We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lecce Base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B Palazzo Bernardini
Ranked #54 of 331 Lecce B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

From the moment i was welcomed by Flavia and was shown the exceptional room i knew my stay in Lecce was going to be very enjoyable, i felt like a king in the room i was given and i spent the first 10 mins just wandering round in delight, its so much more than just a room, as you enter the property you walk into a wonderful main room and the very spacious bedroom leads off the main room with the bathroom located at the back including a jacuzzi bath which was most welcome after a 8hr train ride from Milan!.. the room rate also includes a very nice breakfast which is brought to your room at a time to suit you...you are only 5 mins walk from everything in the magical old town, i was very lucky as i did not book ahead, i'm sure in high season you would have to book well in advance..in conclusion my room here perfectly enhanced my Lecce experience..thank you Flavia and i hope to return to Lecce again one day!..Paul

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 217 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at 11 places in 33 days on our Italian vacation and Isabella Bernardini was the only hostess who really knew how to make us feel welcome and provided us with relevant and outstanding recommendations for places to see and eat!!! Wonderful city with very interesting architecture. Every recommendation was outstanding...Directions to the B&B were very well laid out and the location was excellent. Great walkable city and also great base to explore the Magna Grecia.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

service and friendliness with class and style where we felt welcome the moment we entered the palazzo. our tomtom did not easily find the correct streets to bring us there. hence we phoned and were guided by Nico who assists the family when they are absent.we were lucky to park our car in the court yard otherwise you will have to walk a couple of minutes. the wifi signal is mosty strong enough to enjoy video on your pc.
we felt embraced by the beauty of the interior decoration and the service.
when you step outside you are right in the center of beautiful Lecce. a place to go!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanne0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Lecce is a very nice place to visit. It is beautiful, clean and interesting. The people are friendly and good restaurants are common. The passaggiata is one of the best we have found in Italy and not to be missed on a weekend evening.
The Palazzo Bernardini is a very good place to stay and see Lecce. Located very well, only two blocks from the duomo, it is quiet, clean and roomy. You could not ask for a better location to see Lecce and southern Pugila, Access is simple, tho it looks complicated and first, and parking fairly easy.
My wife and I would stay here again without a second thought and actually may do so.

Room Tip: all the 3 suites are fine, all open on the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chstraveler52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

recommended by a friend who stayed there for extended period. this small but deep cultural oasis is a pearl and will stay with you for a long time as a memory teasing you to return. an ideal place for a long weekend or a base from which to explore magna grecia.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennydalalakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

My husband and I planned to make a holiday in Puglia Area and actually came first to Lecce, because of the inspiration of the movie “Mine Vaganti” directed by Ferzan Ozpetek.
And in this beautiful place, we stayed in B&B Palazzo Bernardini for 3 nights. This was such a stunning B&B. The helpful and sincere approach of Isabella ( the owner of the hotel) was really impressive.
The suite was furnished with beautiful antiques. A large living room opened to a large bedroom that opened onto a small terrace with a view of beautiful trees and flowers.
The breakfast was with local croissant and special breads of Lecce; it was nice..
Lecce is one of the nicest and historical little towns in Italy. And if you need a B&B, don’t look further..

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IstanbulOzge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Unfortunately our arrival in Lecce coincided with the most terrential rain storm starting around our arrival time. (The short walk (10 - 15 minutes) from the station should, in retrospect, have been taken by taxi rather than get so wet.) On our early arrival we were welcomed by Isabella and shown the Suite Araucaria which we had booked for its kitchen facilities. We were very wet and at first the rooms seemed dark and uninviting but once we had dried off and sorted ourselves out, put on the lights and air conditioning all was well. We chose a 9 am breakfast and this was certainly more than adequate. For 2 of us there were yogurts, orange joice, a croissant , a very large broiche and crispbreads with jams as well as a large jug of hot milk and a smaller pot of coffee. It was more food than we normally have for breakfast and very nice. We chose to eat breakfast on our terrace which goes off from the bedroom.

We had two small probelms, firstly the heating system beeps when it got hot and when it cools down which was most noticeable at night. Isabella was in conversation with the plummer about this when we left and seemed concerned about it. Secondly, possibly because of the very wet conditions, we both suffered more than usual from gnat bites. We had a gadget for the wall plug with us but it had limited effect. Isabella subsequently told us there are gadgets avaialble there as well. The lovely patio and entrance doors which are both glazed let in the natural light (and the gnats) but there are no other windows so at night in order to avoid more gnats the bedroom was very hot and close. We try to avoid air conditioning at night athough this worked well in both rooms.

All in all we had a lovely stay and Suite Araucaria provided the right facilities for us since we prefer to buy lunch of local cheeses, meats and fruit with some wine followed by a siesta. The lovely walled garden and quiet terrace were perfect for this. We were then refreshed for an afternoon of strolling in beautiful Lecce and then a meal at one of the many nice restaurants.

My laptop connected to the internet from our suite, better by both doors, using the free service. We paid by credit card without any problem on our last morning and were allowed to leave our bags in the suite until 3 pm when we left for the station. Isabella was very helpful as was Flavia with the email booking. We definately recommend this.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skiers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lecce hotels
0.3 mi away
Patria Palace Hotel
Patria Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Lecce
720 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torre del Parco - Dimora Storica 1419
1 mi away
8piuhotel
8piuhotel
#1 of 21 in Lecce
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Centro Storico
Centro Storico
#3 of 331 in Lecce
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
I 4 Balconi
I 4 Balconi
#28 of 331 in Lecce
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azzurretta Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Palazzo Bernardini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Palazzo Bernardini

Address: Via Marco Basseo 25, 73100, Lecce, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Lecce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Lecce
Price Range: $132 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast Palazzo Bernardini is a luxury Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the baroque town of Lecce, few steps from the Dome. Our suites have a spacious living room, double bedroom, private bathroom with Jacuzzi bath and/or Jacuzzi shower, and terrace in the historical garden. Air conditioning, TV, stereo, wireless connection. Free use of bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Palazzo Bernardini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing