We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a little updating”
Review of Hotel Savoy Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Savoy Palace towards the end of September 2012 which admittedly is towards the end of the season and may explain why most of the hotel appeared to be moth balled. We had a standard room in the newer part of the hotel with a balcony which had an impeded view of the lake. Unfortunately, our neighbours were smokers so we were driven inside on several occasions to avoid their cigarette smoke. Shame Italian hotels don't have a no-smoking policy. Smokers also tended to stand around the pool or garden area. On the good side the hotel was immaculately clean, the bed was comfortable, the room had a mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilities and the staff were always pleasant and friendly. The hotel is also very conveniently situated for local restaurants and pizzerias and the ferry station is just five minutes walk from the door. We were half board and thought we'd regret it on the first night (a Monday) since every course seemed to be served with polenta. However the menu improved considerably for the rest of the week and although I've eaten better, it was perfectly acceptable and included three courses plus as much self-service salad, sweet and cheese as you could eat. Like other guests we were glad not to get a room at the back of the hotel which is adjacent to a very noisy road that is busy all day long. There's a small hotel lounge next to reception which feels like it's stuck in the 1970s and desperately needs a refurbishment and you can also hear the sound of the road from here unless the staff turn up the middle of the road jazz music that's played there most of the day. In contrast, the restaurant felt a bit barn like, especially at night when it could have done with some lower lighting to create more of an atmosphere. The location of the hotel is great however - a quieter resort than many on the lake so good to return to in the evenings and up the hill is the charming area known as Gardone Supra and the Il Vittoriale house and gardens which are worth exploring. If you just want a clean hotel as a base from which to explore Lake Garda, in a good location, this could fit the bill. We were glad that it didn't rain too much however because this isn't the place where you'll find a comfortable, quiet place to read a book.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a lake-facing room, situated in the middle of the hotel so you can avoid the nois...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review you left on TripAdvisor. Your comments are appreciated and assist us in improving the service and quality of our hotel.

Regarding the smoking policy: in Italy it is forbidden to smoke inside public buildings (including hotel buildings), but guests are permitted to smoke on the balcony or in the outside areas. This is always an inconvenience for non smokers and we can understand your discomfort.
It is true that we have a few rooms on the street side, but we have a very helpful Reception staff that tries to accommodate each individual guest and upgrade rooms anytime that it is possible depending on the current booking schedules. In any case, a guest can confirm a lakeside room at the time of booking.
The reception and lounge, as well as the rest of the hotel facility, had been totally revamped with the design concept reflecting the Art Nouveau style of the Savoy period, in order to conserve that particular charm of the past.
Thank you for your very nice comment on the cleanliness, the service and the kindness of the staff. We will certainly take in consideration your suggestions.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Savoy!

Sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Savoy Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 361 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We are just back (September 2012) from a week at the Savoy Palace, and our overall experience was quite satisfactory... we had a good holiday.
The location of this hotel is a 15minute walk from the town centre, either along the main (busy) road or along the lake edge which is very pleasant (watch out for mad cyclists).
Our room had a lake view, and was on the 5th floor (extra cost). It was very well appointed and the huge bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever had. The bathroom had a jacuzzi (didn't work) and a broken shower screen. The room was made up every day very nicely.
The reception staff were very helpfull and efficient, if rather unsmiling. They had maps, bus and ferry timetables which they gave out freely... if only they could be a little more amiable !
We didn't have time to use the pools, but they certainly looked very nice and clean, as did the rest of the hotal and grounds.
We had no problem with the lifts.
The dining room was perfectly pleasant. We were allocated a table to use at the beginning of our holiday and were lucky to have nice people to talk to on either side. This was important because the service was really poor and we sometimes waited 20 minutes for course dishes to be cleared away and the next course served. The waiters were indifferent (to put it mildly) and only showed any interest on the last night, when they went into Basil Fawlty grovelling mode in the hope of a tip (not given !).
We found the food to be very good overall. We certainly never went hungry, and the evening meal was 4 or 5 courses which was nicely presented and nicely cooked... such a shame about the lousy waiter service !

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would go there again. If the management ever gets round to reading this, I hope they gee up the staff to be more efficient and friendly which could lift this hotel from "Average +" to Excellent".

Room Tip: Pay extra for 4th or 5th floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your helpful comments and we were very happy to know that you would return to our hotel. It is always our pleasure to welcome back a returning guest. In fact, we pride ourselves that so many guests come back and we are always happy to see a familiar face.
We would like to mention that none of our rooms are equipped with a Jacuzzi and we certainly will look into that problem of a defective shower door.
Please keep in mind that our staff is on call 24 hours a day to assist our guests and there are prepared to do what is necessary to accommodate the guest.
Hotel Savoy is a service oriented hotel and we appreciate your comments and will certainly take them in consideration.


Kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have just returned from a short break at the savoy palace at Gardone, the only 4 star aspect of this hotel is the location, right next to the lake. We were lucky to have a lake view, those at the back of the hotel are rightover a very noisy main road. You can hear all your neighbours through floors and walls. The dining room service would win an award for the slowest service in the world, with an appalling attitude from the restaurant manager. The food has no taste, tinned fruit served for breakfast, when there is an abundance of fresh fruit available. The salad served for evening meal consisted of lettuce, carrot and tomato only, with the 4 course meal for the price of 29 euro, and no choice, if you didn't want the choice of the two main courses on offer this 4 star kitchen had no other alternative, and the manager only offered sarcastic comments, that the other diners had no complaints. If you choose to stay here, book room only, book a lake view and take good ear plugs.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a lake view, rooms at the back are over a very busy road.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jefflyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that you seem so unsatisfied.
At breakfast we offer a buffet with a wide range of breads, cereals, croissants, cakes, juices, scrambled and cooked eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, fresh fruit salad, etc. that has been carefully selected to satisfy the taste buds of our national and international guests. We know that a good breakfast is essential and appreciated by all and your point of view will help us to improve our service even more.
The philosophy of the dining room is befitting of its elegance and atmosphere of tranquility. The standard menu, which is changed daily, offers a 4 course meal with 3 choices for each course. In addition we offer an a la carte menu with an interesting variety of selections.
I am sorry if you were not happy about the service in our restaurant, because the friendliness and the efficiency of the hotel staff are a priority for us.
Next time you visit Gardone Riviera, it will be our pleasure to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace!

Yours sincerely,
Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Conveniently located hotel in a very small resort area close to a number of good restaurants. Our room (deluxe) had an excellent view of Lake Garda with a small balcony on which two people could sit. The room was well appointed with bath, shower and bidet. The bedroom was large enough to accommodate a 6ft bed and a single bed for our daughter with plenty of room left. There were tea making facilities in the room together with a stocked fridge large enough to keep our own supplies. Our beds were turned down every night sometimes with a small bonbon on our pillows which was a nice touch. The only criticism of the room was that there was not much drawer space, and the air conditioning was not particularly effective, although the latter was not a major problem. Breakfast was served by the pool which was great, and whilst there was a variety of choice, there was a limited hot breakfast option. The reception staff were very friendly and attentive as were the team that cleaned the room. The swimming pool was of a reasonable size set in a small garden and acquiring sunbeds was never a problem. Entry to the lakeside promenade was via the garden. The hotel is accessed via a public car park that only has 5 free spaces allocated to the hotel. The car park and the hotel underground parking costs 10 euros a day. All in all we had a great time and would definitely return to the Hotel Savoy Palace if visiting Gardone Riviera again.

Room Tip: Hotel is situated right by the lake so a lake view room is a must. The alternative at the back of th...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AK1Bozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the nice comments you left on TripAdvisor. I am very glad that you and your family enjoyed your holiday here at the Savoy Palace. Your compliments were very much appreciated as we consider our guests our most valued asset.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace.

Kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have just returned from short break with my wife to Garda at Savoy Palace. We had a Lake view room with Balcony on 4th floor. Rome was acceptable but given how quiet they were dissociated not to be upgraded to better room. Very clean hotel but you Can here all your neighbours through floors and walls. Disappointingly expected the WIFI to work so we could keep in touch with children and work. I was unable to log on for the entire break due to strength of service or available capacity. Would not go again as this is a priortiy for us. You also need to get used to the Italian style of service. Buffet breakfast typical for European Hotels. Simple and adequate only. There's also a new Tourist tax they hit you with at the end of your break.

Room Tip: The higher the better the view on Lakeside. Used wired Not WIFI If you need internet
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbyray1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

At breakfast we offer a buffet with a wide range of breads, cereals, croissants, cakes, juices, scrambled and cooked eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, fresh fruit salad, etc. that has been carefully selected to satisfy the taste buds of our national and international guests but we certainly will take in consideration your viewpoint in order to improve our breakfast service even more.

Regarding the wi-fi connection, which is free for all guests, it is difficult to assure complete wi-fi coverage but as the available technology improves, so does our wi-fi coverage.

The city tax is € 1.10 per person per day and it is imposed by the town of Gardone Riviera. All agencies and online booking systems have been informed about this city tax and the information is printed on your booking confirmation. Furthermore, upon arrival, each guest is required to sign an informative notice for privacy treatment and the information concerning the tourist tax.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Recently returned from 7 nights in the Savoy Palace Hotel, Lake Garda on a DBB basis. Pre-booked lake view room with travel company Citalia (the very best travel agent for Italy, first class) and the room was much better than expected. The restaurant experience was also much better than anticipated, with first class meals and very good service. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable, and it was cleaned thoroughly every day. Entertainment finished bang on 11pm every night and we enjoyed a very relaxing and peacefull sleep. Overall a very enjoyable stay.
OK, there were several little improvements that could be made but the hotel is a 4 star and not a 5 star. This hotel does not deserve some of the bad reviews that we read prior to our stay.
Thank you to all Savoy Palace staff and Management.
Roy and Jean Farmer. Huddersfield, UK

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Blueboy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Farmer,

we really appreciate your supportative comments. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your holiday at our hotel on Lake Garda and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace.

Thank you for having faith in us!

Very truly yours,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

had an amazing time at this beautiful hotel! from the very beginning to the end it was magical! would def reccommend a stay here. we stayed on the 5th floor superior lake view! It was stunning to wake up every morning to the view of the lake!Staff were very friendly and Gardone is such a lovely place to stay! we will def be coming back again! Just loved it!!!!We were only there for 5 days wish we could,ve stayed longer! would recommend the travel agency in the square for great trips and for being so helpful! Book this hotel and you wont be dissappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamamiaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are really delighted about your comments and hope to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace.

The lake is truly magical and we are happy that its magic has touched you.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Sofia
Hotel Villa Sofia
#8 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
137 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
457 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace

Address: via Zanardelli, 2 / 4, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: $144 - $1,194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Palace Hotel
Savoy Palace Gardone Riviera
Hotel Savoy Palace Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing