We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A great place

If you like yoga this is the place to be Great teachers, wonderful shala, nice accommodation (also... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
ClaudeCLG
,
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
via mobile
Italy today: international, yoga, vegetarian cuisine, plus... beaches

For me, Yoga in Salento brought together many elements that I enjoy and made for a refreshing and... read more

Reviewed September 11, 2018
Wanderer663949
Read all 50 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Lecce
from $84.35
More Info
from $39.36
More Info
from $39.36
More Info
from $67.48
More Info
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
41
4
0
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
41
4
0
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clean rooms retreat shala vegan yogis francesca teacher otranto gallipoli exploration week classes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 50 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2018

For me, Yoga in Salento brought together many elements that I enjoy and made for a refreshing and uniquely enjoyable vacation. My daughter just now saw me writing a review and said "Talk about the food! And the really nice yoga instructor! and the cats!"

I had never been to Puglia before but my 12 year old daughter and I caught a train from Rome to Lecce (5.5 hours, no transfers, very comfortable) arriving on the first night of an annual festival. I took a ton of photos in Lecce. It would have been easy and fast to take a train to Zollino but YIS arranged to pick us up in Lecce. Our room was very comfortable and air conditioned. The restaurant has delicious and healthy vegetarian cuisine. YIS is known for attracting great yoga teachers from all over the world/ Yoga teacher Clayton Horton is a gifted teacher - very observant, exacting, patient, and encouraging. He taught in English so there was no language barrier. The good vibes continued throughout our days. Everyone at YIS was nice and helpful. There are hammocks, a swimming pool, olive and fruit trees, and a parking lot shaded by solar panels.

I also found there was easy access to beaches on both the Ionian sea and Adriatic - both are about half an hour from Zollino. One afternoon we made a round trip excursion to Gallipoli, a nice town to explore that also happens to have a beach, and YIS helped us to rent a car that let us explore the coast line between Otranto (fantastic cathedral) and S. Maria Cesarea, where we enjoyed snorkeling, then hopping into the car and driving back to YIS.

And yes, there were some cute scrawny yoga kittens at YIS too.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Wanderer663949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

Lovely place perfect for yoga retreat! So peaceful, friendly and helpful staff, great food and beautiful shala. Spent one week here and would love to come back!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Jordgloben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

We stayed 17 nights, for the retreats of Durga Devi and Ty Landrum. It was our first yoga holiday and it went extremely well. The place is lovely, the yoga excellent and we met really nice people from all over the world. Food (also for vegans), garden, pool, atmosphere...just beautiful. We were there with our dog who felt welcome too:) From YIS you can easily reach many nice villages full of history and coasts with crystal clear water. We really loved it and we'll come back for sure next summer!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Stefania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

This summer we stayed more than 2 weeks at Yoga in Salento, participating two Yoga classes lead by outstanding teachers. We enjoyed very much the fantastic vegetarian and vegan food, daily made from seasonal and fresh vegetables and fruits. The dishes had delicious taste and excellent quality. Particularly, we had the pleasure of enjoying professional cooks from all over Italy presenting their tasty and healthy creations. Although having felt that we eat at least two times more than at normal working days, we for some reasons lost weight ;-). We also enjoyed very much interacting with the owner (Francesca, who gives fantastic Yoga classes!!!) and the staff always giving us a smile for the day and the feeling of joining a family. The areal of the Yoga in Salento retreat center is large, beautiful and invites to daily walk for botanical explorations (both seeing, feeling and smelling). However, we also recommend the surrounding olive fields to deserve attention.
The guest rooms are comfortable and the two Yoga shalas provide beautiful atmosphere for Yoga. The swimming pool is excellent and great to hang out for the day (Don’t’ miss: around 3 pm every day fresh fruits are served to guests!).
We made beautiful day trips to Gallipoli, Lucca, Otrando, Nardo, and Maglie. The beaches close to Otrando provide a fantastic variety to stay ranging from isolated places to touristic places serving umbrellas, sun loungers and drinks sometimes exposing you to larger Italian families bringing half of their household to the beach (we liked it a lot!) ;-). Once we rented a boat at Otrando harbor to cruise with some Yogis to explore beaches swimming in turquise water – it was worth every cent (about 80-90 Euro for a boat for 6 people from 1300-1830 o’clock).
We will certainly come again!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2018 via mobile

Have just returned from this haven . Simply stunning . Loved our teachers Mariapa and Sara and also Francesca who ran the place . Food was amazing . Staff so wonderful . Pool gorgeous . All in all perfect get away .

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank MsO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews