We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquarone
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
143 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“charming small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights with 2 children 9 and 14. Our room was spacious and had two bedrooms and a huge patio overlooking the lake, which was very nice to sit out in the evenings. The only down side was you could hear the street from one of the bedrooms, but it was tolerable. It is an old building, but it has a lot of charm and is very clean.Service was very helpful and quick. The location is beautiful and right on the lake. We had lunch once and food was nice but not outstanding. There are many restaurants nearby and nice places you can walk to. We loved to spend the afternoons on the deck by the lake and we would definately return. The owners are very friendly and do everything to help and make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    60
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
128
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

We chose the Hotel Monte Baldo because of the good reports on TripAdvisor. However we were very disappointed with the hotel. Our holiday on Lake Garda was wonderful, with the exception of the Hotel Monte Baldo.
Among our problems were arriving at 10 pm in the evening and finding no-one on reception. We eventually located someone in the kitchen who had limited English and intimated that we were too late for any food. Our tour rep said that each hotel had their own arrangements for the evening meal we had paid for – clearly this hotel had no arrangements.
We had paid for half board so were looking forward to our nightly evening meal. This had to be taken on the lakeside – which might sound very romantic, but not when the wind is blowing! We had brought with us smart/casual clothes to wear in the evening, but we had to resort to jumpers and trousers to keep warm. So no relaxing romantic meals for us! Few other guests made an effort to look smart and we even had dogs lying around the tables during our meal. (The hotel said they were not allowed in the dining area but they were clearly there) As it was getting dark just after 8 pm (and the dinner slot was 7.30 – 8.30) it was inevitable that darkness would fall during the evening meal. One evening we ordered fish, which was on the menu every night. We had already realised that the fish fillets contained bones, so this particular evening we were expected to eat fish, with bones, in the dark. We asked for a candle, which some of the guests had, and one was brought to our table, but not lighted – the waitress said she didn’t have a light, and we weren’t smokers so we continued in the dark! In the end we had to resort to asking another guest for a light.
We felt that being British was a drawback. It seemed that the Germans were the majority nation by far in the hotel and they appeared to receive much better service than we did. We almost felt that the waiters were avoiding our table because none of them spoke any English, although we did our best to speak a little Italian. A smile would have gone a long way to make us feel welcome – sadly we didn’t see any smiles.
The sunbeds on the deck by the lake were always ‘bagged’ early by guests putting their towels on them although when we looked there were never any people lying on the sunbeds.
There were many others ‘gripes’ but one that stands out was that on the last day we went down to settle up our bill at ten minutes to 8 in the morning. We were told that Reception was closed and it would open at 8 am! The person suggested we come back later as the bill had not been prepared in spite of a recommendation that we pay the previous evening. Surely a couple of minutes doesn’t make that much difference when you want to pay your bill?
We would say that the cleanliness of the rooms and the quality if the food was very good, although the room decor and furniture was a little tired.
Our holiday on Lake Garda was good, despite the efforts of the staff at the Molte Baldo Hotel. We would never go back there as they seem unfriendly and unhelpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TandMHDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marchwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

From the roadside this hotel doesn't look very special but once inside you will see that it has a long lake frontage which is fabulous. We stayed for a fortnight and had booked a lake facing room with balcony. In addition, we also had a balcony off the bathroom - useful for sitting in the shade during the heat of the day! We could not find any fault with this hotel except that the aircon didn't cool the room enough. The food was excellent, extensive buffet breakfast and waiter service 3 course dinner plus salad buffet. The meals were always served outside on the terrace which is right by the lake. Even the ducks knew when it was time for breakfast or dinner!
There is a pool as well as lake bathing. I find it very annoying that some people choose to put their towels on loungers first thing in the morning and leave them there all day whether they are there or not. We sat there one afternoon for about 4 hours and nobody turned up to occupy half the chairs although the towels were out. But this is not the fault of the hotel, just other selfish holiday makers.
This is a family run hotel and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much and should we decide to have another holiday in Gardone we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

Myself and my wife stayed at the Monte Baldo Hotel during the first two weeks of June 2008. The hotel is superbly located on the edge of Lake Garda offering stunning views, immaculate service and cleanliness, but most of all - excellent Italian food freshly cooked, and imageinatively presented. Tables are situated outside on the lake side, and for a gastronomic romantic experience dinner at the Monte Baldo is top of my list.

We booked our holiday through Inghams and although we were highly satisfied with our bedroom (superb view) which was spotlessly clean with all facilities, nevertheless the decor was looking a little bit tired. Our bedroom was on the third floor - newly refurbished rooms on the second floor are beautiful, and newly decorated, but cost more. If you were on honeymoon it would be worth paying the extra.
There is a small pool, with plenty of sunbeds positioned in or out of the shade for sunbathers to relax and enjoy the lake-side views.

During our two week stay we met only one other English couple staying in the hotel.
Most guests were Italian, German, French and Swiss, many who love the hotel and its situation so much that they return regularly. A few hundred yards away is the Hotel Grand, reputed to be the best on Lake Garda. We twice joined friends for dinner at the Grand which has all the facilities you would expect from a hotel with 148 bedrooms, and catering mainly for the English. I would not have swopped hotels. The Grand couldn't hold a candle to the excellent food we enjoyed at Monte Baldo Hotel, and it would be hard for any hotel to capture the same friendly Italian atmosphere generated by a family who have owned the Monte Baldo since 1925.

The Gardone Riviera has a quiet, up market buzz, with a pictureesque promenade handy for boats which travel all round the lake. If you are looking for an idyllic setting then this is the place for you, but apart from pleasantly situated coffee bars and a few shops those looking for nightlife could be disappointed. The hotel and the setting make up for it - there are lively spots in Salo aprox 2 miles away from Gardone.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deegeestorywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands,Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

Lake Garda, Hotel Monte Baldo, Gardone Riviera,
September, 21st '08
We have just arrived home after spending a week in this lovely friendly hotel. We chose B&B as we like to eat out at different resturants.Our room was on the third floor with balcony and panoramic view of the lake, we found our room very comfortable,clean and had the comfiest bed ever. We had the choice of eating in the hotel or out in the beautiful private garden by the lake. The management and staff were very attentive and caring of everyone. All staff had good English which was good for us as we are not fluent in Italian. Ferry trips on the lake were great,so easy to get access to, ferry terminal is about 400metres from the hotel. We found a fabulous resturant called La Taverna about 500 metres from the hotel, ravioli to die for. Nearby is a Bancomat and Post Office, down by the ferry terminal a tourist office. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a quiet and relaxing holiday. We will return one day,hopefully in the near future.

  • Liked — Very relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inloveinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

We had a really lovely week at this hotel in early May. We found the hotel quite charming, a little old fashioned but this added to the charm of a typically old Italian villa.
This was our second stay on Lake Garda and we weren't disappointed. Our room had a balcony and looked over the lake (would recommend lake view as there was some traffic noise but it did not disturb us) The gardens are beautifully kept and we enjoyed eating on the terrace for our breakfast and dinner. The food was excellent, freshly cooked and nice quality. Not many choices here but the staff were very obliging and would get you something you liked if they could.
The resort is very quiet and unspoilt so don't go here if you are looking for some nightlife and there are not many shops. It's easy to get about on the boats to other resorts though.
If you like a taste of the real Italy this is the place to go.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank PatPLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthWest UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2008

A beautifully situated hotel, with delightful views of the lake, and lovely gardens full of old fashioned charm.
Admittedly the decor is not very modern, but the beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept on, the shower, hot and powerful and the view from our window to die for.
The staff are all charming and helpful, and go the extra mile to make sure your stay is comfortable.
It is in a very quiet spot, the road behind the hotel is busy, and after dinner, there is not much going on, but it is a five mimute walk to the lovely little promenade at Gardone, and the best coffee is to be found there at the Hotel Du Lac.
We found the food all to be wonderful and were even offered a range of alternatives when the set menu ( 2 choices) did not suit (I am alllergic to shellfish).
If you want a relaxing break in an idyllic location, or a good base to explore the lake from, then this is the hotel for you, if you want 24hr party time, then go some where else.
We found the Monte Baldo to be a superb hotel, enjoyed by each of the 3 generations in our party, and be warned, we will be back!!!

  • Liked — Beautiful view of the lake
  • Disliked — No kettle!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jainw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gardone Riviera hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#6 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Sofia
Hotel Villa Sofia
#8 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquarone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquarone

Property: Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquarone
Address: Corso Zanardelli 110, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquarone 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Monte Baldo with its annexed historic villa Acquarone, is set in a lush green park directly on the lake. It has its own equipped beach, private boat moorings, swimming-pool and an interior car park. Its 40 rooms have en-suite bathroom, balcony, telephone and satellite TV. Wireless zone, buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner are served on the lakeside terrace restaurant. The town centre, tourist port and tennis courts are just 300 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquarone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Baldo Hotel
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquarone Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing