We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel Fasano, My stay, end of May 2013”
Review of Grand Hotel Fasano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Fasano
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel Fasano, My stay, end of May 2013”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

First I must state that my wife and i are from the Staes and speak very little italian.The hotel was not hard to find since we had a GPS. When we walked in we met Jay at the desk and what a pleasure he was. He actually spoke English, Italian and German along with having answers to all our questions.

We booked this trip on Expedia and I wish now we would have called hotel directly. Many of the staff spoke english and were VERY nice.

The wine and food was excellent along with a wait staff thatmade a real difference. Luca, Marina and the rest made it special. Kudos for them as I rarely have a compliment.

The room was nice and excellent by Italian standards but only a low 4 star by my standard which is quite high and I am hard to please.

The king bed was actual two small beds pushed together. Ugh, made my life hard when amorous.

the bathroom did not have enough counter space but we lived through it.

All in all, I recommend this hotel for the hard to please. The location was near perfect if you want to really see this part of Italy and experience wnat it has to offer.

Mark and Marilyn

Room Tip: an upgrade is worth it if you are staying more than 2 days definately want a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    72
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
57
245
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

A huge variety of amenities! Luxurious car and yaughts rentals, aveda spa, complex of saunas and pools, gym, restaurants, exclusive collection of drinks and spirits (best grappas in Italy), excellent service, creative chef and pleasant design. We were lucky to have a sunny weather and enjoy outside pools and services. There are a lot of indoor spots though. Great view on the lake from the room. Local ducks made our stay:)

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pualani_dakine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We loved the dinner. The best dinner since a long time!
Fabulous service , great wine and a young chef in the kitchen. The starters are a must!
The spa is very inviting , the few treatments very well done..
It's great for any age as one just enjoys the lovely hotel, the garden, the massive magnolia, the peace of the lake.. Rooms are average ..old.. But the terrace we had made up for the room.. Somehow this place is so calming that one doesn't mind or bother about the room standard.. Enjoy the day and the evening with a sunset or rain.. Looked great too.. And sleep over ;)

We liked it .. We will be back.. Will definitely recommend..
Lunch was ok.. So I'd recommend getting out over the day if not high season and be back for dinner.. 8 days in Italy and that was by far the best foie gras I have had in a while.. And I lived in the south of France...

Great place

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unikat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Overall we would happily recommend this hotel to friends (4.5 stars) although we would make some qualifying remarks. Firstly the location is magical and the establishment stylish if a little old world for some tastes. The service is excellent and very friendly, making its contribution to the overall success of this get-away-from-it-all break. That leads us nicely to the spa section of the hotel: best ever spa treatments is how we would describe it. Worth the money and again, friendly service.
What then, you may ask, are the qualifications? Well, while breakfast is a treat and very generous the in-house restaurant has a limited and somewhat pretentious menu. The food is fine - the fish is a highlight - but go elsewhere if you're looking for more variety or larger portions. That said the service here is also relaxed and friendly. Overall Grand Hotel Fasano has been exactly what we hoped it would be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited the Grand Hotel Fasano for our honeymoon a few weeks ago. The hotel is lovely with a beautiful view over looking Lake Garda. Breakfasts (huge!) are served on the balcony by attentive staff and we had a lovely, tasty dinner in the main restaurant which I thought was reasonably priced considering a 5 star hotel. The swimming pools and spa are a real bonus. I had a few treatments in the spa and is was fabulous!! Excellent service all round from the room cleaners to the concierge service!! The hotel, it's grounds and our individual room were very clean. The staff are friendly, attentive and very professional. Special thanks to Giuseppi, Alessio, Luca the '911 cocktail creator!', and Jay.
The village of Gardona is a ten/twelve minute walk down the road from where you can pick up the boats for the Lake; Salo is a small taxi ride away.
We will definitely be back.
Lizzie & James

Room Tip: Go for the lake view - priceless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Spent seven nights here after Easter and it is all absolutely stunning, extremely pretty grounds, albeit it isn't even in flower yet! Looking over Lake Garda with beautiful balustrading on the water's edge. The hotel is all cream/white gold in decor inside, with even a large elegant white bird cage with white tiny birds in in the main salon just off the reception area. - the room we had was absolutely fantastic with ornate bedhead and canopy, comfy ornate table and chairs, beautiful lamp bases etc. again all in cream and gold. Full bathroom suite and we had a shower cubicle that looked out onto the lake (with a modesty screen etched on the window to a certain height)! so you could shower and look out onto the Lake at the same time. Can't praise the decor enough, it is so romantic and far superior to other 5* hotels I looked at before booking. Had a triple balcony with loungers and chairs and tables - it was heaven! Service was perfect throughout, with very friendly staff (notably a lady I think her name was Rivas/Rives - she was simply wonderful, a little angel). The formal dining room was pricey as you would expect really, and VERY formal to the point where I personally didn't relax (but others may like this),as the waiters were so attentive. Breakfasts were lovely though, with plenty of choice from the buffet table both hot and cold. Some of the hotels along this west side of the lake have rather ugly fronts (albeit the lake sides are ok) as you drive along or are literally straight onto the road, but this hotel is very pretty with trompe l'oeil paintings on the frontage and again pretty grounds to drive into, with oil burning candles at night time. Didn't use the Spa, but had a walk round and it looked gorgeous. You will not be disappointed if you are booking this for a special holiday as I did. Rooms are immaculate with bedding changed every day and towels changed morning and evening. Children are catered for too in the rooms. Whilst expensive it is well worth every penny and I was so glad I booked this hotel rather than the other 4&5* hotels along the same strip after I had actually seen them all.... There are restaurants too (I will rate these also) about one Km away to your left as the hotel is behind you if you want to walk - look for the 'Grand Hotel' and and there is a little village on the water's edge and a small square and a few restaurants here. Other than that there is Moderno, a larger village to your right which is a 5/6 minute car journey, where there are restaurants too. Everything I had asked for, like champagne in the room upon arrival, was there on time and they also left a lovely plate of fresh fruit all wrapped up in cellophane. Can't praise this Hotel enough and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view. We had room 204.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We finished off our honeymoon perfectly with a four night stay here.
You could spend all your time at the hotel, but the local town is well worth a look too.
Fantastic breakfasts.
Pricey, but worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vet-n-doctor-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,047 reviews
22.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
434 reviews
9.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#13 of 68 in Sirmione
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa del Sogno
Hotel Villa del Sogno
#7 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Fasano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Fasano

Property: Grand Hotel Fasano
Address: Via Zanardelli, 190, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Fasano 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a frontage directly onto the peaceful western edge of the lake, this luxury five star hotel has rather exceptional qualities for the discerning guest. Privately owned, it stands in 12.000 Square meters of tranquil and secluded sub-tropical gardens. It has a heated swimming pool, access to the lake for water sports. Public rooms, including spacious lounges, are furnished with elegant sophistication and panache. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Fasano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Grand Hotel Fasano Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing