We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas 2013”
Review of Hotel Plan Bois

Hotel Plan Bois
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Plan Bois
Ranked #11 of 12 Gressan B&B and Inns
Shannon, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“christmas 2013”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have just returned for our Christmas Trip to Pila. 2 families, great location, we could ski back directly to the hotel, kids really enjoyed exploring and playing in the snow in the garden, also they had great fun in the play room with all the other children in the evening times. The staff were all very friendly, nothing was too much trouble, food was typical Italian and got better as the week went along. We would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a great family friendly, quiet location with beautiful views. We intend to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were probably here the week after the previous reviewer and can concur with most of what he/she says. We came as a family of three plus boyfriend on a self organised trip.. This is a true Italian family run hotel (not some bland ski resort hotel). The two rooms we had were both very well sized with TV (inc DVD player). Rooms were very warm despite -13 temperatures. The welcome by both the owner and all the staff was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble. The Hotel was full and busy during our visit but we never had anything but the staff's full attention at all times. I cannot quite understand the little niggles about the food expressed by previous reviewers, half board was a 4 course meal, the starter was a buffet where you could eat as much as you liked, the following two courses were served dishes of pasta/meat/fish then finally a small sweet course. The dishes were basic but we never ended the meal other than full. The wine selection was good too. We ate in the pizzeria on a couple of lunchtimes, it is not 'next door' it is part of the hotel, and the pizzas were superb. The slope is right next to the hotel, albeit with a little uphill walk (10m!!) which was quite good for warming the muscles). The nearest ski lift is then 100m downhill or you can walk the 100m and climb a few steps to the slope/lift. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frank_and_family_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We travelled to the Plan Bois with Crystal Ski and it is a warm and comfortable hotel, especially since the bar and reception area have been improved since my last visit 2 years ago. The hotel is is an ideal location for one of the main chairlifts but it is a bit of a walk on the piste to the centre where there is a decent bar - the Grimod. The staff are very friendly and helpful at the hotel. Ski lockers are wire cages located in the basement and are specific to each room and they can be made secure if you bring the lock.
The quality of the food was a slight area concern and it did seem to of a lower standard than my last visit. The starter buffet was the best in that it was ample and there was a reasonable choice but other courses varied in quality and were often not hot - being served on cold plates did not help. This was a pity as everything else about this hotel has something to recommend it and they have a great pizza restaurant next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldilocks_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

a week in a quiet place with good skiing and a great friendly atmosphere .very cosy hotel,nice and quiet at night.right next to the slopes.the walk down and back up into the town is ok but you will not miss out on anything should you choose not to go down there.the mountain restaurants are nice friendly and good value.this hotel had the major let down of the food,breakfast was poor with stale bread and evening meal was generally poor with desert being cake or fruit.i understand the owner has contracted the catering out which is a big mistake.the food in the pizza place attached to the hotel is very good which is a surprise as its so poor in the hotel.
worth a trip into aosta on your lift pass as lots of roman ruins .the piste is very well maintained and have never skied on better slopes however it was very cold .good holiday let down by the poor hotel food.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank neilandsam40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had a great week here. Lovely, friendly hotel right on the piste (30sec walk across the car park to the Chairlift). The food (both in the hotel and next door in the Pizza Restaurant) was the best on the mountain. Home cooked Italian food and lots of it.
Our room was immaculately clean (and cleaned every day) and huge - plenty of space for everything and piping hot water on demand. Downstairs there is a very comfy (almost too comfy!) sitting area and bar.
The only downside to the hotel are as it is on the piste it is a 10 min walk uphill from the centre of Pila. This meant that we Apres Skied in the bar (and had some great nights) and talking to everyone else in the resort we didn't miss a thing!

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor with a balcony overlooking the piste - great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edmund999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The hotel is located at the top end of the resort and is very convenient for the lifts, piste and ski school. It also has a good on site ski hire/service shop and a pizzeria with a sunny patio area which is ideal for a relaxed lunch. Getting to other parts of the resort on foot involves a long trek up and down either the piste or a rather unpleasant road tunnel. We didn't find this a major drawback as, apart from some excellent beginner/intermediate skiing and stunning views, the resort has little else to offer in terms of charm, shopping or entertainment.

We were very happy with our room which was spacious, comfortable and well-equipped with a fridge and hair dryer. The atmosphere in the hotel was friendly and relaxed and the owners were most charming and helpful. The food was not outstanding but was plentiful and generally quite acceptable apart from the dry bread and undrinkable coffee at breakfast. The restaurant service was efficient although, like other reviewers, we did sometimes find it a bit rushed. We thought the prices of drinks and lunches in the hotel and also up the mountain were very reasonable by ski resort standards.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying again for a relatively low budget ski holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grumpyoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

If you like to be first on the piste in the morning ,the position of this hotel is perfect. Breakfast (cereal, ham,egg, bread,cheese, croissants, fruit juice, jam and tea/coffee- same each morning)is at 8 and the lift opens at 8.45. it takes about four minutes from the spacious ski room up a small hill and you are up to the top of the mountain in minutes with the beautifully groomed slopes to yourself!
The food in the evenings was excellent. We had a choice each night and really enjoyed the range of traditional Italian food served; the service was quick and efficient. The bar and lounge area was very cosy with the log fire and we enjoyed chatting to other guests and the friendly owner, Barbara.
We also found that the hotel's own pizza restarant was excellent value at lunchtime with large pizzas for only 5 euros.It was always quiet and there were deckchairs to sit on in the sun trap back garden if you fancied a rest after lunch.
I agree with other comments about the rooms being quite dark due to poor lighting but as not much time is spent in them, this was not a major problem for us and we really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in 408 which had good views of the mountains but if you like the sun during the day ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gressan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Etoile De Neige
Hotel Etoile De Neige
#2 of 6 in Gressan
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Chance
Hotel La Chance
#1 of 6 in Gressan
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Il Giardino dell'Artemisia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ChaletBethere
ChaletBethere
#2 of 2 in Pila
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Au Petit Chevrot
Au Petit Chevrot
#1 of 3 in Gressan
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ciel Bleu Residence
Ciel Bleu Residence
#3 of 3 in Gressan
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plan Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plan Bois

Property: Hotel Plan Bois
Address: Localita Alpila SNC, 11020, Gressan, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gressan
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plan Bois 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Plan Bois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plan Bois Italy/Gressan - Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing