We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food-good staff”
Review of La Spelonca

La Spelonca
Ranked #39 of 137 Restaurants in Giardini Naxos
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good food-good staff”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

About a two minute walk from the Hilton, I liked this place better then the restaurants right in front of that hotel. The hostess/owner is a charming woman who speaks about six languages. She sat down and reviewed the menu with me, making recommendations. The food was good, including pastas, pizza and swordfish. Prices are resonable. A group of locals seem to frequent the place too, always a good sign.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SoFLTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    79
    41
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awful service”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

They hire unprofessional staff and it is terrible. The food is also very average. They confuse orders and they do not have the tradition of one waiter serving one table. Annoying and frustrating.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga_Tsisarenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“four great Dinners with Music”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I visited Giardini-Naxos from May 16 to May 20 and stayed almost across the street at the Hilton Naxos. All my Dinners I enjoyed at " La Spelonca Restoranti " a typical Italian Trattoria. The ambiance is great, they also have outdoor seating available on a Patio. Each evening I arrived at 8:00 PM and my table was ready for me and I had each and every night the grilled " fresh fish plate " , a selection of several fresh fish prepared by a super chef. It tasted so good accompanied with a fresh green salad and some red wine. Towards the end of the meal the owner Tanino & Pippo, took out their guitars and started to make music which I loved, they sang the popular italian songs as well songs for their international clientele. I can highly recommend this establishment . There is a letter posted in the window from a diner who showed up 7 times.... you can't go wrong here, the food is good and so is the service and the hostess is very kind as well. Bon Appetite my friends...... I have a 30 sec. video of their singing but no photo, let me post the video.....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Norway, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little outdated concept”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Sitting in a hole, no wiev and boring food... I felt put back to Gran Canaria on the 80`s.. Nope, I will not go back... Food was boring, I ordered the same dish another place the day after, then I understood.. how bad it was.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lise12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great food, great service, great everything!! A visit to this restaurant is by far the best experience for us in the matter of food, service and entertainment together!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank axelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Spelonca also viewed

Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 

Been to La Spelonca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing