We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Sea Side location, Fantastic Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ancora Riviera
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Lavagna
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Sea Side location, Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was a last minute online booking. After 4 days of driving and site seeing in Rome and Florence. I wanted a nice sea side hotel to relax in. The front desk were super friendly and accomodating. There is free street parking and a private parking garage is only a stone throw away. We had an upperfloor beach and marina view room . Breakfast was included and had eggs, bacon, cold meats , plenty of pastries, cereals etc. We opted to eat at the hotel for dinner . The food was outstanding!
Nice private balcony.
As others have noted the staff are super friendly and went above and beyond to ensure we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor Marina/Beach view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    79
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
57
77
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a few days in this hotel with our 3 year old twins while sailing a race out of Lavagna Harbor. The hotel team went out of their way to take care of us, bought us milk and chocolate powder for the kids. The hotel is clean, renovated, ideally located if you want to be close to the harbor.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank trendab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonheiden, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

In July 2011 we planned a boating holiday in Italy. The first week we stayed at the Garda Lake up north and for the second week we moved a bit south towards the Portofino / Sestri Levante-area. When searching online for a hotel we soon discovered that the hotels in both of those cities became extremely pricey compared with some years ago. So we searched for an alternative, holding in account that we needed a berth for our boat.

Trough Booking.com we stumbled upon Ancora Riviera and were almost immediately convinced when we saw that the hotel was just next to the marina. We booked 2 Superior rooms, because of the ocean-view. After we had arrived we were glad we did that. Although the "classic" rooms also looked very modern, clean (certainly for Italy ... no offense) and comfortable they were at the front of the hotel with not much of a view (just some old, dirty buildings) and a busy train track not far away. Also, Lavagna itself is not that beautiful. It is just a normal Italian seaside city but it is a perfect fall-out to Portofino, Sestri Levante and Rapalo (also, a day-excursion to Milan is very doable)

Our rooms were at the back, had all a balcony, sea-view, a nice tv (with sadly only Italian channels; around 50 of them), a desk, a little sofa, a hairdryer, shower, bidet and offcourse a toilet. We also didn't hear any train-like noises.

When going to the breakfast you will notice that this is a typical Italian hotel because around 70% of the other guests is also Italian. But nevertheless the breakfast is a very nice assortment of different kinds of break, cheeses and meat. But the pièce de résistance must be the whole table full of fresh baked cake and pastry. Absolutely delicious ...

And when this hasn't convinced you yet, the staff certainly will. The Hotel is ran by 2 sisters and their mother. Only one of them speaks English but they all are extremely friendly and helpful. Also the night watchman, Roberto, is one of the friendliest Italian we have ever met. He can tell incredibly stories about the celebrities in Portofino but can also be of a very great help when planning excursions.

All in all a very nice hotel we will most certainly return to in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaximArrazola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

close to beach and railway station.the staff of this family run hotel go out of their way to help make your stay a pleasant one.highly recommended.john hannay brisbane australia

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
146 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 509 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I've booked the hotel for one night during my working trip in Tuscany and Liguria.
Arriving in the middle of the week, I did not have any problem to park in front of the Hotel, but I guess in the weekend can be a little trouble.
Warm welcome at the reception, nice room.. wow.. even nicer than what i was expecting.. now as always, my good-bad-ugly

THE GOOD
Room: spacious, very clean, with all what you may need.. you have enough space for an additional children bed if requested.. the bed is comfortable, pillows perfect as well.
Reception: the man was very kind, always smiling to all my requests. He suggested me a good restaurant (the hotel restaurant was closed), which was perfect for what I was looking for (no Tourist-trap).
Breakfast: I was satisfied with it.. even if it was not fully booked, the hotel provided the breakfast with plenty of stuffs, both for Continental and not-Continental customers. The Service was perfect, friendly and always smiling.

THE BAD
Lift: The lift was spacious, but VERY warm.. I guess it can be a problem during warm days in summer.
Parking: without a proper private parking, it can be a problem during pick season. Hotel has an agreement with a public parking lot near the harbour (don't know price / availability)

THE UGLY
Wi-fi: ok, they give you free wi.fi connection.. but I was not able to surf the web properly.. the bandwidth was very low, and it took several minutes to load every page.. I had to use my 3G connection instead (note: I know how to manage connections..). Hoping it was just the wrong day..
Windows: yes, they need to change the windows!! They are old, not closing in the right way (mainly in the bathroom) and the result is you can hear the trains passing on the nearby rails. This is they real only "pity".

CONCLUSION
Well.. I just have to recommend this hotel to you, TA travellers.. friendly, clean, well located.. ready to receive you and your family (and kids)..
It is a 3 stars hotel, so do not expect a 5 stars service.. but you'll find a friendly and warm atmosphere, you'll pay the right price, and I'm sure you'll go easily over the few missing point you face with this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Skiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The lovely people running the hotel are extremely charming and helpful... The hotel is modern, tasteful, and welcoming.
Breakfast which normally finishes at 10 stayed was very nice and even nicer as they made an exception for us being late risers. Both eggs and pastries as well as coffee and delicatessen among the breakfast range.
The rooms are simple, clean.. not sure about the brown carpet, but overall tasteful.
The only lapse is probably the rooms they gave us which were over the main road with the railway about 200m away... so, although I haven't seen them i would push for a port side (sea view).
Lavagna is not the prettiest of resorts on this coast however if you're staying here the hotel represents. great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellasverona1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Quite nice boutique hotel, with stylish decor. Rooms well designed, new baths. Major issue: if you pay a premium for a water view room, be aware that the view is badly marred by a derelict, grafitti covered community building immediately behind the hotel. Views of the marina are off to the far right, water view is in the distance, unlike our expectations to look right out onto the sea. The bathroom drains had an unpleasant odor, which may have been driven by the rainy weather while we were there. Restaurant fine for breakfast but wouldn't recommend it for other meals, we weren't too impressed. Biggest disappointment was that the town is rather characterless and if you are looking for charm, it isn't here.
Do take the ferry to Porto Fino and go to Sestre Levante (probably a much better option for a town to stay in). Best restaurant on our trip was in Sestre, on the beach overlooking a quiet bay - Portofino. Superb. reserve ahead and plan to spend all evening.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavagna
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tigullio
Hotel Tigullio
#2 of 17 in Lavagna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#2 of 8 in Chiavari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#1 of 17 in Lavagna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#5 of 17 in Lavagna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Monte Rosa
#1 of 8 in Chiavari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ferrari
Hotel Ferrari
#4 of 8 in Chiavari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ancora Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora Riviera

Property: Hotel Ancora Riviera
Address: Via Dei Devoto 81, 16033, Lavagna, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Lavagna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Lavagna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ancora Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ancora Riviera Hotel is located in a truly splendid setting, in the magical Tigullio Gulf. Situated at the tourist port of Lavagna, it looks out onto the sea and is only a stone's throw from the long and expansive beaches of the Italian Riviera. The hotel has recently been renovated and offers a refined and welcoming environment, which is relaxing and informal. It is ideal for those who would like comfortable accommodation having docked at the well-equipped Lavagna's marina. To make guests' stay most pleasant, the hotel offers the famous American Bar, a Swimming Pool, a Solarium and the Technogym Fitness Club. Private car parking, around 50 metres from the hotel. Lavagna was recently awarded the 2014 Blue Flag, which is a prestigious label given out by the Foundation for Environmental Education to localities which are distinguished for the quality of their beaches and waters. The hotel is 30 km from Genoa, 50 km from the Cinque Terre and just 15 km from Portofino, one of the most famous and exclusive tourist spots in the world. Thanks to convenient rail and sea links, the hotel is in an ideal location for those who want to visit the beautiful sites of the Tigullio Gulf and the Cinque Terre, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ancora Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing