We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid, but over hyped.”

Trattoria Le Zie - Cucina Casareccia
Ranked #54 of 572 Restaurants in Lecce
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $48
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Solid, but over hyped.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was the place I read about as a “must”. It turned out to be good solid standard fare, very home made and tasty, but certainly not worth the pilgrimage some say is a must. In fact, I would say it’s really not worth the hype and there are dozens of similar places around. We ordered the antipasti which was white beans, grilled eggplant, frittata, and a cold potato salad with tomatoes and arugula.

We shared for our main course the meatballs (which were very nice and light in texture, bathed in tomato sauce) and the typical dish of sauteed chicory and fava beans.

For dessert we shared a slice of ricotta cake. With house wine and water, lunch was 35 euro.

Everything was fine, but again, not spectacular. I think the allure of this place is that it looks like you are dining in someone’s living room and you can see right into the tiny kitchen.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wired2theworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    314
    119
    78
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Typical and very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you want to experience an old fashioned dinner in Lecce, here's your place: you'll feel as if you've been invited home by your old aunt for an informal dinner. Everything very typical and home made. Nice experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucacreasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lecce
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“an overvalued place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Here you can always eat the same things, without any imagination. Here you must always eat the same things, without any imagination. Here you cannot avoid to eat always the same things, without any imagination. Here you will find only and always the same things, without any imagination.
But you can also find something flamboyantly changing: prices, which are constantly increasing, just like the spread between Greek and German bonds

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vittorio f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely little gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Came here in the summer with my girlfriend who raved about this little place! Love the fact that the front door is locked and you have to ring the bell to get in and be welcomed by one of the staff! The service was very homely and friendly, but, not exactly attentive, they were a little busy... The atmosphere was very nice, it did feel as though you were in someones dining room rather than a commercial restaurant! The food was not as good as I had expected! But, no complaints! We enjoyed our meal and left a very happy couple!
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for an authentic Puglia cuisine experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodman1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Home from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was a very intertesting experience. Firstly we had to ring the doorball to gain entry and then we were taken to a lovelky living room just next door to a lively kitchen. The food and service were very good although I was disappointed by the quality of the lamb. This restaurant is clearly well known and popular and booking is highly receommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gms26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Le Zie - Cucina Casareccia also viewed

Lecce, Province of Lecce
Lecce, Province of Lecce
 
Lecce, Province of Lecce
Lecce, Province of Lecce
 

Been to Trattoria Le Zie - Cucina Casareccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing