We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski in - walk out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chalet Des Alpes
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ski in - walk out”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Technically you can ski out from the hotel but only to the base of the nursery slope were you need to take a slow conveyor belt back up to give you access to the main chamole lift. It was a lot quicker to walk about 20 yards up the gentle slope and ski from there. Skiing back is a breeze straight up to the top of the steps down to the boot room.

The food is both plentiful and very nice. No complaints at all. The antipasti starter was superb.

Talking to other guests I think we had one of the smaller rooms. It was just big enough. The balcony was nice and overlooked the slopes and the mountains beyond. The room had its own heating control which worked well and there was always a good supply of hot water. For those that need to watch tv there are just the 2 English speaking channels (euronews & bbcworld).

Because of the small number of guests at the time of visiting the bar area was very quiet so we walked up to the main area 15 minutes up hill for a more social bar scene.

The hotel is very clean and the staff people are friendly. If a simple half board hotel is what you need then this will do fine.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rmatthewsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Lovely family run small hotel right on the piste! Walk out of the boot room click your skis on and go - what could be better. Our room faced the piste and had a balcony, it was well decorated, had a huge comfortable double bed with en-suite and safe, the heating in the room was fully controllable. The room was next to the lift but we couldn't hear it at all. You could have a plentiful buffet style breakfast and even a boiled egg to set you up for the day. Our package included a packed lunch which was more than adequate (but take some butter from the breakfast buffet). Supper began with a brilliant antipasto, so good that some nights I missed the main course to favour it! The meals were varied and of a good standard. We stopped over New Year and the gala meal was excellent. There was WiFi available in the social areas downstairs (code required). My only slightly negative comment is that the social area near the front door was sometimes a little cool, mainly due to the boot room door/front door opening regularly. If you want extra security for your ski gear remember to take a small padlock for the cage lockers, in the boot room, however, we did not find this necessary. The guy who owned it was at first quite, this could be conceived as a little grumpy, however, once you made the effort to socialise with him he was really nice, advising us on which wine to choose; the red wine was very nice and ranged from 12 - 24 euros per bottle and the Prosecco was only 10 euros a bottle (great value for a hotel!). All the staff were very helpful and worked very hard. We had a fabulous holiday 29/12 - 05/01/14 and by the way Pila is an amazing intermediate resort, beginners are well catered for and advanced skiers have some testing runs. We will definitely return to this hotel again in the future - Would recommend!

Room Tip: You don't usually have a choice about this, but our room overlooking the piste was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have just returned from Pila after spending a week in this hotel over New Year. It is in a great position, and you can ski back on a blue run. The hotel has a chalet feel, with plenty of wood, and blue and orange paintwork ! Bring a phrase book if you don't speak Italian,as very little English is spoken. The bedrooms were clean,comfortable, had a safe, tv, balcony (although chairs for sitting out would have been nice) and fabulous views. Although the bedrooms were warm, as you can control the heating, the reception,bar,restaurant and the upstairs lounge ( if fire not lit) areas were a bit chilly. The breakfast was buffet style with a drinks machine, juice, cereal,tinned fruit, bread,ham,cheese, croissants, and boiled eggs by request. Packed lunches can be requested, and the evening meal was very good for meat/fish eaters, but our friends who are vegetarians found the main course to be a bit limited, and because of the language barrier found it difficult to ask for further options. The New Year's Eve gala dinner was very good, with wine and prossecio. We had low intermediates,intermediates,and advanced skiers in our group, and all found plenty of skiing at the right level, but the lifts were extremely busy due to it being new year. Drinks, and food in the resort were very reasonable, as were the drinks in the hotel. We would definately return to Pila and to this hotel. ( but will learn basic Italian first ! And go out of school holidays )

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbcroyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Chalet Des Alpes, right on the piste, ski door-to-door, half board, what more could you ask for? This hotel went far above our expectations in its location, quality of rooms and the food presented to us each evening (after a long days skiing). This was like a home from home, right at the bottom of the piste, so a nice last run back at the end of the day. Great view (at least from our room) over the piste, with a balcony if you needed to cool off a bit. The skiing here is also excellent. The resort is mostly a 'RED' run resort, so not for the beginners, but all the correspondance tells you this. Had a great weeks skiing and the hotel at the start and end of each day, made the holiday a rememberable one, no only for the skiing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is another little gem of a hotel in Pila. It's location is perfect for both beginners and more advanced skiers/boarders as it is literally right next to the nursery slope and also just 100m or so to the main Chamole chairlift which will take you up to the top of the mountain. All abilities will be able to ski right to the back door at the end of the day.
The hotel itself is relatively small and has a nice cosy Alpine feel to it. The rooms are warm and comfortable and have good storage space, (we had a triple room and had more than enough space to hide away all our stuff, and we don't travel particularly lightly) There's a heated boot/ski room which leads directly, up a short flight of steps, onto the piste.
Breakfast is the usual buffet style affair but has a great spread of breads, cakes, cereals, cold meats etc. There's no hot stuff except boiled eggs which was fine with us.
Dinner starts with a huge buffet of antipasta and you are then served a further 2 courses of great local cuisine followed by a choice of pudding. It's not exactly Michelin star fine dining but its good hearty and wholesome food, well cooked and pleasantly served.
There isn't much to do in the evening, other than a quick drink in the bar. There is also a very cosy lounge with a log fire on the the first floor if you just want to sit and read or snooze.
There is free wi-fi, although coverage for this is only available in the reception/bar area.
All in all a really great value, comfortable, friendly hotel in a terrific location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Floons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay at Chalet des Alpes in early January which is in an excellent position for ski in ski out. It was just a couple of minutes walk to the beginner slope which you cross to the Chamole lift.

Our room (number 204) was spacious for 2 people but probably a bit of a squeeze for 3 or 4. There didn't seem to be anywhere to store cases so we used the spare bed. It had a balcony overlooking the mountains and the slopes over the east side and the road below. The heating in our room was not under our control with the radiator coming on in the bathroom in the evening and staying on all night. The air con didn't appear to be working, so it got a bit warm at night but we didn't complain as it wasn't that big a problem. None of the rooms have baths and our shower cubicle was made of fibre glass and a bit worse for wear.

The dinning room was consistently cold but the food was good if a little interesting! We weren't sure what we were eating sometimes although it tasted good but the free wine was only borderline drinkable with the red having a slight fizz. The service at the hotel was very good and the staff helpful although they didn't speak English all that well but it was certainly better than my Italian! Free wifi can be gained in 4 hour slots by obtaining a password from reception every day. The coverage is only guaranteed in the reception area but it seemed to work fine in room 204.

The ski and boot room could do with a bit of a make over and a clean up and the heater wasn't working on the first day. There are cages to store equipment in and if you have a small padlock you can secure your kit. The door to the outside world was open all day but I presume it was locked at night but didn't check. You are not allowed to keep equipment in the rooms.

Pila is a very small and quiet place and ideal for people wanting to get away from it. The slopes were generally quiet with no lift queues apart from the weekends. It's worth a trip down to Aosta if you like a bit of sightseeing as there are plenty of Roman ruins and the ride down in the gondola is enjoyable in itself.

Room Tip: Room 204 was good for wifi reception. I heard that room 201 is cold and very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwishyMichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great family run hotel situated about 2 mins walk from one of the main chair lifts. The staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The food is of the highest quality and in abundance with a 5 course evening meal that starts off with a great buffet. I would definitely go here again as it is great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diav70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gressan
2.4 mi away
Hotel Etoile De Neige
Hotel Etoile De Neige
#2 of 6 in Gressan
166 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Chance
Hotel La Chance
#1 of 6 in Gressan
309 reviews
2.4 mi away
Club Esse Pila 2000
Club Esse Pila 2000
#4 of 6 in Gressan
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Lion Noir
Hotel Lion Noir
#5 of 6 in Gressan
99 reviews
1.3 mi away
Norden Palace Hotel
Norden Palace Hotel
#10 of 18 in Aosta
280 reviews
2.8 mi away
Valtur Pila
Valtur Pila
#3 of 6 in Gressan
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Des Alpes

Property: Hotel Chalet Des Alpes
Address: Frazione Pilet, 11020 - Aosta, Gressan, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Gressan
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Chalet Des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chalet Des Alpes Italy/Gressan - Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing