We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Vela

La Vela
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denmark
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Because La Vela is located in touristy, if still charming, Giardini Naxos, we did not have high expectations for this place, but it seemed to always be more busy than the neighbouring restaurants, which we took to be a good sign. We ate here several times during our week in Sicily rotating between the pizzas and pastas on the menu. The pizza with speck and pistachios was amazing and one of the best pizzas I have ever tried.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anjo216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    290
    87
    40
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, stick to pasta ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The pasta and the bruschetta were very good. The meat wasn't so good and we sent it back.
The view is amazing, set on the waterfront of Giardini Naxos.

Helpful?
Thank buttless2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went for lunch on a beautiful day. Had a table out by the sea. The staff were competent and friendly in that aloof European way which I prefer to arrogance or obsequiousness. The entrees and mains were sensational Great wine. And such a great location. Interestingly we went back a few days later which can always be a mistake but, bingo. Just as good though it was raining and we had to sit inside.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Archimedes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For romantic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We read lots of good reviews about the place and decided to go. It was full by 9 p.m., we didn't make a reservation, but they found a nice place for us. The road by night was always blocked so that cars and scooters weren't a problem and you still could hear the sea. Portions were as big as everywhere. We were told that a portion of mussels was 'medium' for one and 'a bit small' for two, but apparently it was more than enough for two. The 'sea plate' was big too and consisted of a giant shrimp, a squid, a tuna and a sward fish. I must admit, one of us felt that he had to try their margarita too, so with a bottle of home wine it made a perfect dinner for two for 40 euros. We definitely recommend this place. I guess, the only true competitor of La Vela is La Cambusa. But...but...if you go for the best fish and don't mind not sitting by the sea you should visit La Pescheria. There are lots of good review about it too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Went for a pizza but had lunch instead!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This restaurant provides beautiful sea views of Giardini Naxos. We had intended having a pizza but the menu was very tempting and settled for lunch. The staff were extremely helpful and discussed quite a few things other than food. Fish was great but actually the whole meal was very different from the usual restaurants offering local dishes. And what better way than to wash it down with a bottle of Sicilian vino?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vela also viewed

Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 

Been to La Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing