We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something missing.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Fasano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Fasano
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Something missing.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have just returned from our third visit to the Grand Hotel Fasano.
Whilst the hotel is still as lovely as ever, an old and nostalgic lakeside property refurbished to offer modern day facilities and a fabulous Aveda Spa, there was something not quite right this time.

It's the little things, the things that one would expect from a 5 star property, that were missing. A frequent dissatisfaction was the food and the attitude of some of the staff. It was as if it was an effort to serve us and we were an inconvenience. The lobster in the Magnolia restaurant was very disappointing, I'd go as far as to say the worst I've ever had, but we were late to dinner and so I didn't complain. The next night we waited over an hour and a half for our food to be brought to table, by which time my daughter was so tired she was in tears and so went to bed with no food. We also ate in the terrace bar, but on two occasions the crudites were not freshly prepared, brown dried ends to the celery, dried out carrot and cucumber and peppers that had deteriorated, not at all acceptable, but again we didn't make a fuss because we just do not like to complain and in fairness the other meal which was cheeseburger and fries was very nice as was the home cured salmon and fennel. We mentioned this to the concierge, Jay, and he recommended that we should have alerted the staff because otherwise they cannot address the issues, which is a very fair comment. We wanted to try the hotel's a la carte menu but we were told that my 11 year old daughter's request for a plain pasta could not be accommodated so we didn't bother. Instead we went next door to the Casino Restaurant which we would highly recommend, where we enjoyed a fabulous meal and our daughter was very nicely catered for with a simple pasta dish which was not on the menu.
The last straw for us was the occasion when we ordered a cheeseburger, a side of fries and asked if we could also have a mixed salad side order. We were refused because it is not on the menu! At this point I did go to the office to say that this and all the other little niggles were not what we expected from a 5 star hotel at the rates charged. The director confirmed that the system would not allow for a side salad to be served. This I felt was ludicrous having had a bar/restaurant in the past I know that we would not have refused such a simple request for the satisfaction of the customer. The way in which my complaint was handled removed any respect I may have had for the director. I have never felt so patronised and been dismissed so rudely. He was not interested in the slightest, although Nives did assure me that she understood completely and would take it up again later when the director had more time.
In short, hotels are about people and the owner/director who loses sight of this fact is heading into dangerous waters. Guests at any establishment deserve to feel that they are valued and appreciated, but visitors to an establishment such as Grand Hotel Fasano have particularly bought into an expectation of satisfaction at all levels.
Without doubt the hub of this hotel is Jay the head concierge and without him the hotel is nothing and it shows when he is off duty. The other reception staff are also a credit to the hotel. Breakfast service is still lovely and the waiters very helpful and courteous. The Aveda Spa is fantastic, in particular Angela and Silvia...and if the opportunity arises I strongly recommend Claudio for the Reiki treatment.
I think on the whole we would prefer to remember the first visit we made four years ago, when the restaurant was uncomplicated but excellent and offered a warm and enthusiastic welcome with a complementary glass of Prosecco from the maitre'd. Happier times....thank heavens Jay was still in residence!

Room Tip: Room 252 and 254 have an adjoining terrace overlooking the pool, Magnolia restaurant and the lake. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lawernce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    70
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
57
236
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
762 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. The hotel is situated right on the banks of Lake Garda, surrounded by acres of well tended private garden. An idyllic & peaceful setting. Built in the later 19th Century, it is a majestic property which evokes images of a bygone era though a recent refurb means it is also modern & pristine. Our room was solidly constructed & handsomely & tastefully kitted out with a very comfortable bed, fine linens & a glimpse of the lake. We adored the breakfast which is served on a terrace overlooking the lake. The Magnolia restaurant is also charming, situated under 2 huge old Magnolia trees. We ventured to La Darsena, the hotels beach club/lounge restaurant located around 25 minutes walk from the Fasano but it wasn't worth the effort for either food or setting, not nearly as nice a situation as the hotels' 2 in-house restaurants. There are a few eateries within walking distance of the hotel plus a handful in a beautiful area above the main town called Gardone Sopra. The most popular visitor sight in the area, Il Vittoriale degli Italiani, former residence of the eccentric poet Gabriele D'Annunzio, is also situated here. Gardone Riviera is smaller than some of Garda's towns & a car is recommended for exploring further though ferries to other towns operate from here & a dinky tourist train serves Gardone Sopra. The hotel provides ample free parking. Loungers are plentiful, well spaced across the pretty gardens & around the nicely designed outdoor pool which features a children's slide at one end. A tunnel connects the outdoor pool to the spacious indoor one which is fun & elegantly done. Our little boy enjoyed the hotel & there were a few other families but in general the hotel attracts an older clientele. All in all the Grand Hotel Fasano is a great choice for any visit to lovely Lake Garda.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel is located in a great location.from our room you could hear the water waves of the lake. the concierge jay was very helpfullthe stuff at the resturant is very nice and breakfast is wonderfull/ we had a great time we will be back/.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gronsky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just spent a brief weekend at GHF and loved every minute of it. Firstly the setting is absolutely second to none, right on the banks of the lake with stunning gardens surrounding the entire hotel. Not to be missed is the restaurant in the garden, set underneath an enormous tree where we experienced a truly memorable meal with some great local wines. The hotel rooms were of a high standard, immaculately clean and well serviced.....but we have stayed in better rooms for 440 euro per night (lakeview room). Finally the staff. All were attentive, professional and nothing seemed too much trouble. A special mention goes to the head concierge Jay who couldn't do enough for us at any time of the day or night. He is a massive asset to the hotel team! A final note, be brave and go for a dip in the lake......its so clean & refreshing...you won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baxter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 nights here at the end of June and thought the hotel was fantastic. We stayed in a room in Villa Principe which is a smaller building right next to the main hotel. Our room was very spacious, comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. All staff were very attentive and helpful. The pool and sunbed area was vast with plenty of space overlooking the lake. Drinks were pretty pricey but came with a huge supply of delicious bar snacks. Food in both restaurants was great and you can easily walk to other good restaurants nearby of you want a change of scenery (we loved restaurant Casino). Definitely worth the money and we left feeling relaxed, stress-free and well and truly pampered.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LPlatt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aerdenhout, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed for almost a week in this hotel. To summarize: if you do not like this hotel, you will not like it anywhere. Surely this is one of the nicest hotels on the Garda lake and very recommendable. The hotel has been renovated and features tastefully refurbished, big rooms. Bathrooms are not vey big but more than adequate. Preferably take a room on the second floor or upwards to enjoy the full view of the lake (view not restricted by the palm trees) from the balcony and the room itself. Terrace is nicely done, again with tasteful hardwoord furniture. Dinner in the Magnolia restaurant is good and wonderfully located under two very old magnolia trees. Dinner in the other restaurant is more pricy but not that much better; I'd stay with the Magnolia. Breakfast offers ample choice (e.g. fresh fruit, smoked salmon, various rolls and cereals etc.). Plenty of beds in the garden and swimming access to the lake as well as the pool (both in- and outdoor). Parking spaces available on both sides of the hotel. The staff really is very friendly, with special compliments to Jay and Stella - they go out of their way to make you feel at home. Probably not very suitable for families with young children - the general public was middle-aged and upwards. One of our family needed wheelchair access and this was ok (but no special handles in the bathroom).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smit_luydert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We were blown away by our memorable stay here. It is expensive but I would personally rather pay that bit more for a unique & exceptional hotel, which this is, rather than something generic. It is only a 20 minute walk from the centre of town where there is a wide variety of restaurants.

My only constructive criticisms would be no conditioner in the showers, the bed was two beds pushed together (but still v comfortable) & the bar staff were sometimes quite slow in taking orders & serving drinks on the terrace in the evening. These didn't detract from our overall fantastic stay however, and I would definitely recommend his hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marmiteandmerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
22.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa del Sogno
Hotel Villa del Sogno
#7 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquarone
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquar...
#3 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Fasano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Fasano

Property: Grand Hotel Fasano
Address: Via Zanardelli, 190, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Fasano 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a frontage directly onto the peaceful western edge of the lake, this luxury five star hotel has rather exceptional qualities for the discerning guest. Privately owned, it stands in 12.000 Square meters of tranquil and secluded sub-tropical gardens. It has a heated swimming pool, access to the lake for water sports. Public rooms, including spacious lounges, are furnished with elegant sophistication and panache. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Fasano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Grand Hotel Fasano Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing