We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Reviewed July 22, 2011

What impressed me most about the hotel is hospitality. Boss of the hotel is very nice to the guests. Rooms are spacious and clean. Garden is beautiful with lots of flowers.Smells wonderful so we enjoy to sit the outdoors. Outdoor pool is spacious and clean.The best is to be there in July, no crowds. The food is delicious. The only objection is poor selection of food for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aleks011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 546 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here as part of a tour group for four nights. The public rooms in the hotel are impressive as is the swimming pool and surrounding area. The room was fine and bathroom excellent. A shared patio area came with the room on the first floor.

Food was first-rate with a breakfast buffet and bordering on silver service dining in the evening. However we did play at the invisible table on one evening as people came and went while we were still awaiting our food, so a lost mark there. I detest poor restaurant service and have little tolerance of being ignored.

Two wedding receptions took place while we were there and fellow travellers complained about noise and were moved. We were not troubled due to the position of the room.

Internet access at 3 Euros and hour I thought was expensive especially when many hotels offer this service for free.

On check out day we had to leave the room early and spent several hours out and about. I was disturbed to find that our luggage had been stored in an unsecured outside building with the door open. That I thought was not good.

Otherwise, everything was tip top

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We were here for 4 nights in all as part of a VJV tour. I suppose we thought it was average after our first 3 nights , but when we had experienced the next two hotels we concluded it was pretty good and were glad to get back to it for our last night of the tour!

Both the rooms we had were adequate and clean. The rooms vary a lot it seems. The a/c is unreliable, working in some rooms but not others. The maintenance was down to the level I have come to expect from Italian hotels; you arrive just wondering what won't be working and what will! Views vary from Etna and the Sea to an industrial estate so there is a lot of luck involved. The outside balconies are rather nice. On the whole, the accommodation is pretty decent.

Poolside facilities are fine and there are plenty of sunbeds, although we had the umbrellas removed by "management" when the Scirocco blew! There is an outrageous 8 Euro charge to use the indoor pool.

Food here was ok - which is to say that it was the best of our three Sicilian hotels. It wasn't exciting but it was perfectly acceptable. The hotel staff, although not exactly smiling ambassadors for their country, managed not to be too surly although ,believe me, the image of the happy, professional nothing-too-much-trouble Italian waiter took a real hammering on our trip! Maybe they have all come to Britain?

Overall, though, this hotel is a decent one. I've given it 3/5 but if I could have given it 3.5 I would have done. It's not great but it's not scary either.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiandLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I stayed here two nights with a friend. We asked for twin beds but got two singles pushed together. The room was right above the dining room, and since the hotel caters to wedding parties, both nights we were kept awake by the noise from below until 2 a.m. The food was mediocre at best. Pay WiFi. Tiny shower cubicle.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgaryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We went with a tour group (our first) and were there 4 nights. It was very different in style from hotels we choose ourselves, but we had a lovely clean, fresh room overlooking the pool and with a side window that looked directly at Mt Etna - very good when there was a "venting" and lava flow one evening. We sat on our balcony and watched for ages. (Room 404). Hotel and town are very much a resort atmosphere. The weather had just (barely) warmed up enough to swim briskly in the pool and to enjoy the poolside ambiance in the late afternoons when we were tired from touring. Reading other reviews, it sounds as if at least the main part of the hotel has had a face lift over the winter.
The tour group aspect showed up at dinner, when the waiters were overworked, especially on the nights when we overlapped with other tours. The food was "standard hotel/group" - adequate rather than exciting, but we tend to find that true of big hotels except in unusual circumstances. Breakfast was fine for us, although the fresh fruit was surprisingly limited to oranges (excellent) and some red apples.
We had one free day and walked along the harbour towards the far end, which is much less touristy, and ate at I Limoni (Via IV Novembre, 97), a little place along the frontage road. Excellent small trattoria, with HUGE plates of fresh anchovy pasta (one between 2, definitely), fresh salad, local wine, and lovely people. Go there if you like that sort of thing. It gave us a new and better impression of the town. Walking along the front, the beach is soft sand, rather than the sharp sand of the hotel area. Some areas are reserved for particular hotels, but there are several "free beach" areas. It is probably very crowded in the season!

Room Tip: Room 404, or other rooms on that corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingergranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

I stayed at the hotel as part of a tour group in April 2011. The food served at night in the restuarant was average and far less in quality than I would have expected from a hotel of this standard.

The rooms were spacious and tw view if mount etna from the balcony a delight.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Digimeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Stayed here as part of a VJV tour around Sicily; this was our first hotel from Catania airport for 3 nights.
Check in ok - partly handled by tour guide. Rooms clean enough - nice long bath (I'm tall so thats a bonus). However no real amenities in the room other than the bathroom. - no hotel info -empty minibar, not even a bible in the bedside cabinet. Loo seat broken.
Air conditioning not on - we were told in was 'too early'. Had to open the windows & put the shutters down - temperature in the low 20 C range.
Staff & service somewhat indifferent, like we there to provide them with something to do; aksing for things was very hard work.
Meals so-so; our tour was half-board so our meals were set menu & included, except that two nights we were not even given a menu, just the food. Small portions - ok but not great. Breakfast was so-so - no hot choice apart from scrambled eggs. Too much cake again & too little choice. Not a huge wine choice & not so cheap.
Also had this weird packet fruit juice - really awful. There are lemon & orange orchards outside the hotel gates - why give people this synthetic muck - nasty !
Be warned - it has a 'spa, gym & indoor pool' (as well as the outdoor pool) however its 8 euro per person per day to use it...!!
We also stopped there on our last night before returning to the airport the following afternoon; strangely the evening meal was alot better than previously.
As we were not being picked up to go home until afternoon we all asked for a late checkout - absolutely refused point blank. One person on our tour WAS eventually offered a 3.00 pm checkout for an extra 70 euro - she declined!
This hoetl seem sto mainly cater for tours -even some Italian ones. Its not really good for independent travelling. Giardini Naxos is ok but a bit touristy; we did however find one very nice place for lunch on Easter Sundatybefore departing - also very near the hotel; miles better than the hotel.
So - average for tours. If travelling by yourselves - find better !!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool - upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrishel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giardini Naxos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Atahotel Naxos Beach
#2 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,687 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Daphne
Villa Daphne
#3 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#5 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
#25 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: Marina di Recanati, 98030 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range: $112 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Giardini Naxos, close to the most fascinating destinations of the island. A few steps from the sea, the hotel is located in the east coast of the Ionian Sea, in a picturesque setting and evocative, from which you can enjoy a unique view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel And Spa
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel Giardini Naxos
Hotel Sant Alphio Garden
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa Giardini Naxos, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing