We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sporting Baia
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Reviewed July 7, 2013

if you have the possibility don't go there ! old furniture, rusty bathrooms, torn towels. It was clean but....
and the restaurant - managed like a Nazi campus ! Though the dinner room was half empty he looked the door with the key because he is the master there and not the tourist !!!! The system of ordering for next evening is like the horror movies and has nothing to do with something pleasant for the tourists !
People are unwelcome toward tourists, not to mention the fact you might be overlooked by bus when you book for trips ! Poor info for tourists though are some places very interesting to visit ! Overall - not recommended for holidays.

Room Tip: Though we had a room with a street view it was quiet when you close the windows.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trepteanu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sporting Baia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 622 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

By far the worst accommodation I have stayed in in Europe.we stayed for four nights,we probably would have had better sleep on the street.the constant noise of loud scooters throughout the night -every minute of the night actually .....poor shutters(no windows as such).bed linen extremely outdated with animated images of suns and moons on them,dark and outdated bedroom furniture (looked more like a nursery than a bedroom)
Breakfast in morning was fine except I received coffee one morning in a stained coffee pot!
Pool costs extra to use....swimming pool looked repulsive and I'd say genuinely has never been cleaned....sides of the pool under the water were green in colour from lack of cleaning.
Wifi not available in rooms and it cost money to use it in lobby
I cannot understand how this accommodation is open/available.lets just say if it were in Ireland or Britain it would be long shut
Extremely disappointed.i have stayed in far better hostels.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ardroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked in for just one night and really had value for our money, the hotel is a little tired and fraying at the edges,breakfast was not very good. As we followed two large groups and the buffet is obviously not refreshed, and not kept tidy. The charge for wi fi is obviously a money making opportunity and is only available to one device so as we had two e readers and pad we had to make a decision on what to use as the charging is excessive. With better management this could be a fantastic hotel.
L

Room Tip: We had no problem with noise on the fourth floor. A sea view is great.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazzaandjazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Wanted to write about this hotel from september 2011, inspired me to do that my next trip to Italy! There is no point write about the features of the hotel as much has been said about them in the other reviews: it is really well located close to Taormina, has a nice sandy beach, spacious rooms, and the rest is pretty average! I would like to tell main thing about the staff - at a time when I was resting, were working very kind girls who did everything for the good memories! Many thanks to them!

Room Tip: Definitely a rooms with a sea view!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OlegKuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent four night at this hotel. It is well located, on the beach in a great little town, and close to Taormina.
Pros:
The breakfast and dinners, included in the price, were adequate to very good. There was enough to eat. The staff was friendly, and the housemaids were hard workers.
Cons:
1. This is the ONLY place I have ever been in that charges for Wi-Fi!! There is NO Wi-Fi in the rooms. You have to sit down in the noisy lobby to access the signal. They charged 5 Euro for 30 minutes. Supposedly you could log on and off, and the time was cumulative. I paid for 30 minutes, and kept very careful track of my time. I was only able to get 20 minutes, for FIVE Euro! They tried to tell me that this was common practice. I later found out that just 100 feet down the street there was totally free and unlimited Wi-Fi available at a sidewalk cafe. This defect alone would keep me from ever going back to this hotel.
2. The rooms are dated: dark, and in poor repair. Dingy is the word. The A/C was adequate. The rooms open out onto a very noisy street with the almost constant din of motor scooters, the plague of Italy and Sicily. You could not have a window open.
3. The toilet did not flush. It was necessary to fill a wastebasket with water to flush the toilet. Otherwise there was plenty of hot water.
4. This "Sporting" hotel does not have access to the beach across the street. You have to pay 2 Euros to use that beach. But, there is access a free beach about 150' to the south, and the water is great.

Room Tip: Demand a room on the upper floor, to at least get some distance from the street noise. But there is...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrianSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The location of the hotel is a beauty, however the hotel lacks proper catering management, especially the buffet breakfast, which is more on a first-come-first-served basis. After an hour from the opening of breakfast you will struggle to find enough food to start your day. Room facilities are very poor. I asked for a clothes iron and was told it was broken and they had to repair it (?). Up till the day of check-out the item still did not arrive. The passports were retained at the reception desk at check-in and was promised to be handed over to us after 15 minutes. I had to remind the reception staff every 24 hours to return the passports and the reply I received was 'ÓOps, I forgot them'.The hotel definitely does not merit a 4-star rating.The only plus is the room cleanliness. Next time I will look for a more enjoyable hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aldo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our experience at Baia Sporting was excellent. Waking up with a sea view from our large balcony was amazing, we could see the whole Giardini Bay. The room decoration was a bit old and 'tacky', but the bed was very good, and the lines and room were spotlessly clean. Although I slept well with the windows open, enjoying the breeze (room 500B), the AC is weak for the room size. The food was very good, breakfast and dinner. Besides the buffet of salad and soup, everyday there was a menu offering pasta, risoto, a choice of fish, meat or vegetarian and a choice of dessert. If you do not expect a 5 stars breakfast and dinner (they do not charge for that either), you can be pleased with the food.The staff at the dinner hall were very polite and understand English well. In my opinion, the beach in front of the hotel is the best one in Taormina area, it is even better than Isolabella. Go to Lido La Romantica and have a very cold beer and lunch there, the food is delicious. I did not used the swimming pool (apparently you have to pay for that), but with a calm and warm sea in front of the hotel, who needs a swimming pool ? We booked this hotel in advance and it was a good value for the price we payed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita8363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giardini Naxos hotels
0.3 mi away
Nike Hotel Sicily
Nike Hotel Sicily
#14 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sabbie d'Oro
Hotel Sabbie d'Oro
#23 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
Sant Alphio Garden Hotel & Spa
#7 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#6 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#5 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sporting Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sporting Baia

Address: via Lungomare Schiso, 98030 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range: $99 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sporting Baia 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sporting Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporting Baia Hotel
Sporting Baia Giardini Naxos
Hotel Sporting Baia Giardini Naxos, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing