We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just back from a great honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atahotel Naxos Beach
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just back from a great honeymoon!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We got back today and I felt I had to put a review on as we had such a good time.

The hotel is lovely, modern and airy. It is very clean, the pools are great and the rooms are fab with big showers, air conditioning as standard and lovely sea views. It is literally on the beach front, which is itself made of pebbles, so take/buy some close-fitting shoes e.g. windsurfing shoes, as they'll prove invaluable.

It seems made-to-measure for families.

When we were there most of the guests were Italians with a smattering of French, some Germans/Russians and a handful of Dutch and Brits. Everyone was polite, there was no drunkenness and I didn't hear a single English expletive all week.

We went all-inclusive and the food and drinks were excellent. There's a great selection of foods every day - almost all Italian but that's what you're going for - and we were never disappointed. You can have an entire bottle of wine per couple at both lunch and dinner every day if you wish, but in the heat (37 degrees or more every day), we drank more water and pop than anything. The booze in the bars is also all from brand name bottles and the measures are enormous. The prices are, too, if you're not all-in, so watch out for that.

A tip for ordering at the bars: only Brits and some Germans queue. If you follow suit you'll end up getting infuriated, as I did initially. Instead, just do what the Italians and the French do and go straight to the bar, as close as possible to whoever is currently being served. The barmen will almost certainly serve you next.

As regards the "bar staff rudeness" comments, I'd suggest ordering in Italian and simply just being polite. Initially the bar staff, especially the men, were downright surly it has to be said, but then you might be, too, if you had to put up with people coming up to you for 12 hours a day and just saying, "Two cokes", without a good morning or a please/thank you.

I speak only a tiny amount of guidebook Italian and asked the staff themselves what the Italian for "with ice" was ("con ghiaccio" if you're interested). I thus tried to order everything in the local language, and by the end of the week I was being addressed as 'sir' and was receiving a far faster and more pleasant service, so it worked for me and it was good fun learning some new phrases.

The evening shows are also provided in an open-air amphitheatre on site and were very well orchestrated. There's a lot of English spoken/sung amidst the Italian and the singing/dancing is great. The kids on-site loved every minute from what we could see. There's free sea canoeing and sailing, archery, tennis and other events every day except Saturday.

Pairs of sunbeds and umbrellas were available on the beach from £7 for a full day.

The front desk staff were a little hit-and-miss (we were told there was no internet access by one, only to find out later there were four terminals next to reception for rent at €3/hr), but that was the only issue we had all week.

Overall the place is top drawer and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All hotel rooms have a sea view so you can't go wrong with them. Not all the apartments do thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    528
    219
    83
    36
See reviews for
664
388
37
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We liked the hotel very much, the setting was lovely. Green areas, huge pool and a lovely private beach which was never too busy. Bit annoying that you had to pay for a bed on the hotel beach, but it was worth it for the peace. Great view of Mount Etna too.

Hotel food was great - I don't normally like the all-inclusive style buffet but it was yummy - pasta dishes were excellent. And the salad! Wonderful fruit and veg. We were half board and we got a bottle of wine between 2 every night, which I thought very reasonable.

Hotel staff were a bit aloof and there wasn't much information available - we had to work a lot out for ourselves. But they were polite enough.

Olympus Cafe bar in hotel was lovely - it was chargeable so all-inclusive customers tended to avoid, so it was nice and quiet (but not completely deserted).

About 20 mins to the main 'strip' of Giardini Naxos which suited us fine - it was a nice walk with no hills and it was good to be a bit further out from the centre. A few nice bars/restaurants along the walk too. Easy to get the bus to Taormina, definitely worth a visit but quite hilly so beware if it's very hot. Go to the public gardens in Taormina - they're gorgeous. And the Greek theatre is well worth a visit just for the view of Etna.

Drinks in both Giardini Naxos and Taormina were a bit more expensive than expected, food seemed quite reasonable. In fact all the food was yum. Make sure you try some local swordfish.

Romina, the rep, was fantastic - lovely and friendly, and knowledgeable about the area, although only her 2nd season there. Very interesting Italian-Scottish accent!

2 trips - Mount Etna and the Aeolian islands (Lipari and Vulcano). Etna was amaaaazing! Really enjoyed it, and the guide (Rosa) was brilliant. So knowledgeable but with lots of humourous annecdotes. Trip included the Alcantra Gorge which was a nice start to the day.
Islands trip was good, but it was so hot on the day we went. AVOID the mud baths - I know they're supposed to be good for your skin, but they smell unbearable, especially in the heat! The guide (Rosario) was great - very funny!

I wouldn't go to Giardini Naxos again because after a week, I felt we'd done it all. But I'd definitely recommend it if you've not been before. Ideal if you want a relaxing holiday with a few bars and cocktails :)

Room Tip: We were in the villas which I liked because our balcony backed onto a lovely garden. A sea view woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank minnie_munchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have just returned from a very enjoyable 2 week family holiday at this resort. I have very little that is negative to say about Naxos Beach and am puzzled by some of the more negative reviews given by some other people. We had air conditioned rooms, not fancy but perfectly comfortable and very clean, overlooking beautiful gardens . The swimming pool facilities are outstandingly good. There is an olympic sized pool for those who like to have a 'proper' swim, a smaller pool for little ones and an alternative large family pool . The beach is pebbly so you need a sun bed to sunbathe in comfort for which, unfortunately, a fee is charged. Beach towels are provided free of charge. The sea is clear and there is a great view of Mount Etna. However because the pools were so good - with plenty of free sun beds, we did not feel the need to use the beach very much! There are also tennis courts. table tennis, basket ball court and a fairly well equipped gym (which unfortunately is not air conditioned). There is a mini bus service to the Taormina cable car, However it is not difficult to use the local bus service which is inexpensive and takes you right up into the town. The hotel does not provide a large amount of information about the local area so I would recommend taking a guide book as there is lots to see and do. The hotel does provide information about organized trips a did our rep from Thompson (Romina). We booked the 4 trip 'package' found them to be very entertaining and informative especially the trips to Etna and Siracusa.

The food was plentiful and delicious. The evening buffet is particularly good with lots of fresh produce and a huge choice of dishes - a bottle of wine per room and bottled water is included. The instant juice at breakfast was the only minus.

The staff were without exception pleasant and helpful and the whole place is maintained to a high standard. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay here. Great resort. Well maintained, very clean, great facilities and layout and very friendly. The only minor disappointment was the standard of the breakfast buffet

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPSoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Can't understand some of the negative comments which we saw on Trip Advisor about this hotel. We were on a Thomson's holiday so as we got most of our information from the rep Romina, who was fantastic, maybe that was the difference. The dealings we had with the reception staff was good and the waiting and cleaning staff were very friendly. We were in the villa's which we found to be spacious, clean, well serviced (clean towels and maid service daily) and well kept, no chipped tiles etc. We were half board and found the buffet meals plentiful and good variety. We received a bottle of water and bottle of wine free every night with dinner and were able to exchange a dinner for a lunch and also the swap a dinner for a meal in the hotel pizzeria. The beach at the hotel was stony but there is a sandy beach 20 mins away in Giardini Naxos. The sunbeds at the hotel didn't have a mattress so a day round the pool was not the most comfortable. I would advise buying a lilo to put onto the bed if you intend to spend most of your time round the pool. We didn't use the bar in the hotel going to a little bar just 5 mins down the road which was very good value and friendly people. There was a free mini-bus from the hotel to the cable car at Mazzaro, just along the sea front from Giardini Naxos, which took you up to Taormina. We caught the local bus back to Recanati a few mins walk back to the hotel. Taormina a must see for shopping, people watching and history a large Greek amphitheatre with wonderful views of Etna and the surrounding countryside. A visit to Etna is also a must.

Room Tip: Villas were OK would always choose a 1st floor for views although terrace small, however the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annetteclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

the place is huge.large lobby,giant bar/lounge,dining room that holds hundreds,3 pools,large beach area(but rocky).we had a corner room-301 which had a wraparound deck and great views of taormina and the mountains.nicely kept and maintained.decent breakfast with good choices.juice was instant,tasted like tang.only had one dinner there,but choices were great.we were on a tour,so no meal plan.there were several good restaurants and a supermarket within 5 minute walk.refigerated minibar for beer,tonic water and soda which was really cheap at the market.also had gin and good wines at market.made our own gin/tonics includind lemon we clipped from the garden.you pay 8.5 euros for one at their bar.whole bottle of gin for same price.
make sure to go to taormina.local bus right on street.great place for views and best shopping in sicily.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacka82942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Just returned, and never ever visiting Naxos Beach again; staff unfrendly and arrogant, discusting behavior alltogether. Reasons, I think, was travelling with group of disabeled children, and being from Finland. Hotel was full of russians and germans, behaving mostly like drunken apes. Rooms were clean. Being all inclusive customers made us second class customers. I agree with Gandinis review; completely overrated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuija_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giardini Naxos
0.2 mi away
Hilton Giardini Naxos
Hilton Giardini Naxos
#3 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
1,460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Caesar Palace
Hotel Caesar Palace
#4 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
850 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
#7 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
169 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Olimpo
Hotel Olimpo
#1 of 11 in Letojanni
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atahotel Naxos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atahotel Naxos Beach

Property: Atahotel Naxos Beach
Address: Viale Recanati 26 | Giardini Naxos, Messina, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#4 Family Hotel in Giardini Naxos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atahotel Naxos Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atahotel Naxos Beach is a modern, all-around resort, just a few KM from Taormina. It offers a full range of services, that makes it the ideal place where to relax and unwind in a beautiful location. Sicily's crystal clear sea, its warm sunshine and the delicious food served in the five restaurants are just some of the things you can expect from Atahotel Naxos Beach, along with impeccable and attentive service. The modern congress center offsets the resort's sport and leisure activities, designed for families looking for an attractive holiday location with a full range of facilities: nightclub, swimming pools and shopping center. RESORT: 642 rooms: 189 in hotel (19 Junior Suites), 453 in cottages (63 Superior). Rooms available for disabled guests. 5 restaurants and 4 bar. Private beach. Beach umbrella, beds and chairs and towel service. Medical service. Newsstand. Tobacco products. Boutiques. Photographer. Laundry. Internet Point and Wi-Fi in common areas. SPA & WELLNESS: Massage and beauty treatments. Gym with trainer. Yoga and relax techniques. ACTIVITIES AND ENTERTAINMENT: 4 pools (including 2 for children and 1 Olympic). 2 tennis courts. 2 five-a-side football pitches. Group lessons for sailing, windsurfing, and canoeing. Archery, tennis, swimming, water gym, aerobics, and step aerobics. Tournaments:volleyball, basketball, soccer, water pool, tennis, bowls, ping-pong, chess, diving center, billiards and video games, discotheque, piano bar, entertainment staff, Baby and Mini Club. Near the resort: water skiing, parasailing, riding, jet ski, and pedal boats, Golf Club with 18 holes (25 km). EETINGS, CONFERENCES & EVENTS: 14 rooms and 1 plenary room for up to 780 people in theatre seatings. 1.600 m2 area. A large proposal for all events. Dedicated areas for any type of event with modular rooms. Theme party dinners in personalized, exclusive areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atahotel Naxos Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atahotel Naxos Beach Hotel Giardini Naxos
Atahotel Naxos Beach Giardini Naxos, Sicily
Naxos Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing