We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very noisy - average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Matrioska - CLOSED

La Matrioska
Price range: $1 - $39
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very noisy - average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on the previous reviews for our last night in Sicily.

The restaurant has a good atmosphere if you are a big crowd and enjoy lots of music and loud talking but as a couple we were looking for a romantic last night. A small band of musicians played (Russian?) music very loudly for several minutes and then came round asking for money. There were no candles on the table and the restaurant was very bright.

The menu is a Russian/Italian mix which seemed a bit strange and again wasn't what we had hoped for on our last night.

The restaurant is great if you want a bright, bold and fun night out with friends. If you are looking for a romantic evening it's probably not for you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We loved it - it was much more peaceful than the others in the area and the seating was more comfortable. The owner is quiet and so the whole reastaurant is run quietly, which we love. The food was all delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank shirleyt_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food, the owner a gentleman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Ate here twice with my family during a recent visit, mainly because the food was excellent (particularly the Zuppa di Pesce, which was a wide platter containing a range of beautifully cooked fish, rather than a bowl of fish soup), but also because the owner was very good at putting everyone at their ease. Our children really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JCC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice for a couples dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The wife and enjoyed dinner here, primarily for the atmosphere. Nice looking place, well maintained and clean. Food was very good and we will be back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yossarrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Much more than a Spaghetteria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

As if fantastic pasta, fresh seafood and a good atmospere was not enough, the kindness and friendly nature of the owner/server made it easy for me to argue we had one of our best meals here, after having been in Italy 4 weeks. As a newer place I would say it needs a bit more exposure to help it compete with its more long standing neighbors. You cannot go wrong eating here. Well priced and very well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Matrioska also viewed

Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing