 21 in Lecce
756 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Fiermontina - Urban Resort
0.7 mi away
Torre del Parco - Dimora Storica 1419
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patria Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patria Palace Hotel

Property: Patria Palace Hotel
Address: Piazzetta Gabriele Riccardi 13, 73100, Lecce, Italy (Formerly Patria Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Lecce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lecce
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lecce
#5 Business Hotel in Lecce
#9 Family Hotel in Lecce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Patria Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baroque-style Hotel housed in princely palace dating from 1780; original artistic beauty harmonizes with modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Patria Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patria Palace Lecce
Hotel Patria Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing