We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not be fooled by the word 'hostel'”
Review of Porta Rivera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Porta Rivera Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in L'Aquila
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wonderful 'hotel' just by & above L'Aquila rail station, approx 3 kms from the historical centre but very quite area; the station in L'Aquila only gets a few Regional services a day, none during the night so do not think that the arrival/departure of trains might disturb your sleep - they do not!

I am not aware why they keeo the word 'hostel' in the name, but trust me when I say it is much much better than a 3*** anywhere else in Italy (Rome for example), my room was extremely spacious and very clean, the bathroom large and the shower cubicle could not be better; there are 2 buildings, one is the hotel proper and some newer rooms are across the road, just above the actual rail station (security is extremely good if you were wondering)...

Reception is manned by very friendly and helpful people, I believe might be the owners but I am nt sure.

Breakfast is very light, so do not expect anything more than a cappuccino and a croissant or two, but this does not matter in L'Aquila where food is good and cheap :-)

Recommended.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Porta Rivera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 115 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is located just opposite the railway station, but as the station is barely used, there is no noise at all. Just at 400 metres from the famous Fontana delle 99 Cannelle, reachable on foot, of course! For a single room I paid only 40 Euros (including Italian breakfast). The room was very clean and spacious. The only drawback was the lack of air-condition, which is normally not a problem in a city that is at more than 700 metres of altitude. But this month the temperatures were very high also at night.
The staff was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Do not be put off by the cheap price and the fact it's a hostel. It's basically as good as any hotel but without a licensed bar.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms exceptionally clean, spacious and recently refurbished and location excellent for rail travel (right next to the train station). Breakfasts served were typically Italian - croissants, cakes, coffee and juices.

Each room had Sky TV (though we struggled to find anything English on it) and a hairdryer. The only recommendation I'd make is that you take your own towel as towels supplied were more like tea towels!

There was ample car parking and you'll need it as it's a bit of walk to L'Aquila centre (and it's uphill and we struggled to get taxis!) It's very close to the 99 fountain which is well worth a see as there's some lovely cheap restaurants there too.

All in all I can not recommend this place highly enough as it's good value.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellinghobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
Thank Errico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank Gaetano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank Libero A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these L'Aquila hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Federico II
Hotel Federico II
#2 of 21 in L'Aquila
200 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel La Valle dell'Aquila
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Compagnia Del Viaggiatore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel 99 Cannelle
Hotel 99 Cannelle
#6 of 21 in L'Aquila
113 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canadian Hotel
Canadian Hotel
#8 of 21 in L'Aquila
133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Castello
Il Castello
#14 of 21 in L'Aquila
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Rivera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Rivera Hotel

Address: Piazzale Caduti Otto Dicembre 1943 1, 67100, L'Aquila, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > L'Aquila
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in L'Aquila
Price Range: $65 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Rivera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The structure, completely restored and open to the public in September 2007, is a charming and innovative solution for your stay in the city of Aquila. Created with the objective of offering its guests a personal and attentive service, based on courtesy and attention to detail while maintaining a very attractive price. This focused commitment to total customer satisfaction makes it therefore exceeds its rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Porta Rivera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Rivera Hotel Italy/Abruzzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing