We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly as Ever!”
Review of Hotel Savoy Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Heavenly as Ever!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Yet another very satisfying stay at the Savoy during August and September. Again, we had our special room 305 and 306. Tastefully furnished and plenty of space. Splendid view on the Lake, quite, great big Terrace with sun loungers, table and chairs for complete and private relaxation. Staff are EXTREMELY HELPFUL, POLITE AND EFFICIENT. We had a car accident, the culprit ran off. Arriving back at the Hotel, the staff informed the Police. It was quite a hassle not speaking enough Italian, they translated everything with great patience and commitment to the Police (and this despite running the front office). After 5 hours at the Police station the next day, we had all the papers required for the Rental company. All I can say, The Savoy is and will always be our preferred destination.

Big bathrooms, soft, cuddly towels and bathrobes. Excellent chamber maids!
Very good and varied breakfast till 10:30AM.

Room Tip: Prestige rooms 305 and 306, offers excellent views on the Lake. Both with a fairly big terrace with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDocKleen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your lovely comment. It was a pleasure for all of us to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace and I am very delighted to have had the chance to know you personally this time. As the owner of the hotel, I am very attentive that the service is always at a high level and I am very glad about your compliments for the staff of the hotel.

I hope to welcome you again next year at the Savoy Palace and I wish you all the best.

Truly yours,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    124
    31
    15
    8
See reviews for
51
199
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were part of a group, so the hotel had to deal with clients plus two visiting groups which seemed to stretch their resources at times. We had a nice comfortable room overlooking the pool, without a veranda. Hanging space was fine but there was not really enough drawer space for two people. Reception was good, efficient, friendly and always helpful. most of the staff spoke more than one language and they were always ready to tolerate someone trying to communicate in halting Italian. Once they had understood my dietary problem they made every effort to accommodate me and never once made a mistake. Food was very good and varied. Service was always good,in the restaurant, bars, rooms or anywhere else and there was always a cheerful smile to greet you. I agree that with a few tweaks this could be a 5* hotel and certainly one that we would recommend to any traveller

Room Tip: upgrade if you can and get a balcony. Keys are electronic cards which you must insert into the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. Your comments are very helpful to understand where services can still be improved. For me as the owner it is of great importance to keep service on a level of a 4 star superior hotel and I can understand from your comments that we are doing well.
I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday and I would be delighted to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace in this beautiful spot of Lake Garda.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Level Contributor
200 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to a very warm welcome, prossecco and fruit basket in our suite. We upgraded to a lake view suite which was delightful and would recommend as the balcony was very large. The pool area was great for sunbathing and was also where breakfast was served. Breakfast was very good as there was a variety of choices. The location was great for bars, restaurants and local shops. I would stay here again as the staff were very helpful and the rooms were spacious and very clean. The rooftop bar was great for a nightcap as it overlooks the lake.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view suite, worth every penny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malagamolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted about your nice and kind comment. It is a pleasure for all of us to receive those compliments and I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Savoy Palace and in Gardone Riviera.
It is very important for us to know that our guests feel welcome in a pleasant surrounding with friendly and helpful staff.

I look forward to welcoming you again next year and I wish you a good time.

With kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I thought long and hard about what to say having read a number of reviews both good and bad and stayed at this Hotel for a week.
The Hotel has a fantastic location, all expected amenities and some great staff, on site car parking, pool, wellness centre etc etc. from an amenity perspective it has all the right ingredients. However the place finds itself in a bit of a time warp. It is stuck in the 70's or 80's and has not really moved on. The decor, the tired silk flowers everywhere, the reception layout and the bar/lounge.
What it needs is a facelift, a few more staff so that people do not have to wander off to the bar to order a drink for by the pool, and the reception staff do not need to help folk to their rom with the luggage etc. dining al fresco in the grounds would revolutionise the restaurant and its popularity
We really had a nice week. The staff were helpful and friendly, and try very hard to please. This hotel with a bit of investment and some modernisation could move to a five star rather than being just on the verge of four star.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms on the 3rd floor have very large private balconies whereas those above have bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Peter_10000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and stayed at Hotel Savoy Palace with our tour group so the hotel was booked by the tour operator. What a beautiful hotel and very friendly hotel staff. Our room was very spacious and we had an awesome view of the pool and Lake Garda, known as the Gardone Riviera. There is a cool roof top bar where we spent some good times with our group. There is also a happy hour with free munches.

This hotel is also located near the waterfront promenade and close to a shopping area and many fine restaurants. There are several close towns that you can walk to and enjoy the local sights.

We had a great buffet breakfast and had a wide variety of delicious food items to choose from. This hotel is located In an beautiful area of Lake Garda. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Savoy Palace and look forward to welcoming you again in this beautiful town of lake Garda.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just returned from our eighth time over last nine years and thought it deserved a review. Have been as couple, with friends and this time with daughters their husbands and grandchildren. Fantastic location on lake in a hotel with a nice relaxed approach with staff who are friendly and helpful.
Rooms always well presented and very clean. Breakfast by the pool is a pleasure with a good selection.
Gala dinners by the pool, with drinks reception on terrace make a lovely evening.
Maybe entertainment only once or twice per week but plenty of choice for evening meal in Gardone, you can even take the train to the upper village.
No childrens activities other than pool but we found plenty to keep our grandchildren 12 and 3 occupied.
Everything about the hotel is relaxing, we will no doubt be returning.

Room Tip: Most rooms have lake view but 3rd floor have large terraces, whereas others have balconies or just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRIAN782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Brian,

thank you very much for your nice comment. It was a pleasure for all of us, as well, to see you and your family again.
It is a great satisfaction for the Savoy to have faithful clients like you, that appreciate year after year our hotel with its service and its professional staff.
We hope to welcome you again next year at the Savoy Palace and wish you all the best and a good time!

Truly yours,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I think the fact that we have chosen to stay at this hotel for the past 11 years speaks for itself . We never tire of the hotel and location . We have seen some staff come and go and some return year after year and all without exception have always been completely courteous , helpful and extremely friendly , making for a most relaxing and stress free break . We do have our adventure's around the world , which are amazing , but we always feel the need to return to the Savoy Palace for our Chill Out time every year !
We have read some of the reviews written by previous guests and found them surprising and unfounded . It would be impossible for the maid to enter the room whilst guests were in it as a light on the door would show it was occupied so they simply would not do that .
Regarding the towels on the chairs , we saw that occur once or twice,and yes it is annoying , but it was never at the crack of dawn as suggested and the hotel cannot be responsible for the behaviour of a handful of thoughtless guests. Most people come and go throughout the day and there are always sunloungers to be found when required .
As regards to the remark about nightlife, if what is on offer is not appreciated then I would suggest that perhaps Italy is not the right destination for you !
The reason we love the Savoy Palace and Gardone so much is because it attracts mainly guests who appreciate what it has to offer and usually Italy in general . Every year we meet and keep new friends who like us look forward to returning over and over . You can't ask for a greater recommendation than that as far as we are concerned !
Can't wait to return next year , and we have only been home for 20 hours !!!

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel and ask to be on the 4th or 5th floor with lake view if possible .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gardone Riviera hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,046 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Sofia
Hotel Villa Sofia
#10 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquarone
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquar...
#3 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace

Property: Hotel Savoy Palace
Address: via Zanardelli, 2 / 4, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Palace Hotel
Savoy Palace Gardone Riviera
Hotel Savoy Palace Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing