We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Seafront Establishment”
Review of Le Desir Piquant

Le Desir Piquant
Ranked #16 of 133 Restaurants in Giardini Naxos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Seafront Establishment”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Just had dinner at Le Desir Piquant. Gary decided on the Swordfish and I took the Linguine with Sea Urchins. Both dishes were enjoyed along with a bottle of Etna red wine. Very reasonable - nice location with the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks in the background. Gary was able to finish off with a cigarette under the outdoor canopy. Nice people, too!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    132
    49
    18
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trento, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My favourite in Giardini”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I have been a customer of Roberto, the cook/owner of this place, since it first opened in (maybe) 2004. Since then I have come back about once per year and was never disappointed. The place has an indoor part, very nice and with an ethnic flavour, and a lovly outside area which is fantastic for warm evenings.
The food is the strong point of this place. It is an amazing mix of Sicilian and world food, capable of inventing amazing flavours by blending things of different origin.
I have a weak spot for the tuna and swordfish "duet" (two surface grilled but pink inside fish steaks seasoned with soy sauce) or the fish tartare with guacamole. Also, i have never tasted a tandoori chicken this good in Italy... Every time i enter this place I am pleasantlys surprised but the cook's ability to tickle my senses.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quisazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very tasty”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The aim of this restaurant is to mix traditional Sicilian food with ethnical recipes collected by chef Roberto during his numerous travels around the world. The “Alalunga” tartar served with wasabi is superb, don’t miss “Linguine ai Ricci” (sea urchins pulp) a real Sicilian specialty.
Sitting on the little square across the road just above the beach overlooking one of the most picturesque spot of the bay of Naxos is a privilege.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank backpaker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“A lovely little restaurant yards from the sea.”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We came across this lovely little restaurant at the end of our walk along the promenade and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. We both ordered seafood, it would make little sense ordering anything else right by the shore, and both starters and main courses were delicious. The kitchen was obviously busy that night but with a glass of wine in the hand, a selection of appetizers and a view looking over the mediterranean we were in no rush.
We ate out every night on our Italy trip and this is one of the few restaurants that sticks in my memory for all the right reasons.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank faith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Bad service, fish cold on a salad bathing in water...”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The pistachio pasta were nice but unfortunately the second course was disappointing. The waiter came with the full fish and seemed annoyed to have to clean it. When the pieces of fish came back, they were cold, full of bones and laying on lettuce swimming in water. All that for a bill of 45 euros per person including a bottle of wine, water and coffee. I would recommend you to avoid this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Coco73Bruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Desir Piquant also viewed

Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 

Been to Le Desir Piquant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing