We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Etoile De Neige
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Ignore comments about poor food as it was very good - much better than you would expect in a three star hotel.Soup for starters then a long table full of various salads,meats, pizzas etc.Then a choice of two pasta dishes - both if you wanted them, then a choice of meats eg. veal,pork,chicken,beef rabbit and to finish a choice of three desserts all washed down with a carafe of wine and a bottle of water.
The room was a bit dated except for the bathroom which was bright and modern.We stayed in 315 with a balcony and a fantastic view of the valley. The lighting is poor and yes the heating system can wake you up sometimes in the middle of the night but it was kept clean and served its purpose.
Stair access to the slopes would help but it was not a problem going to the lift which takes about 5 mins.Our boots were kept in a heated room and the skiis in another.
After arrival we were taken to the hire shop for our skiis which was very quick and hassle free and were able to leave them in the hotel on departure for the shop to pick them up.
The host Alessandro- sorry about the spelling if incorrect - was very helpful and Angela in reception is helpful, friendly and efficient.
The skiing was great with wide varied runs and the wife even skied the black but I chickened out!!!!! All runs lead back to the main lift so not a problem with taking a wrong turn.
All in all a great holiday and a hotel that deserves more than its 3 star rating.Buonissimo

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eurwyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 176 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were so looking forward to our recent ski trip to Pila, staying at this hotel. Upon arrival we were allocated a twin room for two in our party which stank of stale cigarette smoke, despite the supposed ' no smoking' policy. Fortunately an alternative room was offered. The rooms were an excellent size but poorly lit. Noisy heating which woke me on various occasions as it kicked in during the night. The food in the morning was adequate but the evening meals poor. We were very disappointed - veal, veal and more veal. No vegetables served with the main course. Potatoes and meat were the main basis for every meal.
The bar area was small and limited. The voucher offer made the drinks reasonably priced but we were made to feel very guilty if we stayed up after 10pm. Our saving grace of the holiday were our fellow skiers who were a lovely friendly bunch.
Access to the slopes must be improved at this hotel before somebody injures themselves. As far as the skiing goes, it's a lovely little resort with a choice of varying reds. Be wary of no. 3 run which has been downgraded from a black. It's not for the nervous intermediate.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank MrsHSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is nice, with a beautiful view over the mountains and the Aosta valley. Contrary to what it says in the hotel information, it is not exactly at the main lifts, which are some 2km away. You can take another lift, closer by, and then get through to the main ski area though. The town of Pila is 1 km away (but you have to take the bus or the car to get there). Aosta is a 18 km drive along windy roads; there is a skilift which takes you to the outs´kirts of Aosta, but the service only runs until 5pm (and the shops open only at 3pm...). We had a room for 4 people (2 adults and 2 children), but it is rather a twin room, with two added beds, one of which was very close to a hot air spreasing, rather noisy heating device. It kept going intermittently whole night, impossible to turn it off as the room would have been too cold. Staff is nice and friendly. Food at breakfast and in the evening was very good.

Room Tip: Instead of taking a quadruple room for 4 people, it might be better to take two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delagioventu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a weeks skiing in Pila staying at the Hotel Etoile de Neige. The hotel is very close to the base of the Chamole lift which gets you up the mountain quickly and allows you to link across to the other lifts. For learners, the nursery slopes are directly beside the hotel.
Skiing equipment can be stored in the hotel.
The rooms in the hotel are warm, functional and kept very clean.
There are sauna facilities for those who want and there is a games room for kids.
Food is very good for the price; buffet breakfast with choices of cereals, cheeses and meats, breads and preserves, fruits and cooked options. Dinner is a four course affair and offers good choices.
The bar is reasonably priced.
Public areas are fine, although they can get a little noisy as the hotel caters for school groups and families who have a different attitude toward controlling their children compared to those of us from the UK.
Staff in the hotel were friendly, polite, helpful and take an obvious pride in their work.
We would be happy to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidandLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Fabulous family run hotel with great staff superb food and excellent service located 2 minutes from the Chamole Chair lift
Angela and Alexandre were excellent hosts and nothing was too much of a problem.
We enjoyed the benefits of their 'Big Vouch' ( in effect making the drinks half price ) I would recommend it highly to anyone visiting Pila :)!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dodgyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed in this hotel and we were not disappointed!! We felt welcome from the moment we checked in, we were up in the eaves rooms (which we had requested as the last hotel we stayed in in Pila was quite noisy due to thin walls!) The only thing with the eaves room is the giant beam running through it which creates some funny near misses if you are over 5 feet tall, but having said that, the rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was lovely too. When I asked for an extra pillow it was no problem and was delivered pretty much straight away.
The food was excellent with a choice of cereal, croissants, many different jams as well as eggs and bacon. Evening meal was even better, a salad buffet to start, then your choice of four different dishes all served carvers style so you could have as little or as much as you want!! Wine is also included with the evening meal.
We will defiantly come back to stay again as we love Pila as a resort and now wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jax10798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel itself although lightning in lounge/reception and bedrooms were dim it was cosy and comfortable. Staff excellent service very friendly, happy to help with any query. Quite a walking distance to the nearest supermarket. Evening was spent playing pool, cards. Beer cost 5euro but glass of wine 1.50 euro. Foods were of a 3 star standard. Rooms very clean, bring your own hairdryer if needed. You can control your room temperature. They do have a sauna but we havent tried it. No queues at the lifts except on a Saturday. Red runs very wide and very few people. Be aware its a long ride on the chairlifts where you might starts to feel cold but worth for skiing down the mountains. Fantastic views from the very top. On your last day (through crystal we get 5euro deposit back if you return your ski lift pass at the local office where the cable car is that can also take you down to the lovely little town of Asota. Would recommend it for skiers and snowboarders.

Room Tip: friends who share (3 of them) had a large bathroom suitable for families but storage space are of sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecuri0ustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gressan
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Chance
Hotel La Chance
#2 of 6 in Gressan
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lion Noir
Hotel Lion Noir
#4 of 6 in Gressan
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Esse Pila 2000
Club Esse Pila 2000
#5 of 6 in Gressan
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Des Alpes
Hotel Chalet Des Alpes
#6 of 6 in Gressan
69 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
#1 of 18 in Aosta
309 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
#2 of 17 in Cogne
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Etoile De Neige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etoile De Neige

Address: Frazione Pila 5, 11020, Gressan, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
Price Range: $148 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Etoile De Neige 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Etoile De Neige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Etoile De Neige Italy/Gressan - Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing