We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel on the slopes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Etoile De Neige
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in the beginning of February.
Booked directly with the hotel. Asked and got a room with a view of the slopes and the skiërs on it...
On arrival met the friendly staff and owner.
Broke my leg and had to wait a few days in the hotel before they flew us home.
In the evening when we entered the diningroom the owner loudly announced the breaking of my leg. Very amusing? We don't think so...
Later they never asked us if we needed anything to make our stay less unpleasant while waiting to go home. Friendly and helpful as some of the other reviewers say?
About the hotel: it is indeed a little tired but well situated for an in - out skiïngholiday.
Food is simple but good. Bar area not inviting.
If we go back to Pila in the future we would considere going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flikkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 168 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here in February and had a great time. The hotel, although dated in style, was clean, friendly and in a good position. We could ski in, ski out easy enough. My only complaint about that was the access to the ski & boot room as there was no steps to the slope.
The food was good, a bit limited at breakfast with only scrambled egg and frankfurter sausages for hot breakfast but there was plenty of continental breakfast options. Evening meals were good, large portions and a nice selection of dishes.
The room was spacious and clean. I would have liked a bath but then thats personal preference. Our room overlooked the valley and was quite a view.
There wasn't much to do in the evenings, the bar area in hotel was slightly uncomfortable and there is no apres ski in Pila which is a shame. We took a DVD player but I would have liked to of socialised more in a bar - the nearest one was a good 15min walk across the slopes and even then it wasn't busy. We did the Thomson pub quiz which was great fun and the busiest night. I wouldn't bother with the pizza night to be honest.
The skiing was just perfect for me - wide easy reds with some difficult parts. The slopes were well groomed and easy to access the whole resort. My husband could have done with something more challenging as there were only 3 blacks. For a beginner to advanced skier Pila was excellent, but for an experienced skier it could be too small. I loved it though :o)

Room Tip: Choose the Valley side with spectacular views, neighbours said the slope side rooms were noisy espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bish107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at the Etoile de Neige and will definitely be going back to this lovely little gem of an hotel.The food was fantastic, a very varied antipasti buffet, 2 pasta dishes and soup, and then 2 meat dishes,followed by dessert. The free wine with dinner was very welcome and the bar prices were very good.
As mentioned in earlier reviews the staff were very friendly and transported everyone to and from the ski hire shop and arranged for the equipment to be collected at the end of the holiday.
Dont go to Pila if you want lots of nightlife, save it for those of us who just need good skiing, good food and a clean bed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stumpy229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is a fab little hotel - great location at the foot of the slopes and as said before in other reviews - nothing is too much trouble. We had a few minor issues that were sorted out straight away. Food great - you would need to be a very fussy eater not to find something. The hotel is a little tired and would benefit from a makeover - rooms do not have a hairdryer or a safe but the bathrooms are of a decent size with excellent showers (no baths). Bar prices very good as indeed is the resort - where can you get 4 coffee's in a european ski resort for 6 euros!! Ski school were also doing private lessons for 38 euros per hour and you could add another person for free. Runs were kept in good order even though they were in desperate need of snow - if you want a day off don't miss a trip down to Aosta - fab roman town with local shops and roman ruins as well - you just catch the gondola down which is covered on your ski pass. I would avoid Pila if you want nightlife but as we are of the ski, food and bed variety it didn't bother us. Overall, Pila grew on us over the week - if you are looking for fab value for money (not just the hotel but the resort as well), lovely wide runs that are mainly reds without any steep surprises, and a hotel with fab food and staff and on a clear day with views of the Matterhorn and Mont Blanc - give Pila a go!!!

Room Tip: Slope side for sunny balconies or valley side for fab views down to Aosta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcountryyokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the first week in February 2012, and as a family with children we can't recommend this hotel enough. The food was excellent before the energetic skiing and after! The room was clean and fresh towels were unlimited. Nothing was too much trouble and we can't praise the staff enough, there is plenty for the children to do with the games room and evening entertainment. Our flight was extremely delayed on arrival and we would like to thank the staff for the kindness they showed in putting up a very late evening meal for us. They even took the time out to get us up to the Ski Shop early doors on the first day of our skiing lessons.
If I had only one negative point to make it would be to make sure that you specify a non-smoking room if you are non-smokers as we had a room which must have had a smoker in before us and when we asked to change rooms the hotel was fully booked.
That aside this has not put us off returning to Hotel Etoile De Neige and enjoying the fantastic cocktails served at the bar by reception!
All in all we would definately recommend this hotel if you have a family, here's to 2013.

Room Tip: If you have a family we would recommend the rooms on level 2 at the back of the hotel as they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Have just returned from a fantastic ski holiday at Etoile de Neige. Great location at the bottom of the slopes and courtesy bus to the ski school if you can't manage a blue run down after getting on the chairlift right next to the hotel. Loads of red runs of varying levels so plenty for every ability. Fantastic mountain restaurants with great food and great prices. You can still get a coffee for 1 euro and a pasta dish for 6 euro's for lunch. The hotel is right on the slopes and if you choose a room with the view of the pistes you get the sun on the balcony all day. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, we had 3 in our room and still plenty of room, huge bathroom and loads of hot water. Alessandro and his staff cannot do enough for you. We were given a lift to and from the ski hire shop round the corner from the hotel so we didn't have to carry all the equipment back, and at the end of the holiday you just leave everything in the locker room to be collected! Also needed to go to the Pharmacie during our stay and when we asked at reception for directions, the staff gave us a lift there too! The food in the restaurant was really good, plenty of choice, hot and loads of it!!! Free drinks through your meal too which was a nice touch. Overall, we just couldn't fault this hotel and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants a smaller resort, quieter location but fantastic accommodation and ski-ing. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richardsonfamily99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The hotel is in a fab location, and is only a short walk to the chairlift but you can ski right back to the door.
The hotel has everything you need, the rooms are huge and cleaned daily and the bar downstairs is well stocked. But on one occasion a few of us decided to stay up and have a few more drinks, but we were told the bar was shut (even though it was only 11.20pm, a full 40 minutes from the stated closing time of 12!!)
Also don't expect too much from the food, although the food is ok it is served buffet style so it is all laid out by the time the dinner doors open at 7.30pm, so pretty much nine out of ten times by the time you get to your starter or main course the food is luke warm.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLG1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gressan
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Chance
Hotel La Chance
#1 of 6 in Gressan
323 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
3.4 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 2 in Pollein
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Alla Posta
9.8 mi away
Hotel Beau Sejour
Hotel Beau Sejour
#1 of 2 in Etroubles
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Esse Pila 2000
Club Esse Pila 2000
#4 of 6 in Gressan
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Etoile De Neige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etoile De Neige

Address: Frazione Pila 5, 11020, Gressan, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
Price Range: $163 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Etoile De Neige 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Etoile De Neige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Etoile De Neige Italy/Gressan - Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing