We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flash but little substance”
Review of Il Fogliano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Fogliano
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Latina
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had to go to Latina on business and was pleasantly surprised when I saw the hotel online. When I arrived, the hotel "look" was as promised -- sleek. modern and good views of the water. Latina in general, however, is not a pretty area and this was most definitely "low" season. The hotel was pretty empty.

I brought by two sons with me (mixing a little business with pleasure) and the hotel really took advantage. I had to book the Jr. Suite since there were three of us and the upcharge for the boys was more than the room rate itself. I would have been better off getting two separate regular rooms.

As to the Jr. suite design, it was not not practical at all. There was no door between my sleep area and the kids' area and my "Queen" bed was a pull out couch -- Not comfortable at all. The overhead lighting for the "hallway" was shared which meant we were all forced to have the same lighting at night.

The closets were so modern, I couldn't reach up to hang my clothes (and I'm 5' 8" tall). I had to use a hanging bar which they provided. Very inconvenient. Also, the electrical outlets were "hidden" and in inconvenient places so it made it extremely hard to use bulky adapters.

Food in the restaurants was extremely overpriced, but the service there was good at least.

Overall, not a good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank writeway00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 152 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were spending our vacation in Rome and wanted a hotel in the Latina Area to spend a few days on the beach and it could not be better. About an hour's drive from Rome, the hotel is small and elegant with its own private beach. The staff are all so hospitable from those greeting you as you walk in to the housekeeping girls who were ever so helpful. We stayed in a suite and had our post at the beach kept for us so there is never the need to rush to the beach as early as possible to ensure sunbeds. The food at the restaurant was superb however; be prepared to wait a while as the restaurant was under staffed which I hope has been sorted out. There are plenty of restaurants near by, just a short walk away for a change. Overall a wonderful stay and I would not hesitate to head over there again for a short break from busy Rome.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floor to get a perfect beach view. The suites are either a large st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leenabahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Surrounded by usual italian (not so high) standard of accommodation and catering you will find something completely different in a good way.
They care a lot of babies too, nothing is a problem for them.
We feel like the staff reads our thoughts, everything worked perfect.
The cleanliness and tidiness of hotel, room and beach is uncompromising too.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Jiri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My husband and I just spent 10 days travelling around Italy and decided to take a last minute trip to the coast -- and we wanted to be close to Rome, our final destination. I searched for luxury hotels and found this amazing gem! It is beautiful! We were treated like special guests, actually like family. The staff could not do enough to make our stay so very wonderful. We only left the hotel to take a walk on the beach and a drive along the coast to the mountain. The rest of the time we just relaxed on the hot tub deck overlooking the sea or on the deck on the beach. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast prepared by an experienced and talented chef, served by a charming and pampering staff. We cannot wait to go back and we rate this as one of our top ten hotels!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fabulous! And definitely have dinner at the restaurant. This is a hotel to just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Small, but modern hotel directly on the beach in Latina, Italy with large spacious rooms. Furnishings in European styling. Rooms have balconies looking out on the Mediterranean Sea. The restaurant was also good with a wide wine selection. Staff was efficient and gracious. Outdoor hot tubs were present, but not yet in season.

Breakfast was included, with eggs, bacon, fruits, juices and a selection of pastries/cakes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmike86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Biagio785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maarten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#4 of 14 in Latina
168 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#2 of 14 in Latina
206 reviews
7.8 mi away
Foro Appio Hotel Mansio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Latina
187 reviews
10.2 mi away
Oasi di Kufra
Oasi di Kufra
#2 of 9 in Sabaudia
461 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Maga Circe
Hotel Maga Circe
#2 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Fogliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Fogliano

Address: Piazzale G. Loffredo , Strada, 04100, Latina, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Latina
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Latina
Price Range: $150 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Fogliano 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Il Fogliano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing