We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to relax”
Review of Hotel Sirio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sirio
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ivrea
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here recently and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is just outside the historical town of Ivrea and is located next to Lake Sirio which you can walk around in about an hour or so. Finding the hotel from the autoroute is a bit of a challenge but there are signposts which got us there (even without the gps). Rooms were spacious and we enjoyed the breakfasts. The views of the mountains and surrounding area are wonderful and if you walk around the lake you will also discover a few restaurants. If your interest is history the ancient Via Francigena runs by the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 157 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

The view overlooking the lake is fantastic, and while the rooms are OK, the beds are generally quite small. The staff are very helpful and the standard continental breakfast is OK. We did not try the restaurant for dinner, but there are a number of good restaurants in and around Ivrea.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We've stayed at the Sirio six times - our first stay was in 1992, and we have been happy to return there each time since then. The hotel is in an out-of-the way location that is very quiet, quite restful, and has a stupendous view. On a warm summer's day, it is pure enjoyment to sit out in the patio and enjoy the view of Lago Sirio, the Alps, and La Serra - the glacial moraine that dominates the near horizon.

Sometime around 2005, the hotel was purchased by Valerie de Corte. She is a charming young lady who as owner/general manager, is working hard to improve and update the hotel and the restaurant. For us, the hotel has become more of a destination - previously it seemed to be more of a place where business travelers could rest their heads when in Ivrea to conduct business. There are probably cheaper places to stay, or more picturesque B&Bs, or more centrally located places, but we simply prefer the Sirio because it nice and it's location is wonderful. We typically stay from 7 to 10 days so we can drive the surrounding region to enjoy the sights and the food.

We have always found the desk staff to be very friendly, personable and helpful. All are fluent in English (a plus since my Italian is abysmal).

The hotel is located in the hills to the North-East of Ivrea, just outside the city, so a car is your best bet for getting to and from the hotel - as well as elsewhere in the surrounding area.

We have always stayed in the mini-suites that are at the end of the building overlooking the entrance and have found them to be excellent. Although the rooms and the furniture are somewhat basic, everything is quite comfortable, extremely clean and very well maintained. The beds are clean, good and firm. One negative is that there is no safe in the room in which you can store your valuables (but, I believe safe deposit boxes are offered at the desk.)

Their breakfasts are really quite good and typically Italian with a good selection of meats, cheeses, granola, breads, tarts, coffee and juices. The original restaurant was gutted in 2007 and the newly renovated Ristorante <<Finch>> replaced it. The offerings were initially numerous and the quality not so good, but they've since reduced the offerings to three or four and their focus on quality is such that the food is now quite delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frammis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We remain incredibly surprised by this hotel : The staff, english fluent speakers, was efficient and gave us full of advice to visit the area and also Turin. The hotel was very good and much more superior of a 3*! All very clean and the restaurant was delightfull with very good wines. The region is beautiful and the view from the room was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_B349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The hotel is not much to look at from the outside, but inside it is trying very hard (and successfully) to look very posh. The rooms are sufficient, with a hint of the 70ies. The staff was overall very nice and fluent in English.

The location of the hotel is a bit iffy, while it is very close to the lake, the part where the hotel is is taken over by the local rowing club (think 'exclusive country club') and one has to walk quite a bit to actually get to the 'free' parts of the lake. But once there, it is very nice.

As for the restaurant, it looks very fancy, the menu sounds very fancy ... and then the food comes .. and .. well .. I was pretty disappointed (By the food, by the service and by the price). Unfortunately there is no other option nearby (unless you take your car)

The internet connection (first 30 mins free, nice) was incredibly slow and not really usable ..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caipirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We were incredibly surprised by this 3* property which truly punches above it's weight. As a starting place to discover the Piedmont region, the Hotel Sirio is ideal, however we would not have discovered half of the regions true attractions without the fantastic service and advice we received from the staff. Attentive, friendly and knowledgeable of the region, they were only too happy to spend time proposing things for us to do, regardless of whether it was the front desk staff or the General Manager. As well as the normal tourist sights of castles and city centers, they were also able to help with proposals for some fantastic local restaurants, little known heritage sights and, in the case of one walk in the valchiusella, an insight into the history of the region and some of the most amazing scenery that we have ever experienced. While the exterior of the property is nothing to write home about, the interior and exterior public spaces are very tastefully decorated and the rooms were welcoming and a decent size with all the amenities you would expect. The lake nearby is perfect for children and there are more than enough cultural centers to accommodate all tastes. Turin and Milan are both about an hour away.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnym_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We spent a great time at Hotel Sirio - Ivrea! The view is wonderful and the dishes of the Finch restaurant very tasty. We particularly enjoyed the marinated beef (antipasto) and the home-cooked pesto sauce! The location is the main force of the hotel: it boasts one of the most beautiful view of the region. The people were all nice, welcoming and helpful. They speak well english! :-) The only - would be for me the lack of soundproof. Fortunately, it is a very quiet place to relax! So it does not bother much.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahdi1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivrea
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Villa
Hotel La Villa
#1 of 3 in Ivrea
204 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banchette
116 reviews
5.1 mi away
Villa d'Azeglio
Villa d'Azeglio
#1 of 1 in Albiano d'Ivrea
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Gardenia
Hotel Gardenia
#1 of 2 in Romano Canavese
161 reviews
3.4 mi away
Castello di Pavone
Castello di Pavone
#1 of 1 in Pavone Canavese
646 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sina Villa Matilde
Sina Villa Matilde
#2 of 2 in Romano Canavese
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sirio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sirio

Address: Via Sirio Lago 85, 10015 Ivrea, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Ivrea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ivrea
Price Range: $77 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sirio 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sirio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirio Hotel Ivrea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing