We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Etoile De Neige
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

skied Pila for a week with friends this jan 2012 and stopped at the etoile de neige . well what to say other than what a great choice of hotel it turned out to be , the food was brilliant with as much as you want , lots to choose from and with free wine / water with dinner . a harty breakfast to start the day off with a good choice of cerials breads cheese and hams and also scrambled eggs etc . the hotel is right next to the main chair up to the ski area so only a short walk with your skis . we had a minor problem with our room wich was sorted straight away to our satisfaction , the hotel has a games room which was well used by ourselves ( table tennis , bar football ) the bar prices are also very reasonable .

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trev m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 168 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a large group but were disappointed with some of the aspects of the service hence the lower than average rating.

The good points are the location and our room having a balcony. The waiting and domestic staff were also very pleasant.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and were a good size.

The food was a bit 'samey', with no variation on the breakfast menu and the hot dish in the morning was always scrambled eggs and frankfurters.

Dinner is served between 7.30 - 8.30pm, but on at least one occasion the food was removed at 8.31pm and several of our party who had arrived at 8.20pm were left with making do with a sandwich.

Although it is a buffet service, the desserts were served to you at the table and there appears to be a strict limit of one dessert. The desserts were always fresh fruit salad, ice cream and some form of cake. One of our party asked for apple pie with ice cream but was told that this was not allowed and he could only have the one !!

There was 67 of us staying at this hotel and our group consisted of teenagers, couples, families and some of pensionable age, but the management made no effort to put on any entertainment for us. The bar is supposed to be open until 12 midnight but on our last night Alessandro closed it at 11.30pm, telling us we all had an early flight in the morning !!

The hotel was not open for lunch, so we went to the restaurant/bar right next to the hotel. The manager, Monica, couldn't do enough and organised a night for us providing music and nibbles free of charge -something we felt the hotel could have thought about.

Overall, this is a good hotel. I just don't think the management can cope very well with a large group all arriving and leaving at the same time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the ski slope as this side gets the sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Just got back from there and I was impressed. Even though the hotel is a bit old the staff compensates with positive attitude, respect, good services and good food. It's a family business and you can see that. All it's very clean and room service does it's job everyday. The best part of it is that is right on the slope area. Ideal for skiing, even the national Italian ski team was staying there for a few days for training and tournament. Hope to get back!

Room Tip: a good room is on the first level - balcony straight on the slope
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristina851119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Just spent our third Christmas at the Etoile. Once again we were looked after exceptionally well so a huge thanks to Allessandro, Angela and all of the team.

A small Brucie bonus is that hot food is now served at breakfast - bacon or sausage and eggs which was just right for a day on the slopes. One of our party had a small issue with a slight lack of variety of veggie main courses throughout the week - they do like to put bacon on everything! Apart from that, the food and wine was excellent.

A tip for those wanting spectacular views - pay for a balcony overlooking the valley. The view of Aosta at night with the town lights twinkling below is breathtaking.

Planning a return for either Xmas 2012 or early 2013 and would not wish to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room with a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virgo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We booked this hotel on the basis of previous reviews and were not disappointed. The rooms were very large and spacious and the bathrooms spotless. It's not luxury but it's comfortable and more than adequate for the time you spend in the hotel. The buffet breakfast was extensive and had something for everyone - some cooked food, fruit salad, cereals and then the full continental meats, cheeses, cake and croissants. The evening meals were also very good. The starter buffet had lots of salad and vegetable dishes and this was followed by a pasta/rice course with a choice of two items and a soup. Next was a main course of two meat choices and a fish dish followed by dessert. We had some very fussy eaters in our party but everyone found plenty they liked.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.
In the hotel is a boot room and a separate ski and board room which are locked at night. This means there's no messing about with individual lockers and locker keys which is nice. In the morning you walk out of the hotel and behind it 30 yards to the Chamole ski lift and at night you can ski back to the door. If you aren't confident to ski a blue run down from the Chamole there is a ski bus but we never used it.
The hotel drove us up to the ski hire shop on the first afternoon and there wasn't anyone else in there so the eight of us got kitted out in record time and without any of the usual fuss and hassle. We were then driven back to the hotel. At the end of the week you leave your hired gear at the hotel and the hire shop collect it - what could be easier?
There was very little to do in Pila in the evening but the skiing was great: lots of wide open runs and off piste above the tree line and then some lovely runs down through the trees.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barkerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I would endorse previous reviews that this is a great place to stay to explore the excellent Pila ski area. Situated at the bottom of the Charmole Ski Lift it is genuine ski in ski out for all but compete beginners who have a slope adjacent to the Hotel to use. The Owner and all staff are exceptionally helpful and can not do enough for you. The rooms are a good size even the "budget" attic room and are spotlessly clean, you can have clean towels everyday if desired.

Food is traditional italian excellent salad buffet starter, soup, pasta and meat or fish dishes are plentiful and good quality.

Decor is traditional or dated depending on your viewpoint, the bar area adjacent to reception lacks a little atmosphere but has a good range of drinks. Travelling with Crystal we enjoyed free wine at dinner which was very drinkable.

Local bars are a 5 - 10 minute walk away. Pila is not a destination for extensive nightlife which suited us after a long day skiing.

All in all an excellent venue to enjoy a Pila skiing holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markhCaerleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I booked this hotel primarily because of it's ski in/ ski out location and because it gets great feedback here and on other review websites. It completely and utterly lives up to it's reputation. I think most UK guests come here through Crystal but I booked directly with the hotel back in September and they were very helpful and happy to take the reservation, they didn't even require a deposit.. The proprietors, Angela and Alessandro, seem to be on duty 24hrs a day and are always helpful and welcoming and full of good cheer. My two kids ( 14 and 12 ) and I had pretty much everything we could need.
There is a heated boot room which means never having to squeeze into cold wet boots in the morning and a secure ski room. The back door of the hotel is about 50m to one of the resorts main chair lifts (Chamole) and you can literally ski right back to the same back door at the end of the day, fantastic!
Pila is a real little hidden gem of a resort. Although not enormous the piste is beautifully well kept and even at half term the queues were never big and in fact we would often ski straight onto a chair. It's nearly all Italian with a few English thrown in and is incredibly friendly. The mountain bars and restaurants are exactly what you need, cosy, warm and very reasonably priced. There's not much going on in the town itself but that didn't bother us as we had lunch on the mountain and dinner at the hotel. Incidently, as other reviews have mentioned, dinner is terrific. A really tasty and varied menu that changed every day, with free wine and mineral water. What more could you want.
The, only slight, reservations we had were that the TV in the room didn't work and that the wi-fi wasn't free and only really worked in the hotel lobby. Other than those minor quibbles it's a massive "thumbs up" for the Etoile de Neige. I think we'll be back next year!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Floons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gressan
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Chance
Hotel La Chance
#1 of 6 in Gressan
323 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
3.4 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 2 in Pollein
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lion Noir
Hotel Lion Noir
#4 of 6 in Gressan
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Esse Pila 2000
Club Esse Pila 2000
#5 of 6 in Gressan
74 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Alla Posta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Etoile De Neige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etoile De Neige

Address: Frazione Pila 5, 11020, Gressan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
Price Range: $127 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Etoile De Neige 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Etoile De Neige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Etoile De Neige Italy/Gressan - Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing