We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad location and very rude staff”
Review of Pineta dell'Iguana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pineta dell'Iguana
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lavagna
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Everyone should be very careful for check in hours.
Since the place is close to the touristic place of Cinqueterre, we made our booking from that hotel however we could reach to the hotel at a late time and we did not find any place to top-up our batteries of the mobile phones. When we come to the hotel it was closed. We fould some place to top-up our batteries and called the number in our booking card. The women on the line was really rude and we tries to explain our position but she shut the phone. At a late time evening, we were very bad position. So ı do not recommend anyone.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Merve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel was so nice that we decided to come BACK on our way home from Rome. The owner/server/gardener/do-it-all man spoke a lovely accented English and was fun, helpful and very friendly. The food was great! (We recommend asking for the homemade panna cotta aven if they don't put it on the daily menu... it's unlike any you'll find elsewhere! Also the pesto sauce is amazing, and if you ask in time, she can prepare some for you to take home in a cooler bag! We were in a quad, but were comfortable, which is also fairly rare.

An address to keep whether to visit the region and Cinque Terra or as a stop-over when travelling to Firenze or further south!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melgoriens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Peaceful woodland setting, above a small village, five minutes from the beach. Well located for visiting the sea-side towns of the Riviera (e.g. Portofino) and the Cinque Terre.

Small hotel run by exceptionally friendly staff. Rooms clean and spacious with air conditioning. Don't miss dinner in the restaurant - open to non-residents and popular with locals. Serves the freshest seafood and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have just returned from a six night stay in this hotel and we can highly recommend it. The owners and staff are really lovely people who do everything they can to make your stay as good as it can be. The food is really delicious and the room we stayed in was large and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the village. The position is perfect for visiting the eastern Ligurian coast from Genoa to La Spezia.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinetaiguana, Manager at Pineta dell'Iguana, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

thanks a lot!

see you next year

the staff
:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Me and my 2 girlfriends have just come back to the UK after having a wonderful stay at this hotel. Don't be put off by the 1* status as we had a very clean room with a/c, en-suite, balcony + breakfast and we couldn't fault it. Breakfast included, fruit juice, cereals, cake, yogurt, fresh fruit, toast, jams tea and coffee. One of the managers, Massimillano, was very welcoming and went out of his way to make us comfortable. The evening meals, which were cooked by Massilillano were, in my opinion, upmarket and much better than the local restaurants we tried. I've already booked to stay again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank MaddieBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Only five minutes walk to the beach, the kitchen smells like heaven and the owner a genuinely nice guy!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aroumeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinetaiguana, General Manager at Pineta dell'Iguana, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Thanks a lot; it has been a pleasure hosting you!

See you soon!
The manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

First of all, this is not a hotel for anyone looking for luxury holiday, chilling by the pool or hoping for close by shopping centers. This a a hotel for those who wish to enjoy the truly italian way of life, meet genuine italian people and relaxing.

The hotel is situated about 3 min walk from the beach and main road, which for me is the best spot because you are close to everything. but dont have the noise from the cars and trains.

The rooms are simple, with all rooms sharing 3 toilets in the hallway. However, all rooms have a shower and a sink, so its not all that bad.

The reason to pick this hotel is simple. They have the absolute best service and nicest staff I've ever met. They helped us with everything from ordering taxies, trains, and buses, to helping us rent scooters.

All in all a very nice hotel, the only reason for not getting 5 stars is the breakfast, which I feel could be more italian. The breakfast was only white bread with jam, various cakes and homemade juice and coffee. Would have liked to see more foccacia, homemade bread, italian ham, and local ingredients in general.

Room Tip: Only some of the rooms have balconies, so I would ask for that next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanderFiskvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavagna
1.5 mi away
Hotel Valentino
Hotel Valentino
#10 of 16 in Lavagna
75 reviews
8.6 mi away
La Lampara
La Lampara
#4 of 4 in Deiva Marina
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doria Hotel
Doria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cavi
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ancora Riviera
Hotel Ancora Riviera
#4 of 16 in Lavagna
200 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lavagnese
Hotel Lavagnese
#6 of 16 in Lavagna
167 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tigullio
Hotel Tigullio
#2 of 16 in Lavagna
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineta dell'Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineta dell'Iguana

Address: Via della Pineta 10 | Cavi, 16033, Lavagna, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Lavagna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lavagna
Price Range: $29 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pineta dell'Iguana 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Con una vista panoramica sulle colline circostanti, il Pineta Dell'Iguana vi attende tra le verdi colline dell'antico borgo peschereccio di Cavi Borgo, in una zona tranquilla tra Portofino e le Cinque Terre.Il Pineta è il punto di partenza ideale per visitare questi paesini pittoreschi e le spiagge locali, raggiungibili a piedi in soli 3 minuti. La stazione ferroviaria di Sestri Levante dista 1,5 km dall'albergo.Alla sera potrete rilassarvi nel giardino della struttura o gustare la deliziosa cucina del ristorante.Tutte le camere sono dotate di una doccia e di un lavabo e alcune presentano inoltre un balcone. Sette camere condividono tre bagni in comune e gli asciugacapelli sono disponibili presso la reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pineta dell'Iguana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineta Dell Iguana Lavagna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing