We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated, but surrounded by cars and crowds”
Review of Hotel Arenella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Arenella
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Isola Del Giglio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We chose the Arenella as a quiet hotel with its own little beach, despite its bad Tripadvisor press - mostly criticising its director and service. The truth was in all ways the opposite. We did not get the room we thought we had reserved; the staff and later the director were charming and apologetic, but the hotel was full so we could not move rooms, so we agreed to stay one night and review the situation next day. We took our bags up the windi8ng steps to our room and went to explore the beach. It is a 15 minute walk down a steep road crowded with cars. The beach is indeed small (and sandy) but it, too, is crowded with people. You can hire beach chairs and umbrellas for about 20€ per day; the hotel doesn't even provide beach towels..We walked back, dejected. We had been told that the hotel had no restaurant and had no problem with that because we had a car and it is only about 3Km to Giglio Porto. But Arenella now has a vegan restaurant which really was quite tasty.
That night, a family and their baby decided to have an all-night party on the terrace outside our bedroom. Before breakfast (good buffet with ham and cheese and the usual breads and pastries, but terrible coffee) we decided to leave.
We decamped to the Hermitage (I'll review it in a few minutes).
My advice is to avoid Giglio altogether if you want peace and a beach, unless you stay at the Hermitage. And if you do that, don't waste 100€ bringing a car over to the island. Arrange to leave it in Pto San Stefano.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Witshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 315 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2007

Just out of Giglio Porto about 2 miles is a side road to a small rocky beach. On this, the Arenella Road, is the Hotel Arenella, perched on multiple levels high above the sea. The hotel and the rooms have a marvelous sense of simple modern Italian design. The views are magnificent. The short walk to the beach is down a steep paved road, or you can drive or take a bus (1 mile away is the stop) or a taxi to a lovely sandy beach at Giglio Campese. The breakfast is simple but adequate. The staff are welcoming, in Italian and English. The only restaurants are in Giglio Porto and Giglio Castello, with some beachside simpler places in Giglio Campese. So you do need to eat in town. The hotel has a navetta (shuttle van), and you can bring a car over on the ferries out of season. Traffic becomes restricted and impossible in July and August.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank picturedesk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: il panorama è migliore dale stanze al piano superiore
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank giovanni c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank oscar19492015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: vista mare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pasqualino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank cecchetm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Break P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isola Del Giglio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castello Monticello
Hotel Castello Monticello
#7 of 10 in Isola Del Giglio
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bahamas
Hotel Bahamas
#4 of 10 in Isola Del Giglio
121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Giardino Delle Palme
Hotel Giardino Delle Palme
#3 of 10 in Isola Del Giglio
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
768 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#5 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
22 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Fontermosa
Hotel Fontermosa
#1 of 20 in Orbetello
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenella

Address: Via Dell'Arenella 5 | Località Arenella, 58012, Isola Del Giglio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Isola Del Giglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Isola Del Giglio
Price Range: $232 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenella 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quando si arriva a L'arenella il primo impatto e con la quiete e la tranquillita capace di sorprenderti anche nei giorni piu affollati d'agosto. Tra i pini mediterranei e gli oleandri c'e una terrazza naturale che si affaccia su una baia turchese orlata di scogli di granito bianco che si specchiano in un'acqua trasparente.All'Isola del Giglio un hotel d'autore perche attraverso un'artista e la sua sensibilita, la pittrice Laura Fiume, l'ospite diventa partecipe del vero senso, della autentica armonia di questi ambienti. L'ospite sara l'ospite della casa, che scoprira ritmi piu lenti ed il gusto dell'ozio.All'interno dell'Isola del Giglio un luogo dell'anima e dello spirito, immerso in una natura piu bella e accogliente. Un hotel di una semplicita raffinata pensato per soddisfare le esigenze di chi ama il mare, il verde, l'arte, il riposo. L'arenella riesce a coniugare esigenze dello spirito e divertimento, desiderio di meditazione e forti stimoli. Un albergo che permette all'ospite di vivere completamente l'ambiente naturale dell'isola donandogli quello "stato" di distacco, di pausa, base di una vera vacanza.L'Hotel Arenella sorge a 300 m dal mare affacciato su una baia caratterizzata da una particolare scogliera, chiamata la "Tartaruga" e da una spiaggetta di finissima sabbia.L'Albergo, curato nel design, e un'isola nell'Isola del Giglio dove poter trovare tranquillita; luogo ideale dove organizzare giorni speciali: battesimi, prime comunioni, matrimoni, ricevimenti, cene aziendali, party, convegni ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Arenella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenella Hotel Isola Del Giglio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing