We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty hotel in a decent location”
Review of Pineta dell'Iguana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pineta dell'Iguana
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lavagna
Westminster, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dirty hotel in a decent location”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in July. Most of the staff were rude and unhelpful. The bed was uncomfortable. The room was dirty - tile floor that had dirt on it. The shower in the room was awkward at best. The walls were thin and we could hear people going to the shared bathroom next door. It's not very easy to get to from the train station in Sestir Levante - about a 1 1/2 mile walk through a scary tunnel to get to it. The only pluses were that it was air conditioned, it had a balcony, and it was a few minutes from the beach.

Room Tip: Don't get a room right next to the shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mbshell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinetaiguana, Direttore at Pineta dell'Iguana, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Patrick Miller,
I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay at our place but it is important to analyze what you have written in order to not give misleading information to future customers.
Let’s start with your first sentence : The room was dirty - tile floor that had dirt on it.
We have 3 cleaners always on duty, why did you not either ask them or myself to clean the room?
People sometimes make mistakes but in situation like this it is very easy to sort the problem out by speaking instead of closing the door and complain after the stay; At the end of the day cleaning a room takes up to 30 minutes.
Saying all of this I have to ask you sorry since it is our fault.
Second sentence: The shower in the room was awkward at best
I do not know exactly where you l live and maybe you are use to extra large shower but the one you used is a standard European shower therefore I do not understand the issue with it, you are also a normal size person.
Third sentence: Most of the staff was rude and unhelpful. Me and my staff asked you many times if you needed either information or help for something but you answered all the time NO and ran in your room (I thought you liked it) … kind of a strange behavior but possibly since our English is not perfect and we are not English mother tongue you thought that we were rude… we are sorry for our English!
Fourth sentence: The bed was uncomfortable. The all beds in our hotel are brand new possibly you are used to old ones.. I am sorry again for new beds!
Last sentence but eventually the most interesting: It's not very easy to get to from the train station in Sestri Levante - about a 1 1/2 mile walk through a scary tunnel to get to
As per our description the closest train station is Cavi di lavagna which is about ½ mile from the hotel. Talking about scary tunnel I have walked through it since I was a kid with my mum and I have never thought that was scary but likely enough people have different feelings about things. I am very sorry but I cannot do anything about this since it is the only street which links Sestri Levante to Lavagna and also it is owned by the city of Sestri & was built 60 years ago. The only thing I can suggest is to catch a taxi from Sestri levante station, it costs 8 euros.
I thank you for your feedback and wish you all the best.

Regards,
The rude owner 
Ps. Our high scores are for Cleanliness & staff in any web site we are in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    72
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
30
83
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

There was a balcony in our room with nice view towards the green courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhail1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We landed into Genova and we had a wonderful short train trip from Genova to Sestri Levante, very pleasant, give's you the time to adjust into the Italian mode. Once we arrived at the Hotel in less than 15 min by taxi, our holliday finnally started. The check in was fast and usefull. The staff was always great, specially with our son, very natural and safe enviroment. The place is a hidden paradise.Very great value for money. Just 5 min walk to the beach. Very nice swim. Still a bit cold in April, but after 5 min its fine. The food back in the Hotel was delicious and so fresh!!!! The all area has so much to offer. Very pleasant was the relaxing time in the garden during the late afternoon's. Sharing a glass of wine with my wife while our soon was playing in the garden with the other children. I travelled a lot, but I am always very happy every time I've found a place I can happylly go back to.

Room Tip: The bar serve the best cocktails in Italy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanisgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This was a nice, family run little place with great food and a lovely warm atmosphere. It is a short walk to the beach, although the trip back is a 'little' up hill! It's a shared bathroom setup but each room has a sink and a shower cubicle, so it's really not an issue.

The only real downside is that it's quite hard to find, and don't trust your sav nav!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheelspin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Comforatble little budget hotel in a secluded location away from the noise of the main road and railway. Only 5 minutes walk from the Cavi village centre and beach - accessed via steps and quite hard to find. Decent sized rooms with shower/hand basin but toilets shared 1 to 2 rooms. Owners very friendly and helpful - excellent little restaurant open in evenings and others in the village centre. Bus from main road takes you to Sestri Levante in 5 minutes where there are good rail links along the coast including all the Cinque Terra resorts. There is a station in Cavi but not many trains stop there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonraker_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavagna
0.1 mi away
Doria Hotel
Doria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cavi
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#5 of 16 in Lavagna
265 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
#12 of 22 in Sestri Levante
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ancora Riviera
Hotel Ancora Riviera
#4 of 16 in Lavagna
193 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Valentino
Hotel Valentino
#10 of 16 in Lavagna
73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#3 of 22 in Sestri Levante
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineta dell'Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineta dell'Iguana

Property: Pineta dell'Iguana
Address: Via della Pineta 10 | Cavi, 16033, Lavagna, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Lavagna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Lavagna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pineta dell'Iguana 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Con una vista panoramica sulle colline circostanti, il Pineta Dell'Iguana vi attende tra le verdi colline dell'antico borgo peschereccio di Cavi Borgo, in una zona tranquilla tra Portofino e le Cinque Terre.Il Pineta è il punto di partenza ideale per visitare questi paesini pittoreschi e le spiagge locali, raggiungibili a piedi in soli 3 minuti. La stazione ferroviaria di Sestri Levante dista 1,5 km dall'albergo.Alla sera potrete rilassarvi nel giardino della struttura o gustare la deliziosa cucina del ristorante.Tutte le camere sono dotate di una doccia e di un lavabo e alcune presentano inoltre un balcone. Sette camere condividono tre bagni in comune e gli asciugacapelli sono disponibili presso la reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pineta dell'Iguana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineta Dell Iguana Lavagna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing