We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent stay”
Review of Grand Hotel Fasano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Fasano
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2014

The hotel was wonderful - staff were incredibly helpful, the rooms were bright, spacious and clean and the (included) spa facilities a bit of a treat. Lots of nice touches like free fruit by the pool, and free snacks with any drink ordered. In terms of location it is west of the lake therefore a good hours drive from Verona airport, and a little secluded in terms of local town/amenities. Tended to be couples staying there, however a few families with older children. Overall very happy with stay!

Room Tip: Rooms with lake views a lot more expensive - we didn't have this but with so many private spots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J185UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 422 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

We have stayed in many luxurious hotels in Italy over the years but the Grand Hotel Fasano has been a wonderful discovery.
The location is breathtakingly beautiful, the rooms immaculate, spacious and luxuriously comfortable. The Fasano offers old-fashioned service and luxury, including fluffy towelling robes and slippers, complimentary water and chocolates, pastries and cakes and fruit, all delivered with an extraordinary attention to detail and service. The whole place - interior and grounds - is kept in immaculate condition. The Spa (Aveda) offers a great range of holistic and traditional treatments, as well as steam/sauna/gym/pool/jacuzzi etc plus outdoor pools and hydrotherapy baths. And the food is some of the very BEST we have had at any hotel - ever! The breakfast buffet is seriously good, and quite different from the usual, with the freshest and juiciest fruit, the most mouth-wateringly delicious pastries and croissants and the best poached eggs I've had in any hotel for a long time (a la carte). Lunches and dinners in the Magnolia restaurant were consistently delicious, offering great pasta, fresh fish, steaks and salads; and our dinners in Il Fagiano were truly exceptional.

After 10 days at the Fasano there were only a couple of issues we could find fault with:
Wifi - as others have said is hit and miss and the hotel management need to address this. TV Channels - 11 German tv channels to 1 English channel (CNN)? I know this perhaps reflects where most of the hotel's custom comes from, but there were quite a few other English people staying when we were there. I think the hotel could add at least one other English channel. But these are minor issues and will not stop us from returning to this wonderful hotel.

The Grand Hotel Fasano a new firm favourite and deserves every one of its five stars.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadwithpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Lovely large, classic hotel right on the lake. Wifi was free but very spotty and erratic. To be fair weather was terrible all but two days of 5 day visit. Breakfast buffet was lovely, especially on sunny days with good service and tasty items. One day there was a live guitar player which was very nice and I loved the morning prosecco!
Restaurant however did not rate high with me. We only ate at Magnolia restaurant as the more upscale restaurant menu did not move us. I was not impressed with the food at all and the service while very efficient and pleasant was constantly hovering and pacing. As soon as you finished your meal the plate was whisked away and table was cleared. Wait staff was constantly pouring water and wine as if to rush us out of there yet Restaurant was never crowded so I assume folks went elsewhere. I was unimpressed with the menu and food, carbonara was really just egg yolk with no other flavor. Meat and vegetables again while ok had no spice or flavor at all. I have been to Italy 5 times and spent 7 weeks in Umbria last year so I am familiar with good Italian cooking. A short car ride to Salo proved to be fun and we had a wonderful lunch seaside. Overall nice hotel, lovely grounds, but disappointing food.

Room Tip: Lake view room a must. Beds were comfortable, nice linens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValerieJo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Set beside the lake in Gardonne, amazing views, surrounded in beautiful gardens - a really great find.
Set in an old property that has been renovated to a modern but regal style. View from our lakeside view room was amazing, could sit on that balcony for hours.
Fantastic breakfast, great restaurants where the chef would come out to meet the guests.
Lovely Aveda spa, great indoor and outdoor pools, plenty of sun loungers.
Great for couples and honeymoons.
Approx 15 mins walk to Gardonne where you can catch ferries to travel around the lake, plenty of restaurants which are very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Certainly worth upgrading to a lake view room, views to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuffolkNik100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Beautiful setting on the lake. A magnificent garden. A totally renovated swimming pool together with on of the largest spa and indoor pool I have been to. A fantastic restaurant under a huge magnolia in the garden, with local and international delicacies. A short drive away from the historical point of Garda and from the other beautiful spots like Salo, Sermione etc. It really worth it's - expensive- price. The service is extremely high class, starting from the maids and going all the way up to the maître d.we really had a relaxing Holliday, pampered appropriately .

Room Tip: Definitely lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank kYazitzoglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have just returned from our third visit to the Grand Hotel Fasano.
Whilst the hotel is still as lovely as ever, an old and nostalgic lakeside property refurbished to offer modern day facilities and a fabulous Aveda Spa, there was something not quite right this time.

It's the little things, the things that one would expect from a 5 star property, that were missing. A frequent dissatisfaction was the food and the attitude of some of the staff. It was as if it was an effort to serve us and we were an inconvenience. The lobster in the Magnolia restaurant was very disappointing, I'd go as far as to say the worst I've ever had, but we were late to dinner and so I didn't complain. The next night we waited over an hour and a half for our food to be brought to table, by which time my daughter was so tired she was in tears and so went to bed with no food. We also ate in the terrace bar, but on two occasions the crudites were not freshly prepared, brown dried ends to the celery, dried out carrot and cucumber and peppers that had deteriorated, not at all acceptable, but again we didn't make a fuss because we just do not like to complain and in fairness the other meal which was cheeseburger and fries was very nice as was the home cured salmon and fennel. We mentioned this to the concierge, Jay, and he recommended that we should have alerted the staff because otherwise they cannot address the issues, which is a very fair comment. We wanted to try the hotel's a la carte menu but we were told that my 11 year old daughter's request for a plain pasta could not be accommodated so we didn't bother. Instead we went next door to the Casino Restaurant which we would highly recommend, where we enjoyed a fabulous meal and our daughter was very nicely catered for with a simple pasta dish which was not on the menu.
The last straw for us was the occasion when we ordered a cheeseburger, a side of fries and asked if we could also have a mixed salad side order. We were refused because it is not on the menu! At this point I did go to the office to say that this and all the other little niggles were not what we expected from a 5 star hotel at the rates charged. The director confirmed that the system would not allow for a side salad to be served. This I felt was ludicrous having had a bar/restaurant in the past I know that we would not have refused such a simple request for the satisfaction of the customer. The way in which my complaint was handled removed any respect I may have had for the director. I have never felt so patronised and been dismissed so rudely. He was not interested in the slightest, although Nives did assure me that she understood completely and would take it up again later when the director had more time.
In short, hotels are about people and the owner/director who loses sight of this fact is heading into dangerous waters. Guests at any establishment deserve to feel that they are valued and appreciated, but visitors to an establishment such as Grand Hotel Fasano have particularly bought into an expectation of satisfaction at all levels.
Without doubt the hub of this hotel is Jay the head concierge and without him the hotel is nothing and it shows when he is off duty. The other reception staff are also a credit to the hotel. Breakfast service is still lovely and the waiters very helpful and courteous. The Aveda Spa is fantastic, in particular Angela and Silvia...and if the opportunity arises I strongly recommend Claudio for the Reiki treatment.
I think on the whole we would prefer to remember the first visit we made four years ago, when the restaurant was uncomplicated but excellent and offered a warm and enthusiastic welcome with a complementary glass of Prosecco from the maitre'd. Happier times....thank heavens Jay was still in residence!

Room Tip: Room 252 and 254 have an adjoining terrace overlooking the pool, Magnolia restaurant and the lake. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Lawernce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. The hotel is situated right on the banks of Lake Garda, surrounded by acres of well tended private garden. An idyllic & peaceful setting. Built in the later 19th Century, it is a majestic property which evokes images of a bygone era though a recent refurb means it is also modern & pristine. Our room was solidly constructed & handsomely & tastefully kitted out with a very comfortable bed, fine linens & a glimpse of the lake. We adored the breakfast which is served on a terrace overlooking the lake. The Magnolia restaurant is also charming, situated under 2 huge old Magnolia trees. We ventured to La Darsena, the hotels beach club/lounge restaurant located around 25 minutes walk from the Fasano but it wasn't worth the effort for either food or setting, not nearly as nice a situation as the hotels' 2 in-house restaurants. There are a few eateries within walking distance of the hotel plus a handful in a beautiful area above the main town called Gardone Sopra. The most popular visitor sight in the area, Il Vittoriale degli Italiani, former residence of the eccentric poet Gabriele D'Annunzio, is also situated here. Gardone Riviera is smaller than some of Garda's towns & a car is recommended for exploring further though ferries to other towns operate from here & a dinky tourist train serves Gardone Sopra. The hotel provides ample free parking. Loungers are plentiful, well spaced across the pretty gardens & around the nicely designed outdoor pool which features a children's slide at one end. A tunnel connects the outdoor pool to the spacious indoor one which is fun & elegantly done. Our little boy enjoyed the hotel & there were a few other families but in general the hotel attracts an older clientele. All in all the Grand Hotel Fasano is a great choice for any visit to lovely Lake Garda.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
282 reviews
22.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#14 of 67 in Sirmione
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
464 reviews
9.1 mi away
Palace Hotel Villa Cortine
Palace Hotel Villa Cortine
#20 of 67 in Sirmione
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Fasano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Fasano

Address: Via Zanardelli, 190, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: $284 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Fasano 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a frontage directly onto the peaceful western edge of the lake, this luxury five star hotel has rather exceptional qualities for the discerning guest. Privately owned, it stands in 12.000 Square meters of tranquil and secluded sub-tropical gardens. It has a heated swimming pool, access to the lake for water sports. Public rooms, including spacious lounges, are furnished with elegant sophistication and panache. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Fasano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Grand Hotel Fasano Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing