We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Etoile De Neige
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valtur Pila(Gressan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rendez-Vous(Aymavilles)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
86
72
22
8
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
72
22
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsetoile de neigethe ski hire shopsoupscrambled eggspastachair liftchamole liftmain coursegood sizeevening mealgames roomski schoolski hotelice creamsmall fridgeaosta valleyhouse wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 188 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The hotel is in a fab location, and is only a short walk to the chairlift but you can ski right back to the door.
The hotel has everything you need, the rooms are huge and cleaned daily and the bar downstairs is well stocked. But on one occasion a few of us decided to stay up and have a few more drinks, but we were told the bar was shut (even though it was only 11.20pm, a full 40 minutes from the stated closing time of 12!!)
Also don't expect too much from the food, although the food is ok it is served buffet style so it is all laid out by the time the dinner doors open at 7.30pm, so pretty much nine out of ten times by the time you get to your starter or main course the food is luke warm.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLG1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

the hotel is ski-to-door located opposite two nursery slopes and also 50yds from the 'chamole' chair lift.
there is an underground garage for parking if you need it.
The hotel is family owned/run and Alessandro takes great pride in the hotel and seems to be literally EVERYWHERE! --- he's behind the bar, serving dinner, on reception! and always with a smile!
the rooms are a good size with a minibar and also and good size bathroom, the rooms are clean and made up everyday, most rooms have a balcony which either overlook the nursery slopes/chamole chair or have an amazing view of the valley and Aosta below.
Dinner is buffet style, and fantastic........ huge salad buffet for starters, a choice of pasta course, then your meat course.... then, if you have the room, desert! Breakfast is a buffet of the usual continental stuff but you can also have sausages and scrambled eggs (unsual to get a hot option in a ski hotel!)
The owners cannot do enough for you, one of our group had a birthday while we were there and they made him a birthday cake, at no charge! another one of our group injured himself and allesandro drove him up to the medical centre to get sorted out.
The ski boot room is not heated, which would be a nice touch and is a bit on the small side and you can struggle to get a seat to put your boots on but that's the worst thing i can possibly think of about the hotel!
overall this is a brilliant hotel in a great location and will definately be back!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the valley side if you can, the view is fantastic!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgas30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

skied Pila for a week with friends this jan 2012 and stopped at the etoile de neige . well what to say other than what a great choice of hotel it turned out to be , the food was brilliant with as much as you want , lots to choose from and with free wine / water with dinner . a harty breakfast to start the day off with a good choice of cerials breads cheese and hams and also scrambled eggs etc . the hotel is right next to the main chair up to the ski area so only a short walk with your skis . we had a minor problem with our room wich was sorted straight away to our satisfaction , the hotel has a games room which was well used by ourselves ( table tennis , bar football ) the bar prices are also very reasonable .

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trev m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a large group but were disappointed with some of the aspects of the service hence the lower than average rating.

The good points are the location and our room having a balcony. The waiting and domestic staff were also very pleasant.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and were a good size.

The food was a bit 'samey', with no variation on the breakfast menu and the hot dish in the morning was always scrambled eggs and frankfurters.

Dinner is served between 7.30 - 8.30pm, but on at least one occasion the food was removed at 8.31pm and several of our party who had arrived at 8.20pm were left with making do with a sandwich.

Although it is a buffet service, the desserts were served to you at the table and there appears to be a strict limit of one dessert. The desserts were always fresh fruit salad, ice cream and some form of cake. One of our party asked for apple pie with ice cream but was told that this was not allowed and he could only have the one !!

There was 67 of us staying at this hotel and our group consisted of teenagers, couples, families and some of pensionable age, but the management made no effort to put on any entertainment for us. The bar is supposed to be open until 12 midnight but on our last night Alessandro closed it at 11.30pm, telling us we all had an early flight in the morning !!

The hotel was not open for lunch, so we went to the restaurant/bar right next to the hotel. The manager, Monica, couldn't do enough and organised a night for us providing music and nibbles free of charge -something we felt the hotel could have thought about.

Overall, this is a good hotel. I just don't think the management can cope very well with a large group all arriving and leaving at the same time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the ski slope as this side gets the sun most of the day.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Just got back from there and I was impressed. Even though the hotel is a bit old the staff compensates with positive attitude, respect, good services and good food. It's a family business and you can see that. All it's very clean and room service does it's job everyday. The best part of it is that is right on the slope area. Ideal for skiing, even the national Italian ski team was staying there for a few days for training and tournament. Hope to get back!

Room Tip: a good room is on the first level - balcony straight on the slope
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristina851119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews