We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cangrande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cangrande Hotel
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Lazise
Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great hotel, great location but just a little pricy for what you get. Very close to the water and a great wine tasting room. the breakfast selection was also pretty good, however, it does seem as though they cater to Germans with their food selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    11
    0
    4
See reviews for
10
39
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the suite with its private balcony - a perfect location for a romantic getaway. The breakfast is really excellent, with a great selection. The staff are delightful and attentive, and the free bikes are a definite plus. The hotel is linked with a winery and the valpolicella was exceptional. The location is perfect, right next to the center of town and yet still quiet. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Suite 119 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Old but still modern hotel.
We were there in late May or June and then there was at least a good place to get the car parked under the covered roof.
The hotel is the way to Old Town, and therefore short walk to all amenities Lazise has to offer. Breakfast was very good and very rich tasting.
The staff was always helpful with everything.
The town of Lazise is as amazing as Bardolino. We have been in many of the towns around Lake Garda, but I will say that Lazise and Bardolino are our favorite cities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We dropped-by in August 2011 in what would had been a two days get-away short break.and we ended staying for the week and returned for another week in Aigust 2012. The hotel has a variety of rooms of different sizes (from double standards to appartments), air-con (VERY useful in the scorching-hot summer days, wonderful, friendly and efficient personnel . The rooms prices range from €100 to €150 and include a generous breakfast. The rooms are very clean and serviced every morning (sheets and towels changed) We had a medium-sized double with the standard air-con, fridge, a reasonable terrace and an LCD TV.

The hotel has an indoors wine tastine room (the hotel is family owned and served as wine storage facility - you can buy the wine that comes from the family vinyards - and a Inn) and a small cozy terrace with comfortable seating in the front where you can enjoy a coffee or a drink that may be either your own or prepared by the hotel personnel (One piece of advice: don't forget to buy an anti mosquito balm/cram - tiger mosquitos attack after sunset.

Lazise (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lazise) is a perfect place for a holiday, one of the most beautiful little towns we have ever seen. Eating out until midnight is the norm and the Italian cuisine (pastas, seafood and fabulous deserts and excellent matching wines are everywhere on the menus).

If driving is not a issue, after a relaxing week in Lazise, follow the scenic routs to Tuscany and immerse your soul in the magnificent beauty of Florence, Sienna, Lucca and Pisa (mostly for the tower....)

Room Tip: Request a room with a small terrace; do not expect any spectacular views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulxk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Christina and Olivio are the best hosts I have ever come across , they make your stay special ! The hotel is clean, well maintained and offers something a little special with the architecture. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone who works in the hotel, we always feel a warm welcome, almost like returning home to a long lost family

We have returned over a number of years and they always make sure we have the same great room . The other business the family runs compliments very well , the wine they make is great and I always enjoy trying the locally produced wine. The Amarone is amazing !

The location is just a short 3 mins walk from the lake, easy access to the boats or road to get around the lake. Lazize is a lovley town not overly touristy but a good buzz. Great restaurants also for the eve.

The hotel makes our visit special whenever we go to lazize and I dont think anyone could be disappointed , its wonderful ....I would not hesitate to return to the area annually and stay at the Cangrande. I would prefer to stay here than any large impersonal hotel on the lake.

The only reason i have not written a review earlier is ....I selfishly didn't want anyone to know about the best kept secret in Lazize , its just so special . That said more people should know about the wonderful Cangrande and experience the warm hospitality !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We have been in this hotel already three times for vacation and we'll go back again. The hotel is situated in a beautiful setting: the old walls of Lazise. It is small, but has a very familiar atmosphere and is managed by very nice people. The breakfast is absolutely outstanding!! It has also a very nice room for the tasting of its own wines. During our stay we've been spoiled all the time by the very friendly owners.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlMondoPiccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

Let me start by saying that there is nothing wrong with the Cangrande. In fact it is better than that - many things about it are really quite nice. It is clean, the beds were comfortable, the reception was good, the air conditioning worked well, there is under cover parking right next to reception, and the breakfast was good. I think the problem was the the hotel lacked any atmosphere or soul. The rooms could have been anywhere, even though from the outside the building was rather lovely and part of the hotel is incorporated in the historic city walls. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful, but the breakfast staff looked like they had had a bad night.
In summary, this hotel is fine for a night, and Lazise is certainly worth a visit, but lacks any real attraction to extend the stay any further.
The pizzas in the Pizzeria just inside the walls on the other side of town by the gate (about 5 minutes walk away) were spectacular and highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lazise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cansignorio
Hotel Villa Cansignorio
#21 of 27 in Lazise
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Castello San Antonio
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Della Scala
Palazzo Della Scala
#9 of 27 in Lazise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante alla Grotta
0.4 mi away
Relais agli Olivi
Relais agli Olivi
#7 of 27 in Lazise
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Mura
Hotel Le Mura
#16 of 27 in Lazise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cangrande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cangrande Hotel

Property: Cangrande Hotel
Address: Corso Cangrande 16 | Lake Garda sud, 37017, Lazise, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Lazise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Lazise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cangrande Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightfully sophisticated, romantic hotel, located within the town walls of Lazise, Verona, the Cangrande Hotel combines a warm, welcoming, family atmosphere with modern, efficient services.A historic residence, which to this day hosts the wine cellars of Azienda Agricola Girasole, a producer of superb local wines, the hotel’s splendid setting in the Lake Garda area offers guests just the right touch of class and elegance to guarantee an unforgettable holiday. What makes the Cangrande Hotel truly special is that it is an integral part of a charming Italian landscape, where the quality services range from the excellent, large buffet breakfast to the chance to taste some fine wines, surrounded by attractive, carefully selected interior design elements.An appealing weekend by Lake Garda can be made even more alluring by taking a stroll or a cycle through the magnificent streets of the Old Town of Lazise,on the banks of the Lake, or amid the hills and vineyards that form the backdrop to a marvellous landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cangrande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cangrande Hotel Lazise, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing