We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable but noisy”
Review of Hotel Sabbie d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sabbie d'Oro
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel was able to provide us with a room at short notice. The staff were generally pleasant and helpful, especially those on reception. The room was clean and comfortable. However, breakfast was not very inspiring and the noise from the road disturbed our sleep badly.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank hikingthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 149 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Have just been in Giardini-Naxos with Startour. We got good prices on this beach. It was clean and the staf was realy nice. A specila thank to Aleksandros!! The beds and the water was beautiful. They walked around and served lunch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marianne190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was concerned once I had read some of the reviews on this hotel but there was no need - Sabbie D'oro is a very clean and comfortable hotel and the staff were always friendly and helpful. Alison in the restaurant only had to be asked on our first morning for a second cup of coffee and she then brought us one every morning. Room was adequate size and the shower was great - the view from the balcony was beautiful. I would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Sea view room worth paying a bit more for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The wife and I have just returned from Naxos. I couldn't agree less with the negative remarks on this forum concerning the quality and friendliness of the Sabbie d'Oro. The staff is very helpful and we were treated most kindly and respectful. We'd go again. anytime!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank dieterlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Myself and my wife have just returned from staying a week in this 'hotel'. This was our eight visit to Italy and our first time in Sicily. This establishment was not only the worst hotel that I have ever visited in Italy, but perhaps the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in worldwide. It is difficult to know where to begin but I advise anyone who has already booked to change their booking and if you are considering booking, please don't.
Our room measured 3m x 3.4m and was appalling. Our bathroom was tiny with the shower base measuring .7m x .7, and they had the cheek to charge a supplement for the sea view.
I don't know who is staffing the kitchen, but there is no chief working here. On our first night, our main course consisted of, two slices of processed "turkey" and a couple of tired lettuce leaves. The dining room is a horrible room and guests are "not allowed" sit at the window tables which are reserved for passing trade ! The breakfast is the same every day and without doubt the worst I have ever encountered in this fabulous country. The restaurant staff hadn't a clue what they were doing and
despite continual complaints by the majority of guests, nothing improved. Be aware that one of their habits is to try and substitute house wine for the better wine that you have ordered and paid for. They tried to do this with us and another couple who were dining on another night.
There is a small bar but it is staffed by whoever is staffing the reception so guests usually get tired waiting and don't use it.
This is a family run hotel, staffed by a family who obviously would all rather be doing something else.
There is no possibility that this is a four star hotel. It is two stars at most as there are none of the basic facilities you expect to warrant four stars.
Having toured the island, I now know that there are some beautiful hotels in Sicily. Do yourself a favour and avoid this one !

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
9  Thank GarryMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Spent a week here in September and was very happy with the hotel, we were a little worried since it got a little mixed reviews, but I do not understand why. Service was great even though it was at times a little hard to get understood on English. The rooms are great, and very roomy, good standard and always very clean. Shower in the bathroom was a little tight, so if you are a size bigger or claustrophobic this can be a problem.
They have free internet in reception area, just ask for password in reception. Breakfast has a lot of selections and good standard of the food.
The hotel has its own chair area at the beach, a little expensive but very good location and good quality of chairs and umbrellas, good service at the beach too with possibility to get lighter meals served.
Restaurant Sabbie D'oro was very good too, a little expensive but I had the best fish of my life there, so it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We went to the restaurant of giovanni barca last year and we found it great. This summer we have returned to dine there and we didn't simply eat ... No, we had a fantastic dining experience. We started with clams and mussels and a small CATALANA (lobster salad) to share. All dishes were beautifully served and tasted the flavor of the sea. I have understood that the owner is the son of the hotel manager (owner?) and has the best contacts with local fishermen in orderbto be granted the freshest fish in the region. We continued with a seabass with tomatoes, caper and olives... Just divine. The dessert was a pleasant surprise as well, fresh fruit and icecream.. The proice is correct. Frankly I do not understand at all the negative comments concerning this restaurant, anyway my wife and I will just keep on going at sabbie d'oro when in Sicily.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Luca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giardini Naxos hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Linda
Villa Linda
#11 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
892 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
#25 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Nefele
Hotel Villa Nefele
#15 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tysandros
Hotel Tysandros
#10 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sabbie d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sabbie d'Oro

Address: Via Jannuzzo Schiso 12, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range: $98 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sabbie d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the most colourful corner of Italy and in a perfect position to visit the most famous touristic places of the Island. Located in the centre of Giardini Naxos's Bay, surrounded by the ancient Greek's rests, here you find Hotel Sabbie D'Oro. Your time here will pass sweetly and you will taste the real beauty of the Naxos sea & beaches. Giardini was called from the great travellers: Pearl of the Mediterranean. The Hotel offers the possibility to spend pleasant moments. We offer to our guest to maximum comfort and functionality. Is situated just infront the sea and it's also equipped of a private Lido in one of the most beautiful part of Giardini Naxos where you can have an enviable view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sabbie d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sabbie D'Oro Giardini Naxos, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing