We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing for a 4 star Hotel”
Review of Iseo Lago Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iseo Lago Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Iseo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2011

On the surface the Iseolago is a smart, well-appointed hotel, but our overall holiday experience was generally poor. The bedroom (a twin in place of the expected double) and bathroom were smaller than expected. The friendly but overstretched staff seemed unable to serve the different needs of holiday guests such as ourselves and the delegates at the various conferences and meetings hosted by the hotel, and we often came a poor second. The hotel location seemed ideal at first, out of town but within reasonable walking distance, but it is surrounded by busy camp sites and car parks with all the associated disturbance. Another particular noise problem was the bedroom doors which, even if you try, cannot be closed without a loud bang. The food was ok but probably not 4 star.
So to sum up we had very little sleep, in unwanted twin beds in a smaller than expected bedroom. We had average food and average service in an expensive hotel which is easily capable of offering much more. We would not stay here again, though we may very well return to the Lake Iseo area which is delightful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank atlantic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 502 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had the chance to stay in this hotel thanks to a smartbox offer and we really enjoyed our stay.
The hotel is elegant and the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the hotel staff is very helpful and despite having arrived on a very busy period of the year (Franciacorta festival) and the hotel was fully booked, everybody was kind and helpful suggesting us what to do in the surroundings.
Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, we had to wait a couple of more hours but to make up for the delay we were offered a drink in the hotel bar that we had later in the evening at the bar.
There is the chance to book a bike and reach Iseo which is really 5 minutes away, that is definitely the best solution since the village is small and good to be visited by bike.
The hotel spa is not very big but nice and cosy with sauna, Turkish bath and 3 different showers. The Spa staff organizes switches so to let the hotel clients get some time (1 hour 30 minutes more or less) to enjoy it. Inside there is just a corner with a few teabags to choose from (when we arrived in mid afternoon they were almost finished, so maybe you can ask the reception to do a refill).
As concerns the bar it is nice and cozy, we just had the chance to have an aperitivo with just a few olives and chips, so nothing really fancy for a 4 stars hotel but the wine was good.
There is also a big garden and a swimming pool, a little park with some amenities for the kids so you can enjoy a glass of wine or a book or just a walk in the gardens or in the patio.
We didn't try the restaurant but we had breakfast in the morning and I can tell you're just spoilt for choice. There is a very rich buffet you can choose from, with fresh food refilled, hot and cold dishes, fruit juices, cakes, biscuits, cheese, ham, scrambled eggs, bacon, tea, coffee and all the usual things you find in an international hotel. You won't be disappointed for sure!
The hotel is in a very peaceful area so I strongly recommend hiring the bikes or, if you have a car, you will be just minutes away from the town, the lake and all the possible trips.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had the best week in Italy with family and friends for our Davids wedding to Annie in Sarnico off Lake Iseo.
The hotel was very good, very friendly and had all we needed there. I think all who stayed there had a pleasant experience too.
This was a superb way to have a wedding. The organisers are fabulous and made it so special. Thanks to all- we would not change a thing.

Room Tip: Our room was basic -just a double room but it suited us very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janbarrmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here for 11 nights on a half board basis having noted the tour operator’s description of the facilities offered for what was described as a 66 room four star hotel. Indeed the hotel has the stated number of rooms BUT its facilities cater for the hundred or so self catering rooms/chalets which also occupy the hotel’s site. This meant that for much of our stay the pool area was overcrowded and, despite the three pools on site, left us unable to have a swim mid to late afternoon on most days.
That said, the hotel itself is rather good. The majority of the staff are very pleasant and helpful. Check in was effortless the room was not large but was certainly big enough for our requirements, towels and toiletries were sufficient and robes and slippers provided free of charge for using the spa facilities. The spa is a rather underwhelming, consisting of a one small sauna, one small steam room and a dark room containing a Jacuzzi and a few loungers.
Meals for the half board option were more than adequate in quantity and generally of good quality. For those having prepaid half board there is also the option to take a la carte with a €20 discount. Service in the restaurant was excellent as was that in the bar. Drinks are always served with more nibbles (olives/nuts etc.) than you’d need especially before dinner!
The grounds of the hotel are pleasant enough and guests are provided with a key with which to access the nearby lido. We found this to be useful for a pleasant stroll early morning or late afternoon although during the day in the high season we were told that the area of the lido closer to the lake can get crowded.
The short walk into Iseo town is, indeed, short but is usually busy not especially pleasant and follows the main road and cycle track. We found it easier to cross the road and use the near-deserted pavement on the other side! There is no lake-side path to follow until you reach the town. That said, it does only take about ten minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank EbenezerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I’m really not sure what I think of this hotel, I expect hotels of this star to have a bath, and I for one need a bath for when I am on holiday, as holidays generally involve a bit of walking and I need to soak (due to a bad back) after a days sight seeing. The shower was also too small for my hubby broad shoulders. The room was great though; we had a garden room with balcony and could hear the dulcet tones of the he-di-hi tannoy from the caravan park at the back.

I’m not too sure about the breakfast, we came down about 8am, after a slight lie in to find things were running out and not replaced. We also struggled a little to get cutlery, cups etc. although a pot of tea is easy as there is a hot water tank with various types of tea bags to make it yourself, although at four star, perhaps you expect it made for you.

We had non-alcoholic cocktails from the bar which was more like a soft drink for a child which was slightly bemusing, although the Irish coffee I had after a night out was lovely. I also have to comment on the staff. Really sorry I don’t know her name, but the lady receptionist who was pregnant sorted out a visit to the ‘last supper’ for us as we were having problems with the contact phone number. The receptionist booked it for us including the guided tour, which all went really well and if she were ever to read this, thank you very much.

The hotel was excellently located and the car park was right out in front and never too busy. We arrived for a weekend stay so everywhere was busy, but thankfully not too busy. There are a few places to eat a more formal meal in the town, but it’s mainly bars for cocktails and small meals and nibbles. Although with your drinks you get rather a lot of nibbles which seems to be the custom in Northern Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Nice hotel within easy walking distance from center of Iseo. Standard rooms rather small + shower only. Better to stay in one of the junior suites or garden rooms.
Don't do half board here! Breakfast is ok, but the HB formulas isn't up to a 4-star standard at all. You can better go for the a-la-carte at the restaurant or even better, go to the excellent Osteria Cascina Doss just down the road (better speak a few words Italian here, although they try to make themselves understood). And in the center of Iseo there's an abundance of restaurant (mostly trendy ones).
A shame that even at 4-star hotels the whole 'towel reservation system' at the swimming pool is in place, with especially Italian families taking up most of the chairs and then going off for a long lunch + siesta. Even families with young children can't benefit from the shade of an umbrella as it is reserved for 'la mama'.
On a Sunday the place is crowded due to the next door lido & camping being swamped by locals and would better be avoided then. And if you plan on walking into town that day, better be at your Sunday's best as it is still a big tradition here. Monday it's all peaceful and quiet again.
Helpfull reception staff who provide you the necessary information when you ask.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agent_travelling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We were loking for a quiet, 4 or 5 star hotel with good food and wine and decided to take a half-board gamble on this hotel as there seemed to be few reviews by English people on Tripadvisor to guide us.
Whatever the brochures say and whatever the hotel website says, this is a hotel surrounded by full campsites, carparks and a lido. On our last night, the noise from some sort of mass youngster celebration kept us awake until the early hours. The hotel is reasonably situated for pretty Iseo which is a ten minute walk away along a level surface.
The plus factors were the cleanliness of the bedroom and bathroom, the good food and the pleasantness and efficiency of the staff, especially the female waitresses. The inside of the hotel was comfortable, typically Italian in style, all wood,wallpaper and chintz.
Conversely, the bedroom was small, in need of refurbishment and with typical little annoyances such as a wall light )not working (difficult to read at night) and the pins of the television plug being too thick for the socket on the wall (presumably one had to ask for an adaptor and we couldn'be bothered as TV was not high on our priorities). On arrival, no information was given as to mealtimes, there was nothing on this in the rooms, there were insufficient hangarsand we had to go back to reception to ask for a key to the safe. The overall impression was that of an easy come, easy go mangement that compares unfavourably with 4 star hotels trying to maintain custom. Everything should be just so for newly arriving guests. It always counts with first impressions.
Overall, the hotel was pleasant and peaceful until you went outsideat the back. Do not be seduced by brochure and website pictures of peaceful swimming pool areas, most of the time it was bedlam. This was a result of the fact that the hotel has a large number of self-catering apartments for families at the rear of the hotel. Families quite rightly want swimming pools. Thus, there were inflatables and balls everywhere. We tried to swim but were hit on the head by a ball. At the weekends the crowds got worse, reinforced by an influx of local Italians. There was no check on pool activities, no exclusivity to hotel guests, an insufficiency of sunloungers, insufficient mattresses for the loungers that were available and some pretty tatty looking parasols. Don't even try the Lido (for which Iseo guests have free entry) unless you enjoy a holiday and a swim with the masses.
The hotel suffers from a lack of a sense of its own identity. There were only a handful of guests staying on half-board. There were business people, conference people and touring people, just passing through and looking for an overnight stop, plus of course, the self caterers.
Don't get me wrong, we enjoyed our holiday by getting out into a lovely area every day and by returning to a splendid meal with the local wine at the end of the day. It's just that we wouldn't go to this hotel again nor could we totally recommend it to other peace-loving half-board seeking guests.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LawmanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iseo
0.7 mi away
Borgolago Suites Hotel
11.6 mi away
Hotel Lovere Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Cocca Hotel Royal Thai Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Araba Fenice
Hotel Araba Fenice
#1 of 1 in Pilzone
325 reviews
2.1 mi away
Empire Resort Hotel
Empire Resort Hotel
#2 of 5 in Clusane sul Lago
110 reviews
2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Relais Mirabella Iseo
Romantik Hotel Relais Mirabella ...
#1 of 5 in Clusane sul Lago
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iseo Lago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iseo Lago Hotel

Address: Via Colombera 2, 25049, Iseo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Iseo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Iseo
Price Range: $123 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iseo Lago Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The aroma of the wine of Franciacorta, the green of the natural reserve "Torbiere del Sebino", the host of the historic center: in this contest rich in art and gastronomic traditions, borns the Iseolago Hotel. Thanks to the exclusive and privileged location the complex can easily open up to international tourism. On one hand, ends itself as an excellent base for who wants to visit the most touristic cities of the northern italy (Milan, Bergamo, Verona, Mantua, Venice), on the other hand the hotel is an ideal place for a holiday in one of the most beautiful natural areas. A large park, a dock on the lake, three swimming pools, the wellness centre "Le Ninfe del Lago", the congress centre and the restaurant "L'Alzavola", makes the Iseolago Hotel an ideal location for conference, work moments and leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iseo Lago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing