We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Holiday Accommodation at a Very Reasonable Rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria San Lorenzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fattoria San Lorenzo
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Grosseto
Certificate of Excellence
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday Accommodation at a Very Reasonable Rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at the Fattoria San Lorenzo in May. The accommodation was in a first floor one bedroom apartment in Le Capanne which is a short drive away from the main reception block of the complex.
The first floor apartment consisted of a large open plan sitting / dining / kitchen area with hob and micro wave, adequate crockery and cutlery. Satellite TV provided useful channels such as BBC World News and a number of movie channels. The bedroom was of a good size as was the bathroom which, it must be said, was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
Probably a bit remote if you don’t have a car but if you do it is ideally located being close to a huge shopping centre with Conad supermarket and also to Grossetto itself. It is also very handy for the coast, some twenty minutes drive away. Castigliagni della Pescaia in particular is well worth a visit; a sea side town that .
The management team of Isacco and Serena were very welcoming and helpful.
The pool area and gardens are immaculately maintained.
All in all we had a very relaxing week’s break at a very reasonable price. Anyone wanting a quiet holiday would do well to book Fattoria San Lorenzo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkophileabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    58
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
86
45
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Having spent time reading reviews prior to going, we thought it necessary to write this review for the people who are unsure or would like to know a little more. We flew to Pisa, hired a car & drove to Grosseto. The place was easy to find, please note that the reception isn't signposted from the main road, but is located near to the Casa Livia restaurant, so took us a little longer to work out. The staff were fantastic, telling us virtually everything we needed to know. Little things were missed out, like breakfast...we assumed we had booked breakfast that this would arrive every day, however the first day you get the standard croissants, rolls & coffee, with a sheet you have to fill in, to let them know what you would like after that. We was happy with what we had, so didn't fill the sheet in, and ended up with no brekkie the next day. When asked they would of sorted breakfast out for us that morning. So more lack of communication/confusion on both sides.
We stayed in the Double Deluxe 2 pax apartment, which I have to say, was fantastico. Nice, clean, modern, all ammenities, could have not asked or hoped for more. 2 bedrooms with 2 single beds in each, an upstairs bathroom with shower, as well as a downstairs bathroom with shower. The pool was unheated, which for us brits, meant it was freezing in May, still nice to relax around tho.
We went to the restaurant twice, the staff were very welcoming, & the food, was very nice. Not many choices as you would get from English restaurants but food was very nice all the same. From where we was staying, it was approx a mile along a straight road, but was nice to walk it, & therefore we both could enjoy a bottle of wine.
Bikes are available, but only for use on site. Well, you can go off site, however they recommend you don't for your safety. If you do, you have to sign a disclaimer, as they are responsible otherwise.
Generally, we would say this is a very good place to stay. We would definately stay here again. It caters for all, families, couples, & friends. It is a good base to visit southern Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Getz_si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

we stayed here on april 2013 while driving from Rome to Pisa, clean and tidy, great room, great sense for privacy and the location is a must see, the only dowsize is that you have to go out the room to get some wifi signal, but it's a great experience overall

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Javierccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicente Lopez, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed overnight while driving from Florence to Sorrento and after seen the place and tasting the food, we regretted not staying there more time. The rooms are very comfortable, the pool and pool area very nice, it is inside a farm or ranch of about 400 hectares and the restaurant is wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PepeHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grossensee, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent a great time at Casa Livia. The house was nicely furnished and the manager did everything to help us with whatever we needed. The weather was still warm so our children could enjoy the beautiful pool which was still open. We also appreciated the breakfast service - each morning, we found fresh rolls and croissants on our terrace. We would definitely recommend Fattoria San Lorenzo for a stay at this time of the year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccamarie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have been in San Lorenzo for about the 7th time this year, which says a lot about our passion for this place. The entire complex is well maintained and permanently refurbished. The reception is not only very friendly and customer focussed but also helpful in many respect. Every year we see some not only small changes in the furniture or equipment of the apartment. The kitchen is well equipped and offers sufficient devices even for quite comprehensive cooking. The place is well located in a distance of about 10km from a nice beach. Also, it is a good starting point for city tours to Roma, Sienna, Firenze or Pisa. Besides, Grosseto is a charming small town nearby. The restaurant at the site has a new chef since this season and has reached a very adavanced level - we enjoyed it much! For sure: we will be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank von Detten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent a great week at Fattoria San Lorenzo last summer. The people from reception are very kind and extremely helpful. Not only to give advice on restaurants or places to visit, they did a great job sorting out a doctor's visit one day our daughter was sick and kept checking if we were OK. They also attendeed every request to fix little things (like changing a light bulb or checking on a malfunctioning dishwasher) very quickly and properly. This is great when you're with kids and want a restful holiday.
The apartments are very comfortable, having air conditioning in Italian summers is a plus, beds were good and large (which is not a standard in Southern Europe) and the kitchen is well equipped. Most apartments have a barbecue as well. The whole property is very beautiful, the swimming pool is great, large enough for all the guests and surrounded by green and plenty of shadow when the Tuscan sun gets just too much. Even in high season, you have a fairly quiet stay, as the separate terraces allow for some little privacy, and the guests (families) were nice and proper too, a mix of Italian, French, German and Dutch tourists.
There's a shopping mall 2' away by car, with an excellent supermarket and other facilities (also to get yummy gelati!), a welcome break to do your groceries in a cool place while it's very hot outside. We had dinner at the Fattoria one night and it was great too, but what was really fantastic: the fresh bread service every morning at your door.
The beach is about 10km away. We went one day, but it was very crowdy, so we decided to enjoy the swimming pool the rest of the days. There's a lot to do and lovely towns to visit in the area, like Montepescali (try Osteria Pizzeria Sotto Le logge!). Great to have a car to see all these places, although a more suitable plan for other seasons: summer temperatures are just too high to do much more than chilling by the swimming pool or under the trees shadow.
Only thing to keep in mind: if your apartment is close to the entrance, you may hear the road traffic closeby, which is a pitty if you're looking for a totally quiet, rural vacation. Otherwise, an excellent accommodation to discover the Maremma region.

Room Tip: Almost all apartments have their own terrace, except for a few (the older ones). On the other hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deCBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grosseto
4.3 mi away
Fattoria Maremmana
Fattoria Maremmana
#1 of 22 in Grosseto
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
2.6 mi away
Agriturismo le Due Ruote
6.4 mi away
Ricci Hotel
Ricci Hotel
#4 of 8 in Marina di Grosseto
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Airone
Hotel Airone
#3 of 22 in Grosseto
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bastiani
Grand Hotel Bastiani
#6 of 22 in Grosseto
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Rosmarina
Hotel Rosmarina
#2 of 8 in Marina di Grosseto
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria San Lorenzo

Property: Fattoria San Lorenzo
Address: Via della Trappola, 58100, Grosseto, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Grosseto
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Grosseto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fattoria San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fattoria San Lorenzo, with its 450-hectare estate and 3 farmhouses, offers 38 comfortable holiday homes in Maremma. There apartments with two, three or four rooms, with private entrances, swimming pools next to each house, green areas and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fattoria San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing