We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stop-off for families (and beer-lovers)”
Review of Gem's Brew Pub

Gem's Brew Pub
Ranked #19 of 131 Restaurants in Lazise
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Barbecue, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
140 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good stop-off for families (and beer-lovers)”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We took our friends here as it seemed a good spot for some no-nonsense food and a place for the kids to stretch their legs. It was pretty busy on a summer Sunday afternoon, but the staff were friendly enough and we found an outdoor table straight away. The menu is good if you like chips/fries, beer and simple dishes. I had a burger which was average at best but everyone else seemed satisfied with the quality and portion size. The home-brewed beer comes in three types: chiara (lager/pils), weiss (wheat) and rossa (red). The weiss I had was tasty enough, as was the chiara that I tried.
All in all a good experience, augmented by the friendly Dutch biker families on the two tables next door!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thejesmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    302
    148
    51
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gem's”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Friendly staff, best pizzas. we have been going here for 8 years and just keep returning. Great for late night food at any time of the year. Amazing chicken, and very good value for money. I have brought all my friends and family here and would 100 percent reccommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missanewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good offering, nice beers, and they are open until late !!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

we found this place after a long and tiring day in venice. By the time we got to Lake Garda region, it was 9 pm (maybe even later) and in Italy, that usually spells "no open restaurants, your dinner today will probably be at Mcdonalds".
a quick search on TripAdvisor app found us this place, and we pleased witht he find.
first, their kitchen is open until midnight every day. second, they brew their own beers - and have 3 kinds.
the menu is quite extensive, which does not necessarily is a good thing, but the house dish is the chicken and fries- 11 Euro will get you half of a roasted chicken on the grill with fries and a piece of toast. which you can wash down with the beer.
we actually went there for 2 nights in a row. i had the chicken on both occasions, my hisband had their burger on night 1, which was replaced to the chicken on night 2 (for quality and quantity reasons).
we also had desserts on both nights: apple pie and vanilla ice cream on night 1 and tartufo on night 2. they were good, esp. the vanilla ice cream, and provided the needed sugar kick after the meal, but not something that will change your life.

the place itself is quite big, with available seating within the restaurant and "outside", where you can enjoy the view (we came late at night, but the whole area is really serene and beautiful).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Burnt Offering!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was by far the worst meal we ate during our stay around Lake Garda. We ordered lasagne for two. When the waiter delivered the food half the topping on both was burnt to a cinder. Also the female who seemed to be the chief waiter was totally unhelpful when it came to paying the bill. I would advise people to stay away from this establishment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Popsy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shambolic”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Describe chicken nuggets as 'croquets'. I ordered a lamb chop and got a very low quality chicken fillet. Most of the food tasted defrosted. Don't waste your Euros.

Helpful?
Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gem's Brew Pub also viewed

Lazise, Province of Verona
Lazise, Province of Verona
 
Lazise, Province of Verona
 

Been to Gem's Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing