We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fattoria San Lorenzo
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Grosseto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed in August and it felt very private despite the fact that it was full. Guests are spread out across the large estate in three main areas and each of these areas has its own swimming pool. The pools are great and safe for kids. Rooms are clean and well equipped. The people running Fattoria San Lorenzo are incredibly friendly and helpful and gave us good advice for places to visit and helped us quickly with any questions and issues. I recommend the beach at the National Park of Maremma, which didn't feel too crowded even in August, and Talamone and Cala Violina if you're visiting at a quieter time of year. It's not the cheapest place to stay but is really enjoyable and represents good value.

Room Tip: We stayed in an appartment in the Pozzino area which was quiet and had a great pool.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Fattoria San Lorenzo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 220 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

The perfect base for a family stay exploring Southern Tuscany and the Maremma area..........great pool, not too crowded, and lovely staff who were always really helpful with any request, even when we needed help in explaining how to pay an Italian parking ticket!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at Fattoria San Lorenzo in April 2013 and had a fantastic experience. Although we were aware that a car would be useful we decided not to hire one and managed extremely well. The estate itself is beautiful and perfect for walks. The grounds are very well maintained and all the facilities are clean and new. There is an Italian restaurant on-site and a German restaurant (great food and beverages + decor) within walking distance. We also used a local bus to get to other villages (I particularly recommend Castiglione della Pescaia) and even managed to visit the breathtaking Maremma National Park. Isacco was extremely helpful and very dedicated to making us feel as welcome as possible. Thoroughly recommended! Will be going back in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 186338MonicaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Fattoria San Lorenzo was brilliant! Exceedingly relaxing couple of nights in an idyllic farm-side location. Helpful, knowledgable staff; beautifully maintained accommodation, pools and surrounds; Kids swam both days (in November!) and scootered around the place – including over to the working farm behind the property. Close-by Conad supermarket is very useful and has everything you need to be self-sufficient – and the ability to have you on private BBQ is a bonus. Needless to say we didn't try the restaurant. But it is true, you do need a car if you stay here!

A couple of suggestions: put anti-scrape pads on the bottom of the dining chairs to stop the noise from some inconsiderate next door neighbours travelling at night – and add a bit more lighting in the living area to make it feel a little less gloom...even when the sun is shining. Aside from these very small gripes, we would thoroughly recommend it as a great family base to explore nearby Maremma NP, Saturnia and Grosseto.

Room Tip: corner rooms would be brighter and perhaps quieter, given you only have neighbours on one side...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themclagans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have just come back from Fattoria San Lorenzo and we have got very mixed feelings about this place! The bangalows are very nice, good size accomodation, nice patio, clean, very welcoming. There were no cleaning services though and we had to empty the bins ourselves and take the rubbish away every day. We were supposed to be able to use WIFI services, but that did not work for 5 days (we stayed for 8 nights). Once it eventually started working we were told we had three hours to use and then would get charged if we used any more. One night we had no electricity for the most of the evening and the night, which also meant no hot water.
Bear in mind this place is in the middle of nowhere! There is nowhere to walk ... you MUST drive everywhere. We travelled with a small child and expacted to be able to go for long walks in beautiful surroundings. It has never happened! It took us 10 minutes to walk from our bangalow to the main road with no lights and that was the end of it.
Breakfast ....misunderstanding! It was very disappointing and well overpriced! We ordered breakfast which was supposed to be served on the patio. Once we got up in the first morning we found the basket with rolls, ham and cheese, jam, honey and nutella and two apples in it. There was also coffee and milk. We had to use plates, cups and cutlery from the bagalow and then wash them ourselves. We eventually cancelled it as we eded up going to the supermarket and buying fresh rolls, fruit and veg every morning anyway. It was very kind of them though to let us cancel it!!!! Both the gentleman and the lady at the reception were very helpfull!

There are two restaurants nearby. Fattoria San Lorenzo one was nice. The food was good but very limited choices. The other restaurant (do not remember the name) serves German beer, German food and plays German music ... in Italy .... great!!!

We will not be coming back to Fattoria San Lorenzo for obvious reasons. We will however come back to Tuscany which is beautiful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorota K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed 4 nights, young children next door we just mentioned to Stephanie the house manager, she told Isaac the reception manager who came straight over to move us to a bigger apartment!! Le Capenne so quiet, pool very good grounds maintained so well. In the beautifullcountryside. Eat at restaurant 2 nights, very good food and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Le Capenne very good
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at the Fattoria San Lorenzo in May. The accommodation was in a first floor one bedroom apartment in Le Capanne which is a short drive away from the main reception block of the complex.
The first floor apartment consisted of a large open plan sitting / dining / kitchen area with hob and micro wave, adequate crockery and cutlery. Satellite TV provided useful channels such as BBC World News and a number of movie channels. The bedroom was of a good size as was the bathroom which, it must be said, was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
Probably a bit remote if you don’t have a car but if you do it is ideally located being close to a huge shopping centre with Conad supermarket and also to Grossetto itself. It is also very handy for the coast, some twenty minutes drive away. Castigliagni della Pescaia in particular is well worth a visit; a sea side town that .
The management team of Isacco and Serena were very welcoming and helpful.
The pool area and gardens are immaculately maintained.
All in all we had a very relaxing week’s break at a very reasonable price. Anyone wanting a quiet holiday would do well to book Fattoria San Lorenzo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turkophileabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grosseto
3.6 mi away
Fattoria Maremmana
Fattoria Maremmana
#1 of 22 in Grosseto
253 reviews
7.6 mi away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#2 of 22 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
341 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Resort Le Due Ruote
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ricci Hotel
Ricci Hotel
#4 of 8 in Marina di Grosseto
211 reviews
17.2 mi away
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
Golf Hotel Punta Ala
#3 of 5 in Punta Ala
664 reviews
13.2 mi away
Borgo Magliano Resort
Borgo Magliano Resort
#1 of 1 in Magliano in Toscana
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria San Lorenzo

Address: Via della Trappola, 58100, Grosseto, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Grosseto
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Grosseto
Price Range: $67 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fattoria San Lorenzo, with its 450-hectare estate and 3 farmhouses, offers 38 comfortable holiday homes in Maremma. There apartments with two, three or four rooms, with private entrances, swimming pools next to each house, green areas and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fattoria San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing