We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Compagnia Del Viaggiatore
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in L'Aquila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A great hotel in a quietish location just on the edge of town. The hotel is clean and modern, food is very good, the staff are very helpful and the rooms are clean. Overall an excellent hotel to explore the L'Aquila and Gran Sasso area

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 837RichardH837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 437 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent rooms, very big and tidy. Free Wi-Fi. Staff was very helpfull and speaks decent English.
Restaurant is excellent (even locals come there to dine). Restaurant service was great.
Free parking spot. Refreshing pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fincken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

During our trip to Italy we decided that we wanted to check out the Abruzzo region and spent three nights at this wonderful hotel. Our impression was that of a family run hotel with impeccable service and amazing food. We stayed in the outside rooms, which was fine for us, because it felt like we had our own one bedroom apartment. The room and the bathroom were spacious and very clean an the location is perfect if you're planning on doing (hiking) trips in the close-by mountains and visit L'Aquila as well (which was sadly very much affected by a 2009 earthquake). The hotel has its own restaurant, which is very well-attended, we ate there every night, the food was delicious, fresh and offered a lot of local traditional ingredients (the plate of cheeses & cold meats is a must, the filet steak is amazing and you can never go wrong with the pastas & pizzas on the menu) The owner is very friendly and always around, making sure everything runs smoothly, which we both appreciated. The breakfast was continental with a great choice of homemade baked goods. It was one of the best hotels we stayed at and great value for money. Will be coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MimmiVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Truly amazing experience. My husband and I were in awe immediately upon check in. The customer service provided by staff and owners was the best we've ever encountered at any hotel worldwide!! (and I used to live out of suitcase weekly). This was our 4th trip to Italy and considering everything this is absolutely the best hotel we've ever stayed at; a real gem and extraordinary value. The hotel is immalculately clean, modern and comfortable. The food was superb!! We enjoyed a wonderful dinner that consisted of dishes native to the area as reccomended by the owner. Having family ties in the area we will definitely be visiting again and without a doubt stay here...can't wait. FIVE STAR SERVICE AT THREE STAR PRICE! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is around the mountains of Aquila which have a very nice view and good air. It has very nice big rooms where you can stay. It is equipped with everything you can imagine. It has a Sky Tv, air conditioner, fridge, coffee machine and more, which you find in your room. They have very good food and delicious. About service, it's fantastic. You can park free in there parking. The owner was very helpful about where to go, example around Gran Sasso. A good continental Breakfast. It is a good value for the price paying. It's a three star hotel but I recommended as a four star.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

A very large,immaculate and comfortable room with every convenience....including a Nespresso maker, sitting area,luggage rack etc.The bathroom was well appointed, reasonably large and equipped with many towels,toiletries etc. The property has a nice pool and robes and large towels were left in our room for use there.
The view was lovely...overlooking the mountains. A delightful accommodation!
Roberto's quiet hospitality was remarkable. Our "free drink at reception" was actually a mini-meal! Served beautifully on the terrace it included a basket of bread,cheeses,nuts,olives ,meats.
The dinner was one one of the best we had in Italy. The restaurant is fairly large with an exceptional staff. Most diners were locals. Roberto was always in attendance quietly observing that everything was perfect...and it was. We are sorry that we were so sated that we did not experience the pizza!
The breakfast was equally amazing...attentive service/ custom eggs/ sideboards with every possible breakfast food desired. We were also asked if there was anything we wanted that we did not see.
We loved our stay here and will come again when next we are in Rome...this time for a longer stay.
Roberto...your hotel is wonderful and you are a wonderful host. Cheers to your exceptional staff as well. We think of our stay with pleasure. I look forward to the pumpkin ravioli!

Room Tip: Although there is no spa or fitness center I gave excellent for the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAD10977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This place is great, and so are the staff. The manager, Roberto, and all of his team could not have been more helpful. The room I had was in a separate block behind the main hotel so that made it a bit quiter. The breakfast was wonderful and the evening meals were pretty good too. The room was big with a reasonable view at the back. the car park is fine and the wifi worked although a bit slowly. The pool was tiny but open! I'd happily return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Aquila
4.2 mi away
Hotel Federico II
Hotel Federico II
#2 of 21 in L'Aquila
207 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel La Valle dell'Aquila
3.4 mi away
Porta Rivera Hotel
Porta Rivera Hotel
#10 of 21 in L'Aquila
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Canadian Hotel
Canadian Hotel
#9 of 21 in L'Aquila
139 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Dimora Del Baco Hotel
La Dimora Del Baco Hotel
#3 of 21 in L'Aquila
103 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Nido dell'Aquila
Hotel Nido dell'Aquila
#1 of 5 in Assergi
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Compagnia Del Viaggiatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Compagnia Del Viaggiatore

Address: Strada Statale 80 Km 6 | Angolo Via Martin Luther King, 67100, L'Aquila, Italy
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > L'Aquila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in L'Aquila
Price Range: $88 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Compagnia Del Viaggiatore 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
l'hotel sorge a 6 chilomentri dal centro di l'aquila in una zona tranquilla immerso nel verde della natura.tutta la zona reception, lounge, hall , sala colazioni e ristorante è stata appena rinnovata nel mese di ottobre si procederà con il rinnovo delle camere del corpo principale.Da giugno 2011 abbiamo riaperto al pubblico qualche camera avendo ospitato la popolazione aquilana dal 16 aprile 2009 e stiamo cercando di riportare la struttura al top riprendendo tutti i servizi da noi erogati.Nice hotel in very quiet place, 34 rooms, little swimming pool, good restaurant and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Compagnia Del Viaggiatore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Compagnia Del Viaggiatore Italy/Abruzzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing