We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sufficient”
Review of Hotel Amiternum

Hotel Amiternum
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Amiternum
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in L'Aquila
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Clean, comfortable room with reasonable air conditioning and a good bathroom. WiFi not free and about a half hour walk from all the things that are open in the city (very convenient for the coaches, though), but it served my purposes. Was also easily booked at sod all notice when my previous hotel fell through.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripleplay97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 120 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

One of the worst hotels i had ever stayed.
It's one of the few hotel that survived after the earthquake at L'Aquila and for
this reason is overpriced 100 euro a double for a very small dirty room, without balcony and view.
The people that manage this hotel are very rude and cold.
The breakfast is very poor and i can say that there is nothing that someone can eat except a croissant. Cappuccino on the other hand is the only good thing of the breakfast.
I don't recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roussar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here because it was easy to get to by coach from Rome. But it is a long way from the centre of town - and from the train and bus stations. The local bus service is somewhat untransparent! - no route map or timetable available!!!!
Room OK (basic and clean), staff friendly.
Breakfast was adequate, but nothing special.
Restaurant was good value for money with friendly waitress. But closed on Sunday and it was hard to find somewhere to eat then.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the town have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HectorFromBerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This Hotel is really out of date amd stopped in time. The television (20 cm) has a real key on it! Breakfeast is poor.
Outside noise is a problem.
The positive aspects is that it is clean.
The negative: the noise, the breakfeast, the staff, the amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILikeThisOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2005

I don't know what that photos of a biulding on a mountain is of on this site but its not this hotel. All the other pictures are accurate. This hotel is not close to the city center. You need a car or public transport. It is difficult to drive to the hotel from the historic center because of one way streets. We got lost twice and we are very experienced with driving in Italy.
The staff was very friendly at this hotel. We were here off season and I would guess there was one other guest besides my husband and myself.
Our room had a wonderful view of the mountains (see photo). The room itself was a bit depressing, however, with a dorm like feeling. Good water pressure in the shower and no problem with hot water. The room itself wasn't spotless but clean enough. It was cold at night and the extra blanket had a little musty smell to it.
We had dinner in the hotel because it was so difficult driving to and from town. It was delicious!! The dining room has no character but the food was fantastic. There were tables filled with solitary locals eating and watching TV. Our waitress was very friendly and we communicated in broken English and Italian.
I think this hotel is meant for the winter ski season because its location is not good for visiting the city of L'Aquila.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JenSpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
Thank SalvoV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank marinatrento1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Aquila
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Compagnia Del Viaggiatore
0.2 mi away
Canadian Hotel
Canadian Hotel
#7 of 21 in L'Aquila
144 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Federico II
Hotel Federico II
#2 of 21 in L'Aquila
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Porta Rivera Hotel
Porta Rivera Hotel
#9 of 21 in L'Aquila
122 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel La Valle dell'Aquila
7.1 mi away
Hotel Campo Felice
Hotel Campo Felice
#1 of 1 in Casamaina
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amiternum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amiternum

Address: Localita Sant'Antonio, 67100, L'Aquila, Italy
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > L'Aquila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in L'Aquila
Price Range: $70 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amiternum 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Amiternum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amiternum Hotel l Aquila
Hotel Amiternum Italy/Abruzzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing