We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budgie smugglers should be compulsory to enter!”

Caneva - The Aquapark
Ranked #3 of 23 things to do in Lazise
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Budgie smugglers should be compulsory to enter!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Pre-planned to go on Monday 12th August and as the weather forecast was for rain on Tuesday and Wednesday decided to go ahead even though it was a very hot day - Gardaland was surprising quiet the week before on a similar day so we weren't put off. Unfortunately we ended up only achieving 5 rides in 5 hours due to the length of the queues. There are many good sun beds provided but by the time of our arrival all were taken as we're all the shady spots so my wife who is not keen on anything to do with water had to sit out in the blazing sun on a towel - if you want a sunbed get there for opening time at 1000hrs! Also if you are traveling from the west side of Lake Garda take the A4 which will cost you €2.30 toll charge. We attempted to go via Desenzano which resulted in a 1 hour journey taking 2 hours, not worth it.
The park itself was clean and well maintained (not to Disney Florida standards though) . Parking costs an extra 4 euros for the privilege. The only thing which clearly needs improving are the toilets which do need refurbishing and bringing into the 21st century. The squatting over a hole in the ground method may be a quaint old tradition in the view of some, but not me and certainly not the wife.
Sorry to now mention food but there was a decent variety albeit usual theme park fare, and I thought decent value for these type of places by comparison. I had a cheeseburger menu for €7.80 which consisted of a nice burger ( though not as big as a quarter pounder), fries, Pepsi and Magnum choc-bar ice-cream.
If you come on a good day when the queues are shorter it is probably worth more than a 3.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pepperbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    360
    204
    94
    77
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun day for the family”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The whole family enjoyed themselves, going on as scary a ride as they could manage! Our favourites were: Crazy River and Black Hole. I tried Stukas Boom and had a great view of the lake before the big drop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard_6869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Standing more than 1 h queues doesn't worth the money.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

All in all it is an interesting park but it's not worth the money if you are coming with a family where the oldest is 12. We thought of going to an alternative waterpark nearby. I regret didn't do it.
Parcoaquaticavour.it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yariv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Budgie smuggler alert!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

What is it about middle aged Italian men that makes them want to wear Budgie Smugglers? Mind you the women are nearly as bad wearing standard bikini bottoms that have been rammed into their butt crack so as to look like a thong bikini - hardly appropriate for a family water park!

We were a little unsure about going to Caneva after reading other reviews stating it was filthy, but this was not our experience of it. Sure it could have done with a lick of paint here and there, but it was clean.

Some of the rides were not for the faint hearted - Stukas Boom comes to mind. Basically you stand on a clear perspex floor about 100 metres in the air at the top of a flume. The ride attendant then presses a button and gravity take over! You plummet down the chute into the run off area at the bottom. The ride only lasts about 5 seconds but if you're an adrenaline junkie this ride is an absolute must.

There is a crazy river ride for which my wife and daughter queued for an hour and by all accounts was not worth it, maybe if the queue was only 20 minutes...

My son and I went on Black Hole 2 instead. The queue was about 25 minutes in total (15 to get the rubber ring necessary to ride the flume and another 10 to actually get on the ride), this was worth it but I would not really have liked to queue for much longer.

Both Anaconda and Trisplash were quite slow flumes, so much so that both adults and children alike would often come to a complete stop and have to push along with their hands!

Kamika was a good ride with a pretty steep drop.

Typhoon allowed up to 5 people to race each side by side.

The main pool, with a wave machine, was very busy when we went.

The food wasn't all bad. It was possible to get salad and fresh fruit as well as the usual fast food fayre.

We bought a two day two park pass as Caneva aquapark is twinned with Movieland next door.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK but Movieland better”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We almost didn't go having read some of the reviews, but glad we did...also glad we just made it a half-day visit. Some of the slides were slow, and some rides had very long queues. Choice of food very limited. That said, there was a good variety of rides and we had a good time, and although it does need repainting in some areas (especially the changing areas) it wasn't 'dirty' as some people have said. We visited for half a day as part of a 2 day, 2 park ticket. We made the right move spending longer in Movieland.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank winoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caneva - The Aquapark also viewed

Castelnuovo del Garda, Province of Verona
Lazise, Province of Verona
 
Lonato del Garda, Province of Brescia
 

Been to Caneva - The Aquapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing