We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish in a lovely ambience”

Ristorante Buca di San Lorenzo
Ranked #52 of 391 Restaurants in Grosseto
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fish in a lovely ambience”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Situated near the wall of the old city (follow the blue electric sign ) this lovely restaurant offers an interesting menu. The fish sampler was original and offered some surprising twists. The fish was fresh and cooked in the oven. The tuna a bit on the salty side. We were offered some really good Tuscan red Sangiovese wine well worth the 15 euro. You will enjoy the teramisou.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danseid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    61
    8
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was our third choice since both our favorite Michelin star places in the area were closed.
We were a bit disappointed by the fact that it is mainly a seafood restaurant, and being the sailors we are we thought that the only place to eat seafood was our sea-side hometown, but boy were we wrong... We allowed the owner to let us try their tapas style app assortment (they don't call it that, but that's what it is...) and we picked three pasta dishes. If you go do NOT miss the smoked bottarga carbonara and the black tagliolini with truffle, shrimp and asparagus.
Great flavors perfectly balanced, delicate presentation, a bottle of local red, friendly but professional service, very fair price. Not for the conservative eater, no big bowls of fried seafood here, just good, inspired small plates.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theozz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good food and friendly staff”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our villa owner recommended this restaurant on the edge of the old part of Grosseto. Located in cellars down a flight of stairs the restaurant provided a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere for our family meal. The menu leaned towards fish dishes with a few additional meat based plates also available, although the night we visited was "fish only". Not that this was a problem with an excellent range based on the fresh fish brought in that day. I had a Frita mixta which featured three fish types lightly cooked and very yummy. If anything the pasta and fish dishes faired even better with some very tasty combinations being enjoyed by the rest of the group. Deserts were also excellent as was the coffee. Service at all times was charming and very friendly although communicating in English was a little restricted. All in all though a strong recommendation for this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnonFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good food, right in the center of Grosseto”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Following the tripadvisor reviews, we went to Buca di San Lorenzo and had a very nice evening.

The entrance looks a little dark at night but the restaurant has quite the ambiance in this restorated old cellar. From the tables to the glasses and plates, everything looked good.

The service was friendly, and the food delicious. Had a black pasta with tuna fish. My wife had a good tortelli ragu, although the sauce was a bit strong.
The sliced beef for secondo (tagliata chianina?) was delicious too. The wine I had was the best Morellino di Scansano I've tasted so far, too bad I can't remember the label ;)

I would recommend this place to people looking for a place right in the center of Grosseto with great atmosphere and serves good food and wine.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spazmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaiole in Chianti
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Speciality fish in a place with great ambience.”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This was our first trip to Grosseto and found this by accident. It is in an ancient cellar with great ambience and the service very helpful. They specialise in fish but there is a full menu. We shared the antipasto - seafood influence - and would have that again any time.
The other diners all seemed to be locals -Saturday lunch - and that's always a good sign. Medium priced.
If you are in Grosseto, check this one out.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Buca di San Lorenzo also viewed

Grosseto, Province of Grosseto
Grosseto, Province of Grosseto
 
Grosseto, Province of Grosseto
Grosseto, Province of Grosseto
 
Grosseto, Province of Grosseto
Grosseto, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Ristorante Buca di San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing