We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dining experience.”
Review of Alla Grotta

Alla Grotta
Ranked #3 of 130 Restaurants in Lazise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $78
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience.”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

As regular visitor to the Garda / Bardolino / Lazise area I had heard lots of good things about Alla Grotta. This is a great restaurant, fantastic food and great atmosphere. I could go on and on about this restaurant, but I'll leave it that in the hundreds of restaurants I've eaten in, it's in the Top 15.

A few notes for first time visitors:-

1. There is a lot of raw fish on the menu. Personally I love this type of cuisine, but it may not be for everyone.
2. There are a lot of dishes that are not on the menu and will be described to you by your waiter. I saw a review that complained that the waiter's English wasn't very good when describing the dishes. All I'll say is that this restaurant is in ITALY.
3. Book in advance i.e. even before you travel, it's very popular and can be a week or more for a table, especially high season weekends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    168
    63
    27
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
376 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“So and so”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

If you are close to Lazise this is a nice place for dining. The location is very nice and the service good. Fish food could be better. Too sause, cream and butter that cover the fish taste. I thought better. Only if you like fusion kitchen you will be satisfied here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disastrous evening!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were rather disappointed with Alla Grotta considering as we were told it was the best restaurant in Lake Garda. There is no doubt that the food was good but our night was rather spoiled by a bit of info that was lost in translation between us and our waiter. Our waiter couldn't really speak English and when he was telling us the specials he left out the crucial word "raw" when he was describing the fish dish. This didn't go down well when it came out particularly when we found out that each starter (of which we had got four) was €22. Lesson to be learned: stick to the menu where nice descriptions of all the dishes are to be found in English!

Although the rest of the meal was excellent it couldn't make up for the rather bad taste (literally!) left after the starter.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank locacocoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E Anglia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The highlight of our year!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are lucky enough to spend a long weekend at this wonderful restaurant with rooms, every year, when we attend the Verona Opera!
How could you not fall in love with the location; the beautiful restaurant and the welcome?
The owners are there, day in - day out and are so attentive! The loyal staff have been there as long as I can remember - that is surely a sign of a good management team.
Most rooms are on the small side, except for a few amazing suites!!
But what of the piece de resistance - the food and wine? Whether you have lunch or dinner (or preferably both!) the food is hard to beat! Each plate is not just a beautiful work of art, it encapsulates all that is good about modern cuisine! Wonderful flavours, perfect blend of taste and texture - it would be hard to match in a Michelin starred restaurant. Don't worry about the menu - let the staff tell you what's special for the day!
The wine list offers a great selection of local and international wines - again, allow yourself to be guided to try new wines of the region.
I love this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding restaurant”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't want to give away more, it's popular enough already. But the fish menu is simply outstanding, the courtyard is beautiful, the wine selection excellent and moderately priced, and in short, it's hard to beat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alla Grotta also viewed

Lazise, Province of Verona
Lazise, Province of Verona
 
Lazise, Province of Verona
Lazise, Province of Verona
 

Been to Alla Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing