We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice”
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Grado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I stayed just two nights in this excellent Hotel after spending some days in Venice. Grado is just an hour by train from Venice, and its beaches are perfect for some relax.

Hotel Savoy has an awesome pool with a lunch-bar where you can have some light meals (I suggest the clubsandwich, really huge).

I stayed in a junior suite, very confortable. Wine selection is great and food as well. All the staff specks italian and german, and I noted that is full of austrian and german costumers.

The beach is just 2 minutes walking and the hotel offer you a beach umbrella and some beach chairs.

I didn't visit the Spa, but they told me is really nice.

I totally recommend this elegant Hotel, and I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MicheleFontolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Savoy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 210 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2011

Hotel Savoy in Grado is a very nice hotel, with big, very nice and modern rooms. Really good rooms. The bathrooms are fantastic! We happened to arrive one day before booked (my mistake) but the very professional staff could arrange for an extra night without any problem. Most of the hotel guests where German speaking - we are not - and after a few days I was very irritated on one of the head waiters who continuously tried to address us in German, and all the time stressed. The food was OK - nothing extra but also not bad - some highlights. The beverages (not included in the board price) I think were exaggerated (at least for the house wine). Also for a hotel of this class and cost I find it bad taste to charge a high extra cost for Internet use. In the rooms there were extra towels for use in the pool area, also bathrobes and slippers. The pool area is very nice - but - even though there are signs and info about that it is NOT allowed to reserve the seats around the pool area chairs was held all days and being used only for some hour. This is bad. Overall review is that it is a very nice hotel, but in the end not worth the cost.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanne_nilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We were looking for the hotel which has a 2-rooms appartment and is not very far from both the beach and the city centre. This hotel was well suited, and a big advantage was that it had an appartment/room plan on the website, so we could judge which room type would be the best for us. Our appartment had, as mentioned above, 2 rooms, and a balcony. A flat TV was present in each of both rooms, which was quite nice, since we had our child with us, so he could also watch his movies separately. The balcony was in our bedroom, which was also very clever, because we could control the kid entering the balcony. The balcony was big, clean and nice, and at least enough separated from the neighbors, so we could get a littly privacy. On the other hand, the view was not very exciting, since it overlooked a narrow and sometimes noisy street. The only positive was a cute antique Villa opposite to us, which was pleasant for the eye by its archtechture and white color. I was very surprised to see a magpie patrolling the roofs every day the same time. This charming black-and-white bird was very worth mentioning here, since it animated the view greatly. Otherwise, big seagulls, doves and black birds were usual visitors of our visible landscape. Actually, the black birds singing in the sunset was simply amasing (they had probably a mating time, and males manifested themselves by beatiful singing). Back to the hotel room, the bathtube was a bit outdated, but very easy to step in it because of the low positioning. But plasitc curtains should not be the standard of a 4-stars hotel, right? Toilet room was huge and quite clean. In general, it was a nice and clean appartment, very spacious, with the soild but somehow outdated furniture. The worst was the smell in the corridor, which I tried to combat by an air-freshener. Actually, I could not understand, what that smell was, and a very similar smell was also very characteristic for the entrance hall of the hotel. It is really difficult to describe what exactly this smell was, but it was quite unpleasant and even agressive. The pool there is a nice place. Huge, and well designed. The kids pool is situated within the big pool, but a way above it, so the parents are able to see their kids from each position being inside the big pool. Only the air of the pool area somehow is overheated, well above +30°C. We did not use the pool outside the building, as well as all other SPA services. The food was great, especially dinner. The breakfast ist somehow not breathtaking, rather intermediate. We had a full borad there. A salat bar was just OKay. Cheeses were also in the salad bar, and they were very good. Table vine for the dinner is not to recommend. I would advise to have the vines from the bar or just order a bottle. The service in the dining room was good. I kept ordering very simple spagetti dishes for our kid every other dinner, since he was not used to adult restaurat food, and it was done fast and without extra charge. The area around the hotel is charming. In the front of the hotel there is a small marine with numerous boats. Behind the hotel, just across the street, there is a no-cars street leading all across the town. It is just a 10 min walk to the historic centre, and just a couple of minutes to the beach. The beach is huge, huge, huge. Of course, we were not in the bathing season in april, but in summer the place must be surely overcrowded. Thousands of umbrella sticks populate the grounds. Definitely not the place we would choose for the summer. I would say, this place should be great in May or in October. But it depends, of course, on what you really want.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Good Hotel! Good Location!Good Food; a bit expensive mineral water at lunch because not included in the meal; Good service!
Negative things: Its very difficult to find parking in the garage parking, and hotel staff should say guests not to occupy the places in the open swimming pool when they go away; guests leave their sun towels on the chairs as a sign of their "presence", thats not right, because these places are free!!!
In the hobby room, the neat of the ping pong was broken.
Anyway, its a beutifulplace for a stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ragazzacapricciosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2007

We stayed in this wonderful hotel at the beginning of August this year. I booked to family rooms as we were travelling with family and both rooms were excellent. Ours even had a seperate room for our children. The bathroom was excellent with twin basins and a separate toilet which was very helpful with two teenage daughters.

The public rooms are well furnished and the dining room elegant. The swimming pool, although on the small side, was very pleasant and the added bonus of the indoor pool was nice as well.

The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and we were very well looked after. Grado was a lovely resort, just the right size with good shops and a nice beach a short distance from the hotel.

We would definitely stay here again and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tottonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Stayed here for a week at Easter and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
The hotel was immaculately clean, food scrumptious, service excellent, rooms comfortable and staff very friendly.
We will definately be booking another week here during the summer of 2007.
The only thing we missed was an ice machine in the hallways.
Incidently the indoor pool with 30 degrees salt water is undoubtably the best hotel pool we have ever been in.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Tim_Wenche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2005

the hotel was immaculate and the staff outstanding and did everything to accomadate the two of us from the u.s.a. even going so far as to prepare something for our breakfast before we left at 5:30 am, . of course, they had also arranged taxi service for us to the airport which is about 30 miles away.
the facilities were fantastic. the room had a terrace equipped with table and chairs plus a sun lounge. the room had a refirgerator, bar, tv, telephone, radio, clock and air conditioning that actually worked well.
food service was outstanding. dinner consisted of a five course meal. the price included breakfast and dinner. it felt like i was on a cruise ship at dinner.
we were two american women traveling without escorts and felt completely safe and at home at this hotel. in addition to the pool and excellent spa facilities at the savoy, we were given passes for the beach. most of the staff spoke english so language was not a barrier.
we definitely plan on returning next year. what a way to end a tour of croatia and venice.

13  Thank bcaherron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grado hotels
0.7 mi away
Laguna Palace Hotel
Laguna Palace Hotel
#2 of 45 in Grado
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Astoria
Grand Hotel Astoria
#3 of 45 in Grado
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hannover
Hotel Hannover
#10 of 45 in Grado
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antica Villa Bernt Grado
3.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Oche Selvatiche
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mar del Plata
Hotel Mar del Plata
#8 of 45 in Grado
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Riva Slataper 12, 34073, Grado, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Gorizia > Grado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Grado
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grado
Price Range: $193 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Savoy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Savoy in Grado boasts a long-standing hotel tradition that has blended with the ancient history of this island. Just a short distance from the golden beaches of the Adriatic coastline, the hotel offers elegant, light, spacious accommodation. Surrounded by well cared gardens filled with Mediterranean vegetation typical of Friuli Venezia Giulia, the Hotel Savoy is the perfect place to spend a relaxing holiday, to enjoy the sea water swimming pools and to regenerate in our Wellness Centre. Included in the room price is the breakfast, the parking area, the entrance to the Spa and to the beach, the bicycle renatal. On the parking area there is a loading station for e-cars, which is free of charge for the hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Grado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing