We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant low cost stay”
Review of Hotel Diana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Diana
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Ferrara, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant low cost stay”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We booked a double room and a single room (actually a double single use) in this simple two stars hotel the first tow days of June. We didn't have many claims, just a tidy place with good food in the village Gardone and I'm glad we chose Hotel Diana. Rooms are tiny but not oppressive and the view of the lake from the balcony is worthy. Cooking was excellent. 55 euro per person per day half board for a weekend was exactely what we asked. Of course if you wish more services (swimming pool, wellness centre, private parking a few meter distant) don't choose this hotel and be prepared to spend more. But if you just want to spend a few days visiting the Vittoriale, Heller Garden and the surroundings, having dinner at the hotel I think that's a good choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor have the best view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
13
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kilmaurs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have never stayed in the hotel but eaten there on many occasions and while it isn't fine dining, it is good honest homemade food made with the best of the local produce. The Saltimbocca is hard to beat and la Mamma's lasagne is not to be missed! A good menu with lots of variation and I can honestly say I have never had a bad meal there ever. The staff are very hospitable and eating by the lakeside another big plus. Don't be put off by the negative reviews, try it at least once and see for yourself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley77721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We popped in here for our final meal before leaving for home, and like most restaurants in the area it was overpriced.However what made this restaurant stand out was the very poor service from the owner and the owners poor and irritating manner. The portions were measly ( a portion of chips were the size of the palm of your hand) and the side dishes that came with the main meal were virtually non existent. The quality of the food was adequate but not up to restaurant standard compared to say the Taverna or the Wimmer in Gardone which are excellent. The chips arrived after the main meal had finished because he got the order wrong, claiming I hadn't asked for chips, when I had. My advice would be to go to another restaurant.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 24evans64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked this hotel for a 2 night stay in August, high season. At first, we regretted the decision. We had to park our car and drag our cases down a cobbled slope, pushing through restaurant tables to get to the lake front, then more hot and sweaty searching. We found it and were met with a big smile from the charming owner, Andrea, who gave us a key and showed us to the micro-elevator. We crammed ourselves and bags in, and with trepidation, up we went. Spirits sinking further, we entered the room. Good job we didn't have a cat as there was surely no room in which to swing one.
Then we opened the doors to the balcony and everything changed. For we had booked a 2 star room with a 5 star view. It was breathtaking. We examined the room again (room 20) and realized it was not anything like as bad as our first impression. Clean, functional with a good bathroom. No AC but a big stand fan that was fine for nighttime use. So we concluded we had after all got a really good deal.
We went down for drinks and dinner and recognized we'd done even better than that. Andrea is a terrific host, kind, funny, speaks great English, and via his mother, who runs the kitchen, serves fantastic food. Breakfast is simple but adequate, the ambience excellent and as the Diana is only a few steps from the boat dock, it is a great jumping off point for exploring the magnificent Lake Garda.
So while it may be a 2 star in terms of amenities, it deserves 4 in our view. Oh, and about that schlep from the car park. What started as a curse became a real bonus because there is no traffic noise. Bliss.
We're going back. But it has to be room 20!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I booked this hotel as it was the only one with a reasonable price and the location is perfect if you wanna see il 'Vittoriale' (which I highly recommend visiting).
The room is pretty old, not very clean and no air conditioned! It was pretty warm that night, and my room wasn't lake facing... so no wind... and hadn't a good sleep.
My wife opened the window and on the opposite window left opened there was a big old lady all naked sleeping.. not nice view...
Breakfast is pretty poor, just few croissant and some cakes taken from the supermarket, poor tea selection. Coffee and cappuccino are ok.

I would say, if you really wanna stay in this hotel, better to book the lake facing room and don't go in august as it is too warm!

Room Tip: Room lake facing are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giomaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veneto
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

It is a 2 stars hotel located in front of Garda Lake: I suggest you to ask a room view of the lake. Room with quite old furniture but very clean. Staff is friendly and helpful.
It was the ideal site if you don’t want to spend a lot of money and if you arrive with the boat.
It is without swimming pool but in 200 metres there is a private beach (Rimbalzello) where you can entry paying 5 euro.

  • Liked — la location
  • Disliked — ---
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2005

We have just returned from this hotel. It is ideally situated on Lake Garda and our room had a magnificent view of the lake. It was the ideal site for anyone wanting a quite location to relax although within a boat or bus ride to other resorts. This is a family run hotel and the lasagne in particular was magnificent. Good food, clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff what more can you want.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gardone Riviera hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#12 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#6 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#14 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#8 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Sofia
Hotel Villa Sofia
#10 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Property: Hotel Diana
Address: Lungolago Gabriele d'Annunzio 30, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diana 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly by the lake on the "Gabriele D'Annunzio" promenade, among orange trees, bougainvilleas, oleander and coloured flowerbeds Hotel Diana gives you a simple accommodation, relaxing and familiar. The restaurant has a breathtaking terrace just a few steps from the water and suggests homey cooking and naturally fish from the lake and the sea. Lift, TV room, terrace, bar and restaurant. Private parking place on demand. Beach with swimming pool at 200 mt. Open from march to november. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Diana Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing