We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, peaceful hotel,staff very helpful”
Review of Hotel Villa Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sofia
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, peaceful hotel,staff very helpful”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from 2 nights at this hotel, we were very happy with our stay. The receptionist was extremely helpful, polite and friendly and went out of her way to speak English to us. The hotel itself is peaceful, sophisticated, clean and perfect if you are looking for a relaxing break. On arrival we received a room upgrade to one of the rooms overlooking the gardens, you could also see the car park but that was offset by being able to see the Lake from where we were. Our room was classically decorated and had everything you could want (mini bar with soft drinks and alcohol, safe and plenty of wardrobe space). I also saw one of the rooms on the first floor which had a stunning view of the lake. I agree with a previous comment about the eggs at breakfast needing replacing/topping up more often, but overall the breakfast was very good there is a choice of eggs/bacon as well as fruit, yogurt, toast, muesli, pastries etc. The hotel has a lovely outside dining area and it was a pleasure to be able to sit outside and eat breakfast peacefully. The hotel staff are very helpful and even escorted me to my friend's room when I asked whereabouts in the hotel it was. The only niggle we had was that the hotel does not have irons to borrow, which was most unhelpful as my friend was getting married and her father needed to iron his shirt, I was very surprised by this. The hotel does have an ironing service where they send your ironing to an external provider, but it might be something they want to consider introducing as I think most people would expect to have access to an iron in a hotel. Overall I found this hotel to be very pleasant and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Take a travel iron with you if you think you will need to use one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boylealb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the review you left on tripadvisor. I am very grateful for your nice words about the staff and the services of Villa Sofia. We will take in consideration your suggestion and surely in the future we will equip our laundry with an iron in order to offer this additional service to our guests. Your comments are very useful because they help us to improve service constantly.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in Villa Sofia.

Take care and have a wonderful time.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    46
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
82
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Villa Sofia is a classic building from the early 1900, with its own style. Some people have said the hotel is hard to find, which is partly true, as the street number isn't on any GPS device we had (car + 2 phones...), but once you find the street there are signposts to guide you at least to the rear entrance (best spot to park your car since no one goes there and the front parking is always full). We arrived very late in the evening, had called the hotel that we'd be late, which caused no trouble at all. Room was with a partial view of the lake, nice as we didn't specify. Room is spatious (for 2), we were on the 3rd floor. Though it was clean, there were traces of dust under the bed, nothing major but a lack of love for detail. Breakfast is hotel-classic, good but nothing to shout about. Service was nice, always helpful and friendly. One staff member must have spoken at least 4 languages (one east-european, Englis, Italian and German). I would recommend it as we had a nice time (3 nights) at the end of August 2012, and it was VERY hot outside.
Only gripe I have is that the isolation from the other rooms is rubbish. You can hear nearly everything. I usually hate this but for some reason I didn't mind this time around, must be the general good mood around there :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the review you placed on tripadvisor. Your comments are very useful in order to improve service and make your stay even more comfortable.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in Villa Sofia.

Truly yours,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have just spent a week at The Villa Sofia. After reading so many positive reviews we left feeling a little disappointed. Although the location is convenient for Gardone (being in-between the town by the lake and the town up the hill) We highly recommend the hire of a car to really see what the lake has to offer. There is no beach as such in Gardone although the Villa Sofia did have a very acceptable swimming pool area. Considering the cost of the accommodation and the lack of an in house restaurant we were expecting breakfast to be of a higher standard than what it actually was. The spread was mainly continental with some bacon and scrambled eggs. The eggs were lovely but the egg tray to our disappointment was almost always empty!
Our room was unfortunately on the ground floor with our view overlooking the breakfast terrace. Unfortunate, and we would recommend if you are given this room to ask for another. There was nothing worse than opening the windows in the morning for some sunlight and having 30 people peering at you!! Oh and no iron available on site so take your own or be prepared to pay 5 euro an item! In a nutshell we felt the Villa was more 3 star than 4 and thus unless you get an exceptionally good price it's just not worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor or above facing the lake and you won't be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CosEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment. I feel a bit sorry that you did not enjoy very much your stay in Villa Sofia.
Villa Sofia is situated in the setting of a beautifully tended Mediterranean park in the most elegant and tranquil part of Gardone Riviera. The Villa has been carefully restored in 2004 with love to details maintaining the historical Art Nouveau style.

We do our best to offer an adequate four star service to our guests and on site laundry is a part of this service.
At breakfast we offer a wide range of breads, cereals, croissants, cakes, juices, scrambled and cooked eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, fresh fruit salad, etc. that has been carefully selected to satisfy the taste buds of our national and international guests. We know that a good breakfast is essential and appreciated by all and your point of view will help us to improve our service even more.
If guests are not happy with the room we usually do our best at the reception to change it also during the stay if not possible on the first day.

It would be a great pleasure for me to welcome you again in this beautiful spot of lake Garda.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We came back from lake Garda on the 30th I was really looking forward to staying at the hotel Sofia it looked beautiful as it was,but the hotel had no atmosphere and not very good for kids as it only has 1 pool and no other entertainment ,some of the staff we found pleasant but we also found some rude espiacally the night watchmen. the standard rooms at the back had a busy road that kept us awake late and woke us up early,the hotel is not on the lake but a 15 min walk.I have stayed in only 4 and 5 star hotels and this was the worst in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guests,

I read the comment you placed on tripadvisor about your stay in Villa Sofia and I would like to express my disaproval.

Before booking Villa Sofia you had the possibility to see photos and read descriptions on our website that give a clear picture of Hotel Villa Sofia, so you already knew what service you can expect during your holiday.
I would like to point out that we have numerous comments on tripadvisor that love the atmosphere and calm of Villa Sofia.

Regarding the night watchman, he acted due to our hotel policy: he received some calls from other guests in the rooms who complained about loud voices at the pool (it was already 1 o’clock in the night), so he just came out to tell you this.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday in Villa Sofia, but I am disappointed about your negative comment, because Villa Sofia surely is an excellent hotel in its category.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed in Villa Sofia on our car trip round the Garda Lake. The location is just perfect, the hotel is quiet, has own svimming pool, is situated within walking distance to Teatro Vittoriale and some great restaurants and has a parking place big enough for all customers. The room was fine and spacious and the view to the Lake Garda was nice. If the personnel had been a little more attentive and helpful we might had given 5 points. They didn´t help us with advice a) how to use the free wifi (you must go back downstairs to get the access code), b) how to get to the Teatro Vittoriale easyly, or c) if it were possible to book massage in the sister hotel although there were a advertisement of it in the room. Sorry about those little things when you don´t have too much time to spare.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matkailija58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the review you left on tripadvisor. I am grateful for your nice words. Regarding the personnel of the Reception I would like to inform you that we try to give all useful and necessary information about the hotel during the check in and we apologize if we did not in your case.
You can be sure that our personnel at the reception is always at your disposal for any information you may need.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at Villa Sofia.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel is half way up the hill (10 min walk each way), between the restaurants and hotels on the lakeside and the livelier bars and restaurants of the upper part of the Gardone Riviera. It suited us as it was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of the waterfront when we wanted to but close enough to dip back in for a drink or meal. The room was a good size with a comfy firm double bed and nice fresh linen. We had a balcony and view through the trees of the lake even though we hadn’t paid for a room with a view. The en suite was spacious and clean – floor was a bit slippy so beware! Breakfast was served between 7.30am and 10.30am and consisted of a selection of juices, coffee/tea made to order, wholemeal and white bread rolls, bread for toasting, hot and cold meat (didn’t pay much attention to this as I’m a vegan), scrambled and boiled eggs, cheese, sliced tomatoes and cucumber. Several bowls of fresh and stewed fruit (prunes) were available with yogurt, cereal and a selection of fresh pastries and croissants. Jam, marmalade and all that stuff is available too… all in all a pretty good spread. I filled my boots! There was a mini-bar with tiny expensive drinks and no tea/coffee-making facilities in the room but there is a bar in the hotel and they can make you drinks for a charge. There is a very nice, clean pool to swim in at the front of the hotel. The only issue we had was on our last night a group of young ‘uns decided to go swimming and drinking at midnight – there was a bit of screaming and hooting but it wasn’t too bad. I didn’t want to complain as they were having such fun but we did have to get up at 6.30am… I’m sure the night porter would have helped had we complained. The kitchen staff served an early breakfast for us so we could leave at 7.30am. The staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful .I would return here – it’s a very nice hotel in a great spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - we got one even though we didn't pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. I am very happy about your nice words. Your comments are very helpful in order to improve services and make your stay even more comfortable.
I would be happy to welcome you again in this beautiful spot of lake Garda.

Truly yours,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We loved this hotel - beautiful setting overlooking the lake with a stunning pool. Perfect for a relaxing break - breakfast on the terrace everyday, lounger by the pool, ending with dinner in the cute village up the hill. Repeat that for 5 days and we were ready to stay for good!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amarsh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Sofia, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice comment. I am very glad you had a nice stay in Villa Sofia and I am very grateful about your compliments.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in this beautiful spot of lake Garda.

Truly yours,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gardone Riviera hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,046 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#6 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquarone
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquar...
#3 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sofia

Property: Hotel Villa Sofia
Address: Via Cornella 9, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Gardone Riviera
Hotel Villa Sofia Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing