We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Borgo degli Ulivi
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Location quite high up but with wonderful views of the lake. Apartment spacious and clean and because we went slightly out of season the complex was very quiet. No restaurant on site so was quite a walk down ( hard work getting back) to a handful of nice places to eat. To walk all the way down to the lakeside about 30 minutes downhill but we got a taxi back. Option of having fresh bread delivered in a morning was lovely. Would highly recommend these apartments

Room Tip: Ask for a front line room- they have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 69 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

The residence is very nice and clean. You should have a car; the location is on top of a hill. Parking was free. The personal was very, very friendly and helpful. I had one problem: My laptop did not work, however, the laptop from other guests did work?!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resorttrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for five nights on a tour around Italy. It is high on a hillside which means that you have fantastic, unsploit views of the Lake and is lovely and quiet. On the downside, that does mean that unless you've got a car, you will need to be reasonably fit to walk up and down from the town as its quite a long, steep climb.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was very spacious and had a little terrace at the front, where we could sit and have breakfast, admiring the views. Everything in the apartment was modern and clean and we really couldn't fault it. My only grumble was that despite staying five nights, no-one offered us any clean towels during that entire stay.
The pool and the grounds were very well kept. While, as other reviewers have noticed, there is quite a bit of noise which comes from the pool equipment - no doubt to keep it so clean, we found we could avoid this but sitting on some of the beds overlooking the pool area, rather than immediately beside it.
My only other real warning - other than the point about the need for a car, is that the garage is situated below the apartments and the spaces are quite small if you've got a larger vehicle. So do be careful.
Overall, I would thoroughly recommend these apartments for those looking for relaxing, self-catering option in the Gardone Riviera area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AshleyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

We (myself, my wife and two kids 2 and 7)have just returned from Borgo degli ulivi and we have had a really great holiday. The grounds of the hotel are excellent for the kids they loved the pool (excellent views) and the play area.
There is a bar down at the pool which sells snacks and drinks which you can charge to your room or pay at the time. The pools were watched by a lifeguard for about 11 hours a day, the small pool was great for my 2 year old as it only came upto her tummy so she felt more than happy in there, the big pool had gradual steps to get in and then sloped off to about 2 metres deep (for you swimmers it is about 15-20 metres long.
If you like places that are full of English people, this isn't the place for you as we were the only english people there for the first week, there were quite a lot of Germans, Danes and dutch people there who could nearly all speak good english though(probably better than mine!) who were all very nice and sociable.
If you were to have any problems they were sorted very quickly by the maintenance guy who looked permanently knackered but he was a really nice guy who took pride in his job.
The view from our apartment was ok (one row back from the front row), but if you rent an apartment on the front the view is magnificent.
Our room was good, however the only downside was that it was only the main bedroom that was air conditioned (which they do state on their website) which is fine for keeping the downstairs of our apartment cool, but our apartment had a second bedroom upstairs (my bedroom) that was unfortunately like an oven permanently. Saying this though the kids slept like babies in the downstairs room.
There were plenty of things to do in the area from going to Venice on the train (2 hours, 55 euro return for of us), Milan (1hr 15 mins, 30 euros return for all of us) these trains leave Desenzano del garda regularly. We also drove to Verona (about 1 hour) it was well worth a visit.
We hired a motorboat (40hp no license required for 215 euros inclding fuel) for a day with a company in Manerba (Nautica Gardamare?? i think! Great people and multi-lingual also) which was really great fun and a must if you want to see the lake and its surroundings from a different vantage point. It was sometimes difficult to get moored up at some ports but we barged our way in. We visited Sirmione, Torri del barco (lunch), Malcesine and Limone. This took about 9 Hours but the kids loved every minute of it.
We had some mixed experiences of restaurants I won't name and shame them but we had some good meals on the lakeside at Gardone and other ok ones but with very very slow service. But our best meals by far were at a place called 'Angeli' (this may be spelt wrong but reception staff know it and they booked it for us) and another place called 'Riolet' these are both a very short distance from the apartments but i would only recommend driving as the roads are dark and quite small which would be to dangerous for walking.
There is a man-made sandy beach at Toscolano Maderno which has a platform for people to jump off into the lake with heights varying from 10-20 feet high, my seven year old loved it and was very confident jumping off the highest platform (i tried hard to look confident but I was scared to death!) if you have kids 7+ it is an absolute must! the only thing about the beach is that the sun loungers are very expensive, we had three beds and an umbrella and it came to 23 euros and you can't take a towel and stick it on the beach by the lake as we saw many people uncerimoniously kicked off the beach for doing just that.
If you are sporty I am sure there are some excellent roads for cycling (loads of cyclists everywhere) and also some great walks nearby as a belgian family we met went for walks up mountains most late afternoons. I am a swimmer and I had grand ideas of swimming to Bardolino and other places but after being out on the lake in a boat, I will tell you it isn't safe, but i did swim loops near the Grand Hotel which was fine but the water wasn't too clear so open water swimming experience is an advantage for seeing where you are going!
If you arrive on a Saturday night/Sunday morning there is a supermarket (Sima) open in Toscalano Maderno but it is only open until 1.30 on Sundays, just drive through Toscalano Maderno and you will eventually see it on the left on your way out of the town (very limited parking). The best supermarket is the same company but it is on the south side of Salo and the roads can be rather busy especially at the weekends.
One more mention is that all of the staff were very friendly, multi-lingual and helpful at the resort.
All in all a very pleasent and relaxing two weeks, it would be an excellent vote if it wasn't for the air conditioning problem upstairs which for 3000 euros rent you might expect a little better, but hey heat rises!
I hope my review is helpful for you

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
33  Thank JamesMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank NapoliDody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: In den oberen Etagen ist die Aussicht besser
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niederrheintramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sandrine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
465 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ville Montefiori
Hotel Ville Montefiori
#18 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Sogno
Hotel Villa del Sogno
#8 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#15 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
87 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Tre Punte
Hotel Tre Punte
#3 of 3 in Navazzo
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Borgo degli Ulivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Borgo degli Ulivi

Address: Via Panoramica 8, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#9 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: $94 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Borgo degli Ulivi 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Borgo degli Ulivi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Borgo Degli Ulivi Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing